Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in central location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My wife and I have stayed at the Majestic many times over the last 10 years and have always been impressed with the rooms and the service. In fact, we have never stayed anywhere else in the city. The staff are always accomodating to any request, at any time of the day or night. The location is good - on the waterfront in District 1 - and the price of a room is reasonable, particularly if you go through Expedia..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by June from Brisbane Australia

Excellent and convenient

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Excellent hotel. From the minute we pulled up in front of the Majestic we knew we were in for a nice and comfortable stay. The staff fell over to make their guests happy, the choices at the buffet breakfast were catered for and our room was lovely and big. We stayed in a Colonial Superior. The ambiance of the hotel is wonderful. I am only mentioning this as a matter FYI and that is they are building a new Majestic Tower right next door ( we must have been one of the last rooms in our wing). The occasssional noise didn't bother us. Perhaps ask for a room away from the new building as it might get worse as the building progresses out of the ground. Having said that it didn't worry us, and we always got a good night sleep and a kip in the afternoon. I wouldn't hesitate to return to the Majestic again. There will be very fond memories of our five day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Style Elegance

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: The front desk staff can be a little brusk and poorly dressed (at night). Breakfast is expensive. The Internet is sometimes intermittent.
A fantastic hotel that takes you back to the colonial period. The wooden floors give the bedrooms a glorious smell, while Art Deco mirrors, spiral staircases and other period features complete the experience. The general atmosphere is sublime and it's one of the few hotel that I've taken the time to explore. Facilities are generally good with two bars that give you a view over the River Saigon below. Additionally, the hotel is located at the heart of District One which is where you want to be on holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014
1 out of 5
by George from Toronto

Horrible! Mosquitos everywhere.

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service. No understanding on guest care.
Location: Bad location
Horrible. Mosquitos everywhere. Bitten every night during 4day stay. Hotel management did nothing and don't care
3 out of 5
by Jill from Beaver, PA

Fine hotel, unless you want to sleep

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Don't use rooms in the construction zone Better customer service Reasonable food prices
Location: Very convenient to all of the attractions in District 1
First of all, if you do decide to book here, make sure that your room is not in the construction area. If I had insisted on changing rooms immediately, I would have had a much better experience. The hotel is under construction and I was placed right next to it. The best part - they work all night. After two nights of not sleeping, I finally went and asked for another room. They told me I could have one in a couple of hours (this was at 8 AM) and by 2 PM, after asking them twice more, I got another room. The next room was fine, but it was a downgrade from my reservation. If they had explained that from the start I wouldn't have been upset, but it was a slap in the face to finally get to the new room and see how much smaller it was. At this point, though, all I wanted was sleep so I accepted it. The bottom line is that the room I originally had should not even be used at this time. Other experiences from the hotel: Staff - fine, not very friendly, but if you are insistent you can get help Room service - very overpriced for average quality food. Definitely skip the chocolate cake. Breakfast - very good Pool - very tiny, not many chairs, but a nice pool if you can get a spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely helpful friendly staff, food great, all round top place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by asher from NYC

charmer

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful old hotel. Good location. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ray from Seattle

Great central location

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool for the kids, central location to the various monuments, the suite was very spacious. We traveled with two kids (10, 7)
Location: Ask the reception for "local" restaurants. Otherwise, the restaurants you go to will be full of foreigners such as yourselves! :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in HCM

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com