Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Full of character

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location. Size of room.
Cons: Bath tub too high. Air-conditioning in breakfast area.
Loved this quaint, old hotel. Fantastic architecture by the French. We stayed 5 nights in a room on the 5th floor with a balcony view over the Saigon River. Although very hot & humid, the air-con worked fantastically. The lobby & restaurants were air-conditioned as well. Our room was a good big size with a comfy king bed and plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe. Bathroom/toilet was a good size. Shower was over a huge bath tub and had a shower curtain. Only complaint I had was that the tub was very high and I had difficulty climbing in and out due to a bad back and arthritic hips. Breakfast was very good, but not the best we have had in all our travels over the years. No air-con where breakfast is served, only fans & both my husband & I found this very uncomfortable. Even sitting outside was uncomfortable. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Meals in restaurants & room service were excellent. Tours can be booked through the hotel. Wifi worked well in room. Excellent location right across the road from the Saigon River & only a short walk to a lot of the main tourist attractions, shops and restaurants. Very good value for money. I would definitely stay here again & recommend it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by baldo from sydney

Elegant sophisticated old world

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Ambiance , elegance and great architecture
Enjoy the elegance and read Graham Greens the quiet american while here a touch of old Saigon in a city changing as rapidly as possible to just another Asian city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel in a great location.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Beautiful hotel, colonial stylings maintained really well. Impressive rooftop bar and a really cute pool area. Staff were excellent and friendly, very helpful during my stay. The breakfast was of a high standard, with a combination of Western and Vietnamese dishes. The beef pho was great, as was the bread/French pastries. Also, the view from the 5th floor restaurant is overlooking the river which was stunning in the mornings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice vintage hotel overlooking the river

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Location: Located at the end of Dong Khoi high end shopping/hotel street
This hotel's terrace restaurant serves the best bbq buffet I've ever tasted. The free flowing fresh and succulent lobsters, fresh water prawns and premium beef was the yummiest I've sunk my teeth into. All for under VND900k :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juliet from Queenstown, New Zealand

Central hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel with excellent knowledgeable staff. Third time I've stayed here. Close to everything. This time my room was very noisy due to a crane working outside my window. Other than that....absolutely great! I will return!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dean from Sydney Australia

Charming Old World Hotel !

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The Ambience and stunning old world charm. A truly beautiful Hotel x
Cons: We stayed in The Governors Suite, which was a gorgeous room. The bath was fabulous. But the shower head needs upgrading! Water goes everywhere!
Location: It is Central and everything was easy to get to .
The Majestic is just the type of Hotel I like, Beautiful, charming , friendly staff. We had a lovely relaxing time here and would return. The Glorious Leadlight windows and Art Nouveau Architecture are simply stunning ! Highly recommend. !The pillows were just heaven and the best in Vietnam ! Sometimes its the little things that make your stay just that tiny bit better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hewsies from Perth Australia

Would stay again

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: We loved the architecture the old school feel about this historical hotel. Staff were fantastic.
Cons: There could be more bench/storage space in the bathroom. Very little space to store personal toiletries.
Location: Everything is within walking distance within the hotel, museums, shopping, Bitexco building for really good views.
Staff courteous and very helpful, Beautiful hotel and in a great location to check out HCM city. Rooms are large and clean. Our room looked straight onto the Saigon River. Breakfast had everything you could want and probably things like pastries, cakes and other delights I really didnt need but ate them anyway. Dinner on the top floor was probably more expensive than other places but the view during the day and at night was fantastic! We loved staying here and would do so again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirk from Toronto

Nice hotel in District 1 of Saigon

Posted May 22, 2014
Had a very good 3 nights at the hotel. It was a short distance from many sites, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stickers from Sydney Australia

Couple of days in Ho Chi Minh (Saigon)

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Character and charm
Location: Reunification Palace War Remants Musuem Tower Markets Places close between 12 noon and 1:30pm
Stayed at the Majestic Hotel which added a bit of mystery and charm adjacent to the river, which still today is a major aspect of life in Ho Chi Minh. The Hotel is within walking distance of the main attractions, nothing is too far if you are not afraid to walk, enjoy the sights and sounds of a vibrant city and prepared to dodge the motorcycles, which is all part of the fun ! If you do not intend to visit the Mekong Delta that two days is enough, probably can get by with a day and a half depending on flight times. Well worth doing a bit of pre-reading before you visit to understand the history and synchronicity of dates as when you visit the Re-unification Palace and War remnants Museum things will fall into place, and you will have a balance of perspectives (not to excuse the atrocities of war). Visit Bar 51 of the tower rather than pay for the sky deck, you get the same views and you can enjoy a drink at the same time. (Enter at the office / shopping entrance and go to first floor and see the person standing there for access). The market is good fun, plenty of stalls selling the same stuff, try to barter the price and if unsuccessful move to the next stall. Normal stuff you can buy anywhere in Asia along with some more local items. Final tip book your airport transfers through Expedia or your agent, do not take a taxi (they do not all speak English, no where to go). Do not think booking return to the Airport via your hotel will be cheaper, it won't be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The decor is very classic , which we really appreciate ..
Cons: Tell the construction company to stop working after 730 pm especially it is next door to the roof top bars/ restaurants.
Location: It's very central . Close to Saigon River. Walking distance to everywhere .
Very elegant hotel love the room , But we did not realize that they are building right next door to our suite. It's quite a damper on our stay as the construction went on all night .. We requested to be placed in the old wing upon our return from Danang ..