Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Quaint and to the point

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and the hired help were more than accomadating and would like to say thanks to the doormen for all their h
The Northern Hotel was a jewel in the middle of the city. In staying at this hotel,the second hotel that week in this city,it was nice to have all the luxuries in one hotel ,however without a pool.The hotel is well situated in Ho Chi Minh city and is close to all amenities within the city,for a boutique style experience I would suggest this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Northern Hotel, Ho Chi Min City, Vietnam

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Good service.
Location: Good for nearby restaurants
The two night stay was very good with a fresh and comfortable room. This area of the city is central to the surrounding amienities and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa, CA

Great hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great hotel, close to everything, clean, breakfast very good, real happy with the stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevefrom sydney

Nice hotel, very central

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Quiet
Cons: Our problem really but we had real difficulty communicating with staff.
Very clean room. Fairly quiet location. Staff were not much help. Communication with them was quite difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gazafrom Chiang Mai/ex-Sydney

Comfort at a reasonable price

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: I liked the proximity to everything, the comfort, service and their willing to please.
Cons: The hotel chef to find way to cook and keep warm the bacon as it is popular amongst westerners - to the standard of their other dishes
Location: Great location with many things within walking distance - but taxis are cheap (use Vinasun taxi or Mai Linh only for safety and correct metering).
Staff were very friendly, courteous, attentive and always willing to assist. The hotel is well-maintained and located downtown in District 1 close (2 short blocks) from the river and within walking distance to historical sites, shopping and many restaurants/cafes. The room was well appointed, clean, quiet from the traffic and city noises and included all the little things like bar fridge, TV, safe, free WiFi, coffee, tea, fridge, water, various toiletries and of course a good buffet breakfast with "eggs to order" (bacon unfortunately was always rubbery). .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stevefrom sydney

Very clean, close to everything.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Good place to stay. Very central. Staff not very helpful unfortunately.
2 out of 5
by kenny

Just ok

Posted May 31, 2014
Not so clean and the neighborhood is so so. And they did not tell me about my girlfriend can't stay with me til the end of the night cause we don't have the married certificate. I end up have to pay extra. But when I check in other five stars Hotel such as Sheraton and new world Saigon I had no problem at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently placed. Straightforward.

Posted May 6, 2014
Good experience. Conveniently placed. Straightforward.
3 out of 5
by aditifrom singapore

Pricey for the facilities provided

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This hotel is located at a good area. However hotel provides average facilities and too pricey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a 1 night stopover.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Stayed at the Northern Hotel for 1 night before flying home from Ho Chi Minh City. The check-in clerks didn't seem to know what they were doing and tried to charge my friend twice for her stay. The room I stayed in was ok but there was a strange, musty smell in it as if it hadn't been used for a long time. The breakfast also left a lot to be desired & mainly consisted of bread products and squash-style juice. As fo the decor, it was a bit like staying in 1982. The 'free wi-fi' is both weak and intermittent. On the positive side it is within walking distance of the Opera House, Notre Dame catheral, the Bitexco Tower and the riverfront.The Northern Hotel served its purpose as a stopover at the end of the holiday but I was glad I only had to stay there one night. I would not go back there.