Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ulverstone

Very comfortable and quiet

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Very enjoyable and would recommend this to everyone
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tasmania

Needs overhaul

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: room layout
Cons: Everything from room cleanliness to management of staff and the arrogance that they can provide inferior quality but still charge full price.
It was the second time I had stayed at Rydges Hobart in 2 weeks and both weeks the kitchen was having renovations so extremely limited options. My room was better this week with regards to cleanliness. I went to use the dinner plate the first night and had to wash it first because it still had oil residue on it. The next morning I put a do not disturb sign on my door but I got back that afternoon and it had been ignored. The dishes had been done and put away and my bed made. That night I went to use the dinner plate and it was dirty, so it's the hotel staff that are not cleaning the crockery properly. The next day I jammed the do not disturb sign in the door and this time they didn't go in, they just left me with a bag of clean towels and more soap and milk. On my last morning I decided to upgrade my continental breakfast which was included in my package to have the hot breakfast. I expected the price difference to be about $6 based on the room service price differences. When I went to get my hot breakfast the fried eggs had black on the bottom of them, the tomatoes had black on them from something else that had been cooked on the bbq. I got charged an extra $10 for my burnt offerings and the explanation was not good. If the quality had been there I wouldn't have minded but it wasn't and they were still charging top dollar. The hotel needs a complete overhaul both in facilities and management because whatever is happening now is not good enough particularly for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

Lots of space but not pleasant

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Rooms were large but dimly lighted so we had to drag furniture from one room to the other for light--lamps were attached to tables so we could not move them on their own. Floors and tiles dirty round the edges. Old fashioned without charm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again if I had the choice

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The room layout was excellent with a small lounge area and a separate bedroom with the bathroom and kitchenette between.
Cons: The room maintenance. The room needs a major spring clean with some serious cleaning products, possibly even the whole bathroom renovated.
When I checking I was told that the restaurant's kitchen was being renovated and there was a very limited selection from the BBQ for dinner but that breakfast was still as usual. I was booked in for a couple of nights and then another 3 nights the week after and the kitchen was out of action for 2 weeks. I was not happy that I wasn't told prior to my arrival because I had booked weeks ago and was looking forward to having the choice of eating in the restaurant or having room service or getting food elsewhere. It was too late to cancel the booking and book elsewhere. When I spoke to reception about it they said that it had not been a scheduled shutdown of the kitchen and they apologised for any inconvenience but I am not convinced that they didn't know about it days beforehand. Then I went to my room, which was not a cheap room, to find that the carpet had not been cleaned and there were leaves etc that had come off other people's shoes as well as little bits of paper and cotton threads etc.. I then decided to check the whole room for cleanliness and I was really not impressed. The shower screen was not clean and there appeared to be mould in a lot of the grout in the shower recess. I spoke with reception about it and they requested a 'Priority Clean' for my room. While the carpet was cleaned and the shower screen was better, there was still dirty marks on the kitchenette cupboard doors and the tiles near the sink. The shower recess still looks as bad as it had done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
To get away was nice, staff was helpful in getting beds ready although my matress was already tired
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by wombat44from Thirroul

Excellent restaurant service, good quality food,

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
enjoyed the hotel food and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Staceyfrom Melbourne

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
There were definite signs of ware and tare on this hotel. The bed gave both of us bad backs which is a shame. The couches were a bit hard and uncomfortable. Having said that the location was great and never had a problem finding a parking spot. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Feefrom Launceston

Awesome beds

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good accommodation for the price. We had a twin share room and have to say the beds were awesome. Would be good if more than 2 wine glasses were supplied (had a friend pop in for a drink) and the addition of a sofa in the living area would be a welcome addition, but just being picky - no real complaints and have booked to stay again in august.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by PK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com