Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

1979 decor including ripped up, dirty furniture...

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Hobart is beautiful.
Disgusting and a complete rip off. Charged a lot for broken down room, closed pool and disgusting gym and sauna facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Family Stay

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The pool and having a laundry
Cons: Included breakfast supplies fresh fruit from what tasted like last season. Not something one would expect in Tasmania.
Nice looking place that used to be a school built 100 years ago. We stayed in the new section. Room design is poor for a family of 5. Noise is terrible with plumbing from other rooms very invasive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location close to North Hobart

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Room and breakfast choices.
Cons: Pool - water and surrounding area - very dirty. Same for gym room.
Location: North Hobart shops and restaurants.
Room and general aspects to hotel good but pool and gym disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ulverstone

Very comfortable and quiet

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Very enjoyable and would recommend this to everyone
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tasmania

Needs overhaul

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: room layout
Cons: Everything from room cleanliness to management of staff and the arrogance that they can provide inferior quality but still charge full price.
It was the second time I had stayed at Rydges Hobart in 2 weeks and both weeks the kitchen was having renovations so extremely limited options. My room was better this week with regards to cleanliness. I went to use the dinner plate the first night and had to wash it first because it still had oil residue on it. The next morning I put a do not disturb sign on my door but I got back that afternoon and it had been ignored. The dishes had been done and put away and my bed made. That night I went to use the dinner plate and it was dirty, so it's the hotel staff that are not cleaning the crockery properly. The next day I jammed the do not disturb sign in the door and this time they didn't go in, they just left me with a bag of clean towels and more soap and milk. On my last morning I decided to upgrade my continental breakfast which was included in my package to have the hot breakfast. I expected the price difference to be about $6 based on the room service price differences. When I went to get my hot breakfast the fried eggs had black on the bottom of them, the tomatoes had black on them from something else that had been cooked on the bbq. I got charged an extra $10 for my burnt offerings and the explanation was not good. If the quality had been there I wouldn't have minded but it wasn't and they were still charging top dollar. The hotel needs a complete overhaul both in facilities and management because whatever is happening now is not good enough particularly for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

Lots of space but not pleasant

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Rooms were large but dimly lighted so we had to drag furniture from one room to the other for light--lamps were attached to tables so we could not move them on their own. Floors and tiles dirty round the edges. Old fashioned without charm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again if I had the choice

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The room layout was excellent with a small lounge area and a separate bedroom with the bathroom and kitchenette between.
Cons: The room maintenance. The room needs a major spring clean with some serious cleaning products, possibly even the whole bathroom renovated.
When I checking I was told that the restaurant's kitchen was being renovated and there was a very limited selection from the BBQ for dinner but that breakfast was still as usual. I was booked in for a couple of nights and then another 3 nights the week after and the kitchen was out of action for 2 weeks. I was not happy that I wasn't told prior to my arrival because I had booked weeks ago and was looking forward to having the choice of eating in the restaurant or having room service or getting food elsewhere. It was too late to cancel the booking and book elsewhere. When I spoke to reception about it they said that it had not been a scheduled shutdown of the kitchen and they apologised for any inconvenience but I am not convinced that they didn't know about it days beforehand. Then I went to my room, which was not a cheap room, to find that the carpet had not been cleaned and there were leaves etc that had come off other people's shoes as well as little bits of paper and cotton threads etc.. I then decided to check the whole room for cleanliness and I was really not impressed. The shower screen was not clean and there appeared to be mould in a lot of the grout in the shower recess. I spoke with reception about it and they requested a 'Priority Clean' for my room. While the carpet was cleaned and the shower screen was better, there was still dirty marks on the kitchenette cupboard doors and the tiles near the sink. The shower recess still looks as bad as it had done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
To get away was nice, staff was helpful in getting beds ready although my matress was already tired