Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Cleanliness

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: the rooms were quite large
After spending the first night there I decided to fix the bottom sheet which was not big enough to tuck in on my side and was disgusted to find the underlay very stained. i reported it to staff and was pleased that it was changed. I thought the underlays were automatically changed. this one looked as though it had been on the bed a very long time to have so many stains on it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tasmania

A PIG STY

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: location, parking
Cons: present rooms in a clean state
Location: close to North Hobart restaurants
I recently stayed here with my wife and daughter, check in was fast, rooms dated (not an issue), cleanliness was terrible, cotton ear buds, lolly wrappers and loads of dust littered the top, beside and the floor of the fold out bed. This was voiced to the front desk upon check out and was offered a non genuine sorry, other reviews also had concerns about cleanliness so I think they don't care about being clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Berry NSW

Close to everything I needed

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Locations
Cons: A bit dated, Reno required
Location: Constitution Dock, my Wellington
Very old style with very interesting history but quite comfy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointing amenities

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly and restaurant food was good.
Advertised as having children's pool, health club, spa tub and treatment rooms - none of which are true. The arcade/games room is a pool table in the bar. Private patio has room for one, maybe two people standing room only. On check-out, we were asked to pay for breakfast which was included when booking and also a meal we had in the restaurant which we paid cash for on the night (including a tip). They also attempted to take a payment from my bank account which was later cancelled.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

1979 decor including ripped up, dirty furniture...

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Hobart is beautiful.
Disgusting and a complete rip off. Charged a lot for broken down room, closed pool and disgusting gym and sauna facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Family Stay

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The pool and having a laundry
Cons: Included breakfast supplies fresh fruit from what tasted like last season. Not something one would expect in Tasmania.
Nice looking place that used to be a school built 100 years ago. We stayed in the new section. Room design is poor for a family of 5. Noise is terrible with plumbing from other rooms very invasive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location close to North Hobart

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Room and breakfast choices.
Cons: Pool - water and surrounding area - very dirty. Same for gym room.
Location: North Hobart shops and restaurants.
Room and general aspects to hotel good but pool and gym disappointing.
2 out of 5
by Sam Hitchcockfrom Australia - VIC - Regional VIC

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Run down rooms
Location: Nice position
Facilities: Shabby, Run-down, Bare minimum; Value: Uneconomical; Service: Lacking; Cleanliness: Grubby;
2 out of 5
by Greg Hitchcockfrom Australia - VIC - Regional VIC

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Mould in bathroom
Location: Nice position
Facilities: Run-down; Value: Uneconomical; Service: Below average; Cleanliness: Mould in bathroom ;
5 out of 5
by Greg Squiresfrom Australia - TAS - Regional TAS

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The beds
Cons: The breakfast selections
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Professional; Cleanliness: Pristine;