Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unethucal Business Practice

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Hotel did not mention that using a debitcard at check in meant $150 charge immediately. No option to provide amex or other cr card was suggested as alternative. Then we had a nice dinner and we were dinged another $250! Thumus was in top of the dinner bill! They said funds woyld be returned to us in 4-5 days. So Starwood is pmaying games and needs to tell cystiners ahead instead if reaching into your bank account WITHOUT PERMISSION. This is unethucal and sneaky. Why don't they have a sign or the counter stating this policy?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

vg experience. small shifts would make it better

Posted Oct 27, 2014
great hotel -soundproofing between rooms not great so even on the 8th floor you can hear the nightclub downstairs and any noisy guests. Had a couple of nights of noisy neighbour guests who effectively raved into the wee hours of the next morning. Although reception came and knocked on their door a couple of times they didn't really tsp the problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom hoboken nj

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The room was dark with very little lighting. Pillows smelled of cigarettes even though no smoking. Towels are rough and carpet was peeling. Not worth 300 a night. And wifi is only included for a fee. Felt more like a budget inn than "The W"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NNJ

Great location, very close to night life

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Checked in on time was greeted at the door by warm and friendly staff. We had a bunch of bags which the staff offered to bring them up to the room for us. My only complaint was my keycards didn't work in the elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very convenient to the subway to NY

Posted Aug 30, 2014
It was very nice. Too bad they are building a building next door which hurts the view
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Night club noise is unacceptable

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not very good - the constant base noise from the boom box from the night club in the hotel kept awake until 2am - From Thursday until Saturday night, if you are planning to sleep before 2am, that is not the hotel for you to stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Beautiful Hotel....BUT

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel. Room was very nice, bed was very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.
Cons: More details about the room and what you should expect.
Location: Washington street is great to walk if you want food bars ect...
The hotel and room itself was beautiful. My big problem was that I was under the assumption that I would have a beautiful view of the river and Manhattan as pictured when booking. What I got was FAR FROM what I paid a lot of money for. I am not exaggerating when I tell you the view from our window looked like our hotel was in the middle of low income housing projects. If you are looking for a view do NOT book the cozy room. I understand it's an expensive hotel and the service/staff was great but this was never expressed even a little bit when booking and it made the first impression very bad. Another gripe which was not mentioned: Valet is 35$ per night. Not included in that inflated room rate. No free parking.