Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scary

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Maybe i was just unlucky and got a dirty room with wet towels in the bathroom. Other than that the staff was nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by K Hauptfrom Tralee, Ireland

Home away from home

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
As someone who frequents hotels regularly, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is a homely and welcoming establishment with a manager who is most accommodating and will go out of his way to make the guests feel at home. The rooms are cosy and comfortable and the en-suite bathrooms are modern with decent shower facilities. The bar fridge is a particularly welcome addition and plenty of cupboard space is provided. The hotel is nestled among the trees of a forested area and there are lovely walks to be taken to the village of Hoeilaart or into the forest itself. The train station can be seen from the front of the hotel and is convenient for trips to the centre of Brussels. Sure, there is some noise from the trains, but all is quiet from late night towards morning, allowing for peaceful sleep. The hotel could stand some maintenance and restaurant facilities are limited, but overall a very pleasant stay. I will definitely use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by susannahfrom yokohama

I love this hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quiet (with little disturbance by train), and clean hotel. I was a little bit worried by the other comments available through hotels.com, but over all, I have quite been satisfied with this hotel. I prefer more hard (not soft) bed, though. The guy at the front is very friendly. Much better than standardized hotel such as accor, ibis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dive

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: Everything else
Location: Middle of nowhere. Nothing to do
The hotel is built next to a train line and you can hear and feel every train that goes by. There is only one restaurant in Walking distance, if you want to eat in the hotel you have to book by 4 pm! The one good thing about the hotel was the single member of staff I met who went out of his way to make the stay better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shakfrom Melbourne VIC, Australia

Sweet spot outside Brussels

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Very friendly reception. Strange smoke/stale cigarette smell throughout. Upgraded to a deluxe suite for free, it had a spa!!! Great location with a train station right next to it. If you want to stay outside Brussels, stay here!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colinfrom Melbourne VIC, Australia

An great place to stop when visiting Brussels

Posted Apr 28, 2012
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Location: Handy to Brussels with a 30 minute train ride from the nearby station
Although the hotel was beside a railway line, our sleep was not disturbed. We were very impressed by the helpfulness of the staff and their welcoming attitude. We enjoyed our breakfast very much in very pleasant surroundings. We would have no hesitation in staying at the hotel again especially as it has easy access to the city of Brussels. This is a hotel we would recommend for others to use.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Waterloo

Posted Jan 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel too close to railway. Very noisey
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denmark

Hotel Groenendaal is not fully functional

Posted Jul 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel Groenendaal was not fully functional when we stayed there(July 2011). The room was great and the person in charge was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was not really opened, however, one could get some dinner if needed and breakfast was good. The bar could not server alcoholic beverages because the hotel was still waiting for a liquor license. We decided to eat dinner in town and found a wonderful place to eat, the Café Nero. This restaurant was a converted tram/railway station with a statue of the comic book character Nero outside. When the hotel becomes fully operational, it will be a great place to stay.