Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Very clean hotel & a comfortable hassle free stay.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: It's location close to Munich city centre and the standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel along with limited free parking and good reliable Wifi.
Cons: We missed the tea/coffee making facilities in our room and wouldn't use the mini bar fridge on principle reduce or remove the charge on it's contents.
Location: Fantastic restaurant just down the road from the hotel Gasthof Zur Post & supermarkest Edeka next door with a REWE just a short walk across the road.
We chose this hotel due to it's location being just a 40 minute drive from Munich city centre. On arrival we found the owner spoke good English which was much better than our limited bad German. We declined the offer of breakfast at 7 Euros each morning due to neither of us being too keen on continental style breakfast. The room itself was clean and comfortable and was serviced every day during our stay along with clean fresh towels being supplied daily. TV and radio also in the room but the TV we did not use due to our limited understanding of German. Suprisingly there was no electric kettle or tea/coffee making facilities but there was a fridge with some assorted cold beverages inside sadly the hotel charge for these and as the same beverages can be purchased at the supermarket litterally next door for considerably less you would be a fool to use this facility at this hotel in my opinon. One word of advice regarding booking this hotel it is cutomary especially in southern Germany for the catholic churches to ring their bells for approximately 2 minutes at 6am and 6pm each day directly across the road from this hotel is a catholic church that rings 1 bell on quarter past the hour, 2 bells at half past the hour, 3 bells at quarter to the hour and 4 bells on the hour plus however many bells to indicate which hour it is. So it can be very noisy at 6am if you have the windows open like we did and whilst this initially sounds quaint I'll guarantee the novelty will soon wear off!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Jeannette Engler, Hotel Management
Dear Roy and Becky, We would like to thank you for your stay and are happy to know that you found our hotel pleasant. We really appreciate your feedback, not only your kind words about our location and facilities, but also your suggestions regarding the kettle /minibar and your advice about the church bells. As you mentioned we are located in a small village close to Munich were the catholic traditions are still kept, we regret deeply that the ringing of the bells was disturbing you but as you also mentioned it is easy to get used to and then it becomes a nice tradition. Further we would like to mention, that we are planning to improve the soundproofing on the windows facing the church, in the near future. Additionally you mentioned the prices of the minibar, as you highlighted there are grocery shopping facilities just around the corner and we really encourage our guest to buy their beverages there. The minibar is just an additional service that we offer our guest, who maybe after the opening hours would like to take a beverage. Unfortunately also due to the uncontrollable consumption we have to keep the standard of the prices. Regarding the kettle, there are some in the kitchen of the hotel that can be borrowed upon request, followed by your suggestion we will also add this information to our service guide. We would like to thank you again for your nice words and positive comment. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again if you come back to Hohenlinden. Best wishes Jeannette Engler
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sheffield

Good hotel near many attractions

Posted Oct 31, 2014
A great place if you want to see Munich and Bavarian 'normal' life but not be in the city itself. Affordable, neat, clean, easy-going. About 30-40 min drive away from Munich, in Hohenlinden. Very accessible by road. Buses frequent too. Staff are incredibly helpful, especially Jeannette, and speak English. Full of helpful tips to aid tourists and help advise how to get around, when is best to go places and even where to go. Kid friendly, decent breakfast, nice bar, free parking (although spaces a bit tight), fairly quiet (church bells go off regularly but we soon grew accustomed to them and slept through them), well-staffed and generally a solid hotel. Also there are a few supermarkets right next door / across the street, where there are amazing arrays of bottles of beer for a euro or less. I filled the fridge up with about 15 different kinds of Bavarian beers and didn't have enough time to try all of them! Two restaurants near by, a friendly very locally run Italian place and a typical rustic Bavarian restaurant as well, where you can really mix with the locals. Not much English spoken in those places, but that's part of the fun of this. It's not touristy. It's real. It's where people go out to eat. A good experience here. Recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by Jeannette Engler, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very grateful for your comment your stay in our hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback is truly appreciated, we were really joyful to read your kind words about our location and facilities, but also that you enjoyed our little village and its flair. We are giving our best every day to offer our guests the highest service to meet their expectations and are happy that you were pleased with it. If sometime you come back to Hohenlinden it will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best wishes, Jeannette Engler
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Good location to Munich Airport

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: Wi-Fi limited to one device. Would be nice if each of us could have picked up our messages
Location: Good location to Munich Airport
Great room. Good size. modern bathroom. Good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by 16vjohnfrom Salt Lake City

Cute hotel in a cute village

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a pretty good stay. The staff were real nice, helpful and spoke good English. There are several fantastic restaurants within walking distance and a good grocery store across the street. The church bells were pleasant. Ample underground parking. The rooms were a bit dated, but were clean and comfortable. No air in the rooms, we had to buy a fan. Once we figured out how to fully open the windows we were very comfortable. The only complaint is that the road was busy and noisy at all hours. Not something we expected from the small town. Overall, we had a good stay and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: Front desk was not really available when needed Leave light on inside lobby and stairs Make sure room are stocked with toilet paper
Location: restaurants, bakery, gas station, grocery store
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the country

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: The hotel was very clean, good breakfast, comfortable beds.
Cons: The bathroom is small, but typical of europe.
Location: Munich, BMW Welt, Lake Chiamese, biking,
The hotel was clean, nice. The bathroom is small (typical european), the beds comfortable. Basic no frills. The church is across the street and bells go off each hour. We got used to it and it never woke us up. The grocery store is right next door which is convenient. This was in a cute little town. A good half hour from Munich with minimal public transportation. Recommend a car to get to Munich and other attractions. 2 Great restaurants in town Post (if you walk outside and face the church and make a left its a couple of buildings down) the other is Wirst Haus which is about 5 minutes away. Very Vey good!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a treat

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: The restaurant on the same side of the road was the best meal I had in Germany...
Just a super place...the owner. Jeanette could NOT be nicer...what a gem. The area is rally quaint and the restaurant down the block is not to be missed. Tiny town that we stayed after landing in Munich before traveling south. Just be prepared for the church bells across the street at 6AM...they gong 50 times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travelerfrom USA

Nice hotel but inconvenient to downtown Munich

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Clean, great condition.
The hotel was nice and located in a cute, quiet town. There was a convenient grocery store a block away and several pizza restaurants nearby. It was very clean and in great conditions. It has two drawbacks, however. First, it takes about an hour to get to downtown Munich. Fist a 20 minute drive to a train station, then a wait for the train, then a half hour train ride. The second drawback is that it's close to a church that rings its bells on the hour all night, and that rings for about five minutes at 6AM. If you normally wake by 6AM it's not a problem, but you won't be sleeping past 6 if you normally do.