Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: clean, close to shops
Cons: update hall and stairs carpet
Location: lots to do around the town
Nice hotel but no elevator, had to do stairs and carry luggage. If had known who have requested 1st floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place conveniently located

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Found the place to be clean, the staff was friendly. Breakfast was ok, about what expected when free. I would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from libertyville il

Dirty, needs updating

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Called to cancel 2 days before reservation. But was told we couldn't cancel b/c we were under the required 48 hr mark (46.5 hrs). First impression was not good as the lobby seemed dirty. Staff was friendly, however. Carpet was dingy throughout the hotel including the rooms where we didn't want to take off our shoes. Rooms were dark and uninviting. And, this was the most expensive hotel out of the 5 we stayed at during our vacation. Needs a makeover. But, still wouldn't stay here again we felt we were taken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: no complaints
Location: close to Saugatuck and Douglas
clean, comfortable, continental breakfast included
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Aug 1, 2014
It was a nice hotel for what we needed. I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice hotel, near town, very clean, and fairly large rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo, ohio

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel was great. The price was nice and the AAA discount was even better. Indoor pool and whirlpool was a nice added bonus for our vacation at night after a long day. The free breakfast in the morning was execellent and many different foods to choose from. Me and my family really enjoyed this place, and the staff treated us like royalty. If you are visiting this area and really want a nice hotel, with a great price and the staff go above and beyond, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Cons: More TV Channels
I would use this hotel again. It was clean, neat and very workable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ramesh from west bloomfield.mi

Close to freeway

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Over all good faculty Staff are particularly helpful with directions to local attractions
2 out of 5
by Average Guy from Southeast Ohio

Disappointed for the Price

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Our review is based entirely on value. If room cost was 2/3 of what we paid, for the most part we would have been fine with it. We wanted to spend half a day in Saugatuck and were looking for an inexpensive but pleasant place to spend the night on our way to Mackinac Island. We chose this place expecting nicer facilities, HVAC that worked, a pleasant welcome and average amenities. AC worked ok, but was loud and, after a very few minutes, the fan started to rattle even louder. Fortunately, it was a cool evening and we were on the second floor, so we opened the window. Once fresh air replaced the stuffy, stale air, it was much better without the AC anyway. My wife was uncomfortable with the ambiance and did not sleep well. Breakfast was ok but limited. Paper and plastic tableware were well below average. The dining room feels more like a break room. Everything seemed to be on the cheap. Staff is not unfriendly but made no effort to make conversation other than about billing. Room seemed to be clean but not sparking clean and made up neatly. It is a shame. The building is ok. With a very small investment in some TLC, maintenance, attention to detail, average amenities and a smile or two it would be fine for the price charged. As it is, the room rate should be reduced to reflect the level of quality provided. We rarely complain, but we did not feel we received anything close to a fair value here.