Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel - service

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Clean, staff
Cons: Lighter meals on the menu
Had an enjoyable stay and found everything we would want from our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you Christine, for the great review! We enjoyed having you and hope we will have a chance to serve you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Good stay for quick weekend trip to beach

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Very friendly front desk staff, they were awesome!! Nicely appointed and updated room, very clean, comfy bed, all cable channels. Great location.
Cons: While it's not a complaint, an outdoor pool would have been nice for people that want to be outside in the summer, but indoor pool and hot tub, nice
Location: Beach/ 10 min away. Plenty of places to shop chain stores, conveniences. For unique specialty, artsy stores, Saugatuck MI, is 20 ml. south. Very cool.
I drove up on Saturday for just a one day/night stay so to go to the beach in Holland Michigan. There are few (if any) resorts right on the beach and a short drive (10 min ) didn't bother me. The Double Tree is located soon after you enter into Holland and enough conveniences close by (stores, restaurants, fast food, gas, etc. Holland Beach is beatiful, safe and easy to get to from the resort. Then, if you go 20 north or 20 south, you can got to two other popular towns (south- to Saugatuck and north to Grand Haven). This hotel had an indoor pool and hot tub and I was on the first floor, so could walk right out. Luckily, people were not making a lot of noice later in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Shay, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in Holland! The beaches on Lake Michigan are a great destination! The DoubleTree in Holland is a great home base to explore the whole area - it sounds like you did it right! I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you so much for choosing the DoubleTree!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Room l

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly and convient.
Cons: Noise level of pool, and lowering the temperature of the hot tub. It was scorching.
Location: Lots of things to see and do in and around Holland.
The room itself was very clean and nice, but overlooked the pool area, which remained noisy until after 11:00 PM. Otherwise we had a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! Our guests love our large open air recreation facility. We are very strict about closing the pool at 11pm to eliminate the noise from that area. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Brief stay on our way north

Posted May 29, 2015
Cons: Maybe time for a refurb
We stayed here for one night on our way to the north of Lake Michigan. The hotel was comfortable enough, but the decor looked a bit tired. We didn't have breakfast or use any of the other facilities, so can't really comment on anything else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! At this time we are replacing the carpet in our guests rooms, and just replaced all our mattresses! We appreciate your feedback as we make ongoing improvements to make your stay exceptional!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was OK

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The rate was right. and the stay was comfortable.
Hotel is located outside of town near a few restaurants and a 5 minute drive to down town. Hotel is in need of some repair, peeling wall paper, out dated carpet. Was accetable for the price, but not what I normally expect from a Hilton property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! Thank you for your suggestion, and we are currently in the process of replacing all of our guest room carpeting! I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel at a reasonable price

Posted May 18, 2015
The hotel was pretty good. The door on the room stuck sometimes and the room smelled like chlorine the entire time (in the future, I won't consider a pool balcony a bonus). Otherwise, it was fine. Not extrodinary, but alright.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Guests with children playing in the pool appreciate the balcony rooms, but some guests prefer to be away from the pool! I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Torture chamber

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Noise enforcement. Perhaps automated with a sound meter. Facility seems dated.
Location: Fine
Our room like many at the facility had sliding doors that access an indoor pool with a high vaulted ceiling. This arrangement permits chlorine smells and hellish shouting into the room. The circus goes on until 11 pm. It actually got worse after I complained at 10.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Families with children love our large open air recreation facility and we are very strict about closing the pool at 11pm, however I understand if you are not using this amenity the noise would be frustrating. I recommend a room away from the pool for a little more peace and quiet! I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice getaway hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The beds were not comfortable and the air temperture it felt very stuffy in the room the entire stay.
Cons: Replace the mattresses and carpet.
Location: Location was not the greatest... not many restaurants around that I felt were good enough to go to. We ended up driving into Saugatuck for dinner.
We arrived on Friday evening, entered our room but the room was not cleaned, bed sheets were missing and water bottles were around the room. The staff generously gave us a voucher for free breakfast which was really nice for them to do. They gave us another room with balcony overlooking the pool area. Unfortunately I did not sleep comfortably the mattresses were not very comfortable. Regardless the hotel was nice and staff was really sweet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed your staff, and happy you were able to experience our extensive breakfast buffet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sandy from Royal Oak

One of the better hotels in Holland

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
great hotel, better than many in the Holland area; only cons are no free breakfast and if you have a room overlooking the pool you hear noise whenever the pool area is in use - very loud as it is in a huge atrium. Otherwise, great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Sandy, thank you so much for your feedback! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Charles from Grosse Pointe

Better places to stay in that price range

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms are extremely loud. Someone also had the wrong room and their key worked on out door while we were sleeping. Luckily we had the other lock on so it wouldn't open
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Susanna, Hotel Management
Charles, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback! I am so sorry for the challenges you encountered during your stay. I will follow up with the appropriate departments in regards to your concerns! I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon.