Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.9 out of 5
23% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Missouri

It was closed and condemned.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: You are kidding!
Location: Did not stay there, obviously.
After an eight-hour drive the Economy Inn in Holland was closed with a condemned sign in the window of each unit. We had not been notified by the hotel or Expedia. We were on the phone with Expedia for an hour but they offered no help. It took us three hours to find a room. We will never book through Expedia again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Upon Arrival At Our Destination

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: There was no curb appeal and surrounding area did not make them feel safe.
Location: Since this was her first trip there, we are not able to comment on the location, but there were restaurants / shops / gas stations near by.
The exterior of the Economy Lodge was very disappointing in appearance. The were curtains hanging out of the windows and people leaning out smoking. The interior lobby was very unappealing. The desk clerk was cordial and my wife made the decision she would not feel very comfortable or safe at their motel. She explained this to the clerk and he said we had to cancel within the 24 hour notice period or be charged for the room. On the internet, everything nice / clean / taken care of. In real life, that was totally not the case. We have stayed at Economy Lodges in the past and found them priced right and clean. I am sorry to say, this was not the case at this location. We can not rate the cleanliness / condition of the room because they choose not to be taken to their room. Even though we had to rate the room, two of the people in the party refused to go to the room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Subramanian from Detroit MI

Worst hotel ever. zero rating was not possible

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Room full of cigarette smell and I was not able to breathe my whole night. Air conditioner did not work. No change was offered due to Tulips time. Do yourself a favor and stay away. They lost me as a customer forever. Not suitable for family set up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clarklake, MI

Disappointing

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and close to Meijers.
Cons: The carpet replaced, the hot water heater needs to be larger since it is supplying so many rooms. The cable tv bill should be paid.
Location: Holland is a beautiful town with many statues and little shops. By the hotel is a wonderful restaurant called the Wooden Shoe.
My husband and I were visiting Holland because our daughter is a student at Hope College. Since it was family weekend we had a hard time finding a place to stay that would also take our dog. It cost us more to stay there than it would have at a nicer hotel. They boasted on their sign that they had a lot of channels, however, they evidently didn't pay their bill because a box popped up on the screen stating that they were about to lose their service. There wasn't enough hot water to even wash my face in the morning. The carpet was worn and there was no chair in the room even though there was a desk. There was a lot of trash outside and we tracked in cigarette butts. There were burn holes in the bedspread.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Never again

Posted Aug 9, 2014
I had to call 911 at 2am due to the woman next door screaming "ahhhhhhh!!!! Help me!!!!! Help me!!!! Oh my god! Ahhhhh!!!" So. I didnt want to stay my scheduled second night. Nope. No refund. Flies in room. Tv barely worked. Staff looked like he just crawled out of bed with his shirt half unbuttoned and hair a mess. Not professional. Just a crap experience and will never never stay there again. I gladly paid for the second night i didnt use, and just stayed down the street at a much better hotel for the same price. Well. I survived the night withought getting murdered. Thats the only reason i give it the minimal one star. The place is horrid. Im trying to think of something positive to say about that crap stain. Nope. Cant think of anything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable
Cons: The continental breakfast is a joke. Just two bags of store donuts, some sugar cereal, and coffee.
Location: Nothing major is near this property except the bar and restaurant next door. Only stay here if you have a car.
Spent two nights at this property because there were no reasonably priced rooms anywhere in the South Haven area. This property was the cheapest property in the area. The room is large and has a fridge. The air conditioner also did a great job. The property is on highway 31 so getting to near by towns was easy. Would have rated the place higher if the room didn't have a slight odor and if the continental breakfast actually had something to eat. A good thing to know is that the restaurant next to the hotel has a great breakfast at a fair price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient to highway, gas & groceries.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Believe staff is trying to upgrade from former owners.
Cons: Keep upgrading.
Location: Restaurants and department stores nearby.
Rooms were newly painted and motel was being reroofed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Were awakened at 4 a.m. by drunks standing in front of our room and arguing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Scary place!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The only redeeming thing was the price.
Cons: they need to pay attention to detail and clean!
do yourself a favor and pass on this one! The room was dirty & smelly. Worst of all I didn't feel safe at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: cheap
Room stunk. Filthy. Stained sheets. Personal hairs on bathroom floor. Disgusting.
1 out of 5
by rachel from holland mi

Unsafe

Posted May 18, 2014
People.hanging around outside police there . Very noisey dirty room horrible left did not stay the night