Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
24% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient to highway, gas & groceries.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Believe staff is trying to upgrade from former owners.
Cons: Keep upgrading.
Location: Restaurants and department stores nearby.
Rooms were newly painted and motel was being reroofed. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Were awakened at 4 a.m. by drunks standing in front of our room and arguing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Scary place!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The only redeeming thing was the price.
Cons: they need to pay attention to detail and clean!
do yourself a favor and pass on this one! The room was dirty & smelly. Worst of all I didn't feel safe at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: cheap
Room stunk. Filthy. Stained sheets. Personal hairs on bathroom floor. Disgusting.
1 out of 5
by rachel from holland mi

Unsafe

Posted May 18, 2014
People.hanging around outside police there . Very noisey dirty room horrible left did not stay the night
3 out of 5
by R.R. from Lapeer, MI.

A place to rest your head, period.

Posted May 12, 2014
Planning on checking in late, sleeping and checking out early? Then this place would be good. Don't plan on hanging out in room or anywhere else. TV/cable was terrible, no place other than bed to sit. No place to eat food in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economy Inn

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The beds were really comfortable.
Location: Holland is a big town. There was a ton of things going on the weekend that we went.
It was a nice room. It wasn't very spacious, but the room was clean. It was exactly what we were looking for-a place to lay our heads in the evening.
1 out of 5
by Amy from Michigan

Would NOT stay here again!!!

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: It was close to the location of the wedding we attended.
Cons: Better upkeep of the facilities, updated appliances, updated bedding, and better/more employee staffing.
Location: The Holland area is very close to Grand Rapids. We visited the Ihop restaurant down the street which was excellent.
Expedia informed me that Economy Inn was the only hotel in the Holland area that offered an in-room Jacuzzi tub, so I reserved the room. When we arrived to check in, we were disturbed to see that the hotel's location is very unpleasant (my husband referred to it as a ghetto and did not want to leave the room after dark!). Other complaints: 1. Our NON smoking room smelled like cigarettes, 2. The bathroom door was partway off it's hinges and would not close, 3. The Jacuzzi tub was OLD and made an extremely loud noise when the jets were turned on, 4. There were children running up and down the outside pathway yelling and adults out there speaking loudly, which we could hear clearly (perhaps the walls are thin?), 5. The bedding and curtains were old and worn and the pillows were flat, lumpy and uncomfortable, 6. There were NO staff available in the office to complain to or to help resolve our issues.
2 out of 5
by Pat from Louisville

Not great

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Hotels in Holland are expensive and fill up fast. Book early!!!! When I made my reservation, it was this hotel or a drive to GR. I paid a high price for a room where the curtains were not wide enough to cover the window, leaving a three foot gap with no curtains. I had a small blanket in my bag and covered the window with that. There was a table, that could be used as a desk, but no chair. You had to do computer work either standing up or laying on the bed. There was no bedside table, so they were using the rack that is meant to hold your suitcase, as a table for the phone. The sign in front said four kinds of HBO, But the TV was so old and buzzed so loud, it was not worth watching. This place should be leveled and replaced with a new hotel.
1 out of 5
by Shayla from Windsor, ON

Run down motel

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Nothing, i wanted to sleep in the back seat of the car instead of staying here.
Cons: They could atleast clean the rooms
Location: LOcation isnt bad because its a quick drive to Saugatuck and to downtown Holland
This Motel was completely run down inside and out. This place seems to be the main motel in the area that allows people to "live" there. Although the motel was "non smoking" our room was FULL of smoke because the people living in the room next to us chained smoked inside, who were relatives of the front desk clerk. The walls were full of random stains and dirt, lights didn't work, toilet didnt flush and when we pulled back the bed spread there was a old wrapper in the sheet. DO NOT book this hotel and expect a relaxing vacation spot. There is also a sign in the lobby saying " If you feel like you need to call the police please call the front desk first and see if we can resolve the issue, anyone who has the police called on them willl be forced to leave."
1 out of 5
by Asta

Terrible hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Cons: Just to clean room.
I stayed there because everywhere else was booked. I can understand economy, I did not expect luxury room. But it was dirt carpet, never vaccum, it was dust everywhere . At least sheets were clean.