Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Price Was Right

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: Update decor & towels
Location: Quiet, excellent location
Timerline Motel in Saugatuck, MI is fine for $50/night. It was adequate and had a little refrigerator. The bed was comfortable. Bring your own towels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by road warrior from central IL

Cold, No Phones, No Internet, Communication Hard

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: i like the old school charm. hotel and microwave in room 20% discount advertised for the night i stayed. love location (saugatuck mi)
Cons: inform guests of internet and phone situation at checkin have staff who have sufficent english vocabulary to explain problems to traveler
Location: there are two beautiful local public beaches, lovely restaurants in both saugatuck and douglas. there is also quite a lot of local art to see.
I saw ad in afternoon but booked last minute using app. that part worked very well. I arrived to find non-english speaking desk clerk. checkin was quick and smooth.(partially due to lack of language from clerk including none of usual verbal explanations) Above parking space in front of my room gutters leaked badly making it difficult to keep me and my gear dry while unloading. Upon getting into bed and opening laptop i found that i could connect to router but router didn't get on net. (this service is supposed to be available re advertising) Tried to call front desk finding phone out. Walked in rain to desk to see about help with internet. using gestures and broken english i was informed that phones and net had been out for at least 7 days due to a storm. i was given the alternative of sitting at the picnic bench outside the lounge (Rainy, cold, 11pm, wearing pjs) to use the internet or relocating to the other building. I said no i didnt want to move everything in the rain and went to bed. i was awakened by loud rain and i realized that all the windows in this room had been left open by hotel staff before checkin no wonder i was cold even with the heat on! this hotel has new ownership, all of the things the previous owners (local mom n pop) had in rooms is still there ie notes with names of them posted on doors. it is misleading. (i would recommend with the above warning) also staff was Nice and Friendly just not trained in hospitality industry for the USA
1 out of 5
by LOLO from Battle Creek, MI

Run the other way- This hotel is the worst

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: new owners that speak english
Location: Douglas and Saugtuck are wonderful places to visit
This hotel is a dump- dirty and smelly. They even left the used soap in the shower! Towels were like hand towels made out of sandpaper....They are not even big enough to wrap around you. ( even if you are a stick.) It's really sad- years ago it was a very clear motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by crazylady from iowa

Adequate

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Price was acceptable
Cons: Continental (hot?) breakfast was minimal. Waffle iron was old and everything stuck to it.
Location: Easy to find
Room was shabby, dated, but clean. Beds were too hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Chicago

Old time charm

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: It has a small town feel to it. Everyone that came into the breakfast room said "good morning" to you. The rates were wonderful.
Cons: The breakfast room could use a new waffle maker. People were having trouble with the waffles sticking due to the condition of the waffle maker.
Location: It's a very short drive to the action in Saugatuck. It's on the main drag but you wouldn't know it since it is surrounded by mature trees.
The grounds are nicely kept. It's nice to wake up to the spruce trees that line the property. The owners are polite and quiet. We were helped with our internet connection in a nice and helpful way. The rooms are like the ones that you used to see in the 60's. They are old fashioned but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very reasonably priced and close to everything.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: was inexpensive and close to everything.
Location: close to Saugatuck and Douglas towns which includes all dining options and night entertainment.
My cousin and I went to Saugatuck (October) to relax, walk through the beautiful shops and have some fun. We had just that and more. We went to "Wicks" after dinner and they had a piano player who was great. There was pages of songs on every table so you can give him requests. He played all of our requests, we sat outside on the balcony and were there for hours. Great crowd of people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't ever say here again

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Nothin to like
Cons: Warn others - not to stay here
Room had the worlds tinyest ac unit - never got below 78 - Wife was miserable - ggrrrrrr. The so called air freshner reeked the room - wife unplugged it and place in a drawer. If it wasn't late when we arrive and Expedia has a no refund policy - so we were pretty much trapped. And the breakfast "room" - nasty nasty nasty - we did not even want to eat and get sick . . . NOPE - won't ever be stay here again
3 out of 5
by Julie from Brampton

Very close to downtown Saugatuck and Holland.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Owner was very, very helpful and accommodating. Beautifully kept grounds.
Cons: Older section desperately needs renovation. Internet access a problem in the old section. Would recommend to others if rooms were updated.
Location: Downtown Saugatuck has lots of shops and restaurants. Two wonderful, charming French shops with very affordable merchandise.
We were initially given a room (one queen size bed) in the older section. We experienced problems with internet access although we were told at the outset if we were in the office or breakfast room we could access wifi (note that the site does NOT specify wifi access). The owner upgraded our room to a newer room with 2 queen beds and internet access at no additional cost. The newer rooms were very nicely decorated and roomy, comfortable. The owner was extremely helpful and went out of his way to make our visit enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Joanne from Willowbrook, IL

Okay for the money...but only if you get a deal.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
As a lot of the other reviews have said, this is an okay motel for the money. I made my reservation and then happened to see that the room rate had gone down so I cancelled that reservation and made another at the lower price. This is a very, very no frills motel and the building isn't in very good shape. It could use a LOT of TLC because it doesn't look like anything has been done to it in many years. We checked into our room and as soon as we opened the door, there was an overwhelming smell of heavy, rose-scented air room spray which reminded me of a heavier version of what a funeral home usually smells like. However, the room was clean (the carpeting was a little tired) and it did have a refrigerator that worked. The linens were clean and fresh and smelled nice and the beds were very comfortable. The "continental breakfast" was very limited but they did have orange juice and a toaster with bagels and you could also make your own waffles. The grounds are very pretty...lots of trees and well maintained. They also have an outdoor pool but since it was later in the year, it was closed. Overall, it's an adequate place for an overnight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Good Stay for a Reasonable Amount of Money

Posted Sep 20, 2013
I found the stay here satisfactory. However, they had no shaving cream for me when I brought none of my own. Also, desk service was not always available. The manager spoke with a thick accent that was not easy to understand.