Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ashland, Ohio

Great location

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The location is great. There is a Ralphs Grocery, CVS drug store, and Chase Bank really close. Hollywood is minutes away, Griffith Park is next door.
Cons: The rooms need serious TLC. The walls need to be cleaned and repainted. More wall sockets. Replace windows. Repaint the bathroom.
Location: Griffith park - 15 minutes. Great to see at night, Hollywood - 5 minutes away Burbank is 20 minutes away. We show a Warner Bros TV show filming
The hotel has a great location. It 5 minutes to Hollywood, 15 minutes to Griffith Park, 20 minutes to Burbank, and next to the Freeway. So, location-wise - this is a great spot. The breakfast is also good. You walk two doors down to the "House of Tacos". The owner is really friendly and fun. The food was very good. We were full after breakfast. The reception was good too. The receptionist/owner was very friendly and kind. The parking is good. This is nice, since you are so close to everything. Its like parking at your house. The rooms were the disappointment. The walls were filthy, stained, and marked. The one lamp didn't work. Many outlets didn't look up to code. The windows were not well sealed, so the street noise was pretty loud at times. The bathroom is pretty Spartan as well. The sheets were clean. Someone smoked outside and the smell just filled our room. After two nights, I was glad to move on. The weather was too cool to use the pool; but the sign that reads "if you have active diarrhea don't use the pool" really turned me off towards even attempting to get in the water. I feel bad writing the review. The price was good. Its just that the rooms were very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Located in a poor area and ease of access.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast.
Cons: Check-in.
Location: It was a long walk to the Walk of Fame.
Hotel was difficult to access, glad I had a small vehicle for parking which was very tight and limited. Front desk check in was confusing because of booking and a seemingly inexperienced clerk. Clerk did not know how to process my check-in since I had pre-paid through Expedia and did not have my billing credit card in possession and need to switch cards. Owner later said at check-out the problem was resolved. I was called by front desk at 11 pm to ask if my vehicle was the one with Illinois plates, I said know, mine was California registered, which should have been obvious since I submitted a copy of my California D/L at check-in. I will not stay again at this hotel and will not recommend it to anyone, especially at the price point. Staff was friendly enough, but condition, location, and problems stretched my patience. Glad I only had a one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pool was open but had an oily film on it.

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: had a coffee maker and small fridge. Close to walk of fame and theatres.
Cons: More parking.
Location: Right on Hollywood Blvd. good freeway access.
Not enough parking for patrons. Bad sound proofing,could hear every footstep from the room above. |Very loud doors closing. Hot water ran out. No bathtub. Microwave could be used for a fee, only works with key.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place in Hollywood

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Had a very pleasant stay in Hollywood - pretty central, clean and simply a beautiful place.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

OK stay during quick trip to LA

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Close to things by taxi and friendly staff
Cons: This hotel would be much better if they installed some nice flooring and improve the insulation and AC systems.
Location: Not much to do within walking distance
We were in town for just a few days to be in the audience for the Ellen Show. We decided to stay at this hotel b/c it was cheap but also advertised (by fellow guests) as walking distance to the chinese theatre. It was a lonnnnnnng walk to the chinese theatre so I would not recommend staying here if all you plan to do is walk. We ended up taking a cab for the 1.5 miles down to the action. Overall the staff were very nice but the room we stayed in had very very thin walls. If you are a light sleeper, you wouldn't get any sleep here. Also the air conditioner is either on or off, there's no in between. I didn't want to sleep with the heat blasting all night so I turned it off and then I was freezing by morning. The hotel also says they have a breakfast included but it is not actually at the hotel, it's 2 doors down at a taco place. We went there the first morning but most everything was picked over and I kept having to ask him for a plate or a spoon every time I needed something. The food was decent but the rest of the stay we ate elsewhere. Overall the experience was just OK, I probably wouldn't stay here again but would stay closer to the action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Reasonable, Basic, w/ Parking

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, clean and comfortable beds, large bathroom, very helpful mgrs
Cons: Televisions were old (CRT, analog) with confusing connectivity to cable and local programming.
Location: Easily accessible to attractions and restaurants in central Hollywood by taxi, bus or walking. Parking allows easier access by rental car.
I needed basic room for reasonable rate close to daughter's apt near Sunset and Vine. This place delivered in all respects. I did not need the parking afer all, and was very satisfied overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Great location, great price, breakfast included

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast and free parking.
We enjoyed our stay. Hotel was clean and met our needs. It was great to have a full breakfast at the restaurant two doors down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only nice thing abt it it is closer hollywood

Posted Jan 11, 2015
We booked it online as you the pictures doesn't show you much. There is elevator. The rooms are not clean. It is better to tell the quality of the hotel frankly and if some one want to pay more and get a better service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nettes, einfaches Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Wir (Mutter und jugendlicher Sohn) waren für eine Nacht im Downtowner. Das Hotel ist einfach, aber bietet alles was man benötigt. Unser Zimmer war sehr sauber, hatte ein großes, bequemes Bett, Fernseher und im Bad Reisekosmetik und frische Handtücher. Es gab zum glück keinen Teppichboden, sondern sehr sauberen Laminatboden. Das Frühstück im angrenzenden TacoRestaurant war einfach aber lecker und vielfältig (frisches Obst und Gemüse sollte man nicht erwarten)Kaffe, Tee, Milch, Saft, Toast, Butter, Marmelade, Rührei, warme Fleischgerichte, Cerealien und man konnte sich frische Waffel mit Sirup in diversen Geschmackssorten zubereiten.Das Hotel im Motelstil ist ca 10 Minuten von der U-Bahn und Walk of Fame entfernt (die selbe Straße, also einfach geradeaus laufen). Wer gerne läuft so wie wir, kann zu Fuß sehr viel erkunden.Wir würden das Hotel wieder buchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

hotel situer pas trop loin du centre

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: le calme
Cons: le petit dejeuner
un hotel avec un lit confortable, propre au calme pres du golden gate et du personnel tres serviable