Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

lovely hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Helpfulness of staff, meals and very quick restaurant service, everything was clean and tidy. Situated in lovely countryside and near to main road
Cons: Matresses!!!
Location: Location was great. Although near the main road, didn't hear any traffic once inside, even with window open. Surrounded by lovely countryside
Arrived just after a wedding party so everywhere was covered with confetti which looked a bit messy but was soon cleared up ... we arrived just at the wrong time! The hotel was comfortable, staff friendly, meals delicious, in fact everything was fine except the bed was rock hard! Had to go out and buy a quilt to lie on to soften it! I'm sure the staff would have given us another one if we'd mentioned it but didn't think it worth complaining about as everything else was good. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mrs B from Preston

just what I needed

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I needed a comfy room, good food at a reasonable rate just for 1 night. This is what I received at the Springfield. Food was good in the restaurant, breakfast was good, I didn't use the spa facilities. I would stay again due to the convenience of where I need to be on business. Cant complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sand and nig from midlands

Friendly Staff

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
On arrival we were given a tour of the amenities by the friendly receptionist ,we booked our evening meal which was a delicious 3 course set menu served by attentive staff well worth the cost ,our room was clean, warm and cosy, looking out over the motorway through to the river Dee lovely elevated position, breakfast was good with enough choice for our needs staff were welcoming and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2nd stay and would stay again

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: The pool and Sauna was very welcome after a day walking round Liverpool. Also good breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: Layout of room 56 also dining area for guests when there is a function on could be a little better.
Location: We visited the 100 statues on Crosby beach, Cavern Club and Albert Dock in Liverpool. Also Shopping in Chester & walked across Pontcysyllte Aqueduct.
We had room 56 this time we stayed. It was very large but not used to best advantage I feel. Large king size bed made by pushing 2 singles together which was fine but only 1 side had bedside cabinet also TV was on the dressing table to the side so you may get a stiff neck watching it whilst laying down. 1st morning the breakfast was full buffet continental and full English as there was a football team staying and students. The 2nd morning was a served cooked breakfast if wanted together with buffet continental breakfast. There was a wedding party on the 2nd night we stayed. This did cause a bit of a mix up with our table reservation for that evening as they also had a party of students staying. They did apologise profusely and gave us a nice bottle of Pinot Noir at the house wine price (£10 off). Also even though we could hear the wedding party it did not disturb us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by vji6697 from Preston

Good character hotel, very easy to get to

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Have stopped here a few times now, as it is handy for a grop of friends to get together and catch up. I was in a room towards the side and back of the hotel which was well away from the bar area, which, this time, was quite noisy as there was a wedding on, but I didnt hear a sound. The floorboards are a bit creaky but that is to be expected for an oldish place. Breakfast was nice and the staff very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
by maz and gaz

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Poor service at breakfast. Milk 'off'' in our room, so we were unable to supplement the measly amount of coffee at breakfast. Fortunately we don't live too far away and were able to go home and have agood cup of coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bren the Pen from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK

Would Stay Again

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Lovely elevated view, would stay again, staff efficient and friendly and prices, e.g. bar are very reasonable. Great breakfast. Great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pikelock from Glos

Overall better than some comments might suggest

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was a good size, clean and comfortable - although obviously not brand new, I don't subscribe to the view that the hotel was tired, it seemed fine to me . Although fairly close to the A55, good double glazing ensured a quiet night. Digital flat screen TV worked fine with plenty of channels (not some snowy cobbled up system using old analogue TV sets and a strange but limited set of channels). Food was good and dinner reasonably priced. A lot of water pressure behind the shower/bath even though the room was upstairs which is always helpful. The hotel has a (warm) indoor swimming pool and a sauna - if I was them I would add a jacuzzi.