Ratings based on 1,085 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlantic City, NJ

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 19, 2014
I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There is a great base to explore HK, staff is very helpful and the room very clean and normal size for HK standards. When back in HK , I'll stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

Well priced, super central to loads of good stuff

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Staff are very helpful in terms of bookings and directions. The free mobile phone / hotspot meant getting around HK while researching the best eats was ludicrously simple. We've been to the Cosmo several times because it's a dependable place to rest our heads between meals and when we need help, the staff are always there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location & helpful staff
Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. Room was specifically setup to meet our needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Malaysia

Convenient location. Walking distance to tram

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Rooms are clean. Hotel staff friendly and helpful
Location: Waking distance to Causeway Bay
Very good experience. Will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Malaysia

Close to public transport free shuttle bus service

Posted Dec 13, 2014
I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. Manager Mr Raymond must be given credit in the way he smoothly handled situations. You will definitely feel at home. Unlimited free h/ phone & calls to 7 countries in addition to free coffee and wifi at Breeze tops is commendable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom thailand

มีมือถือไว้เชื่อมต่ออินเตอร์เน็ตได้ทุกที่

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: อินเตอร์เน็ตฟรี
Cons: Shuttle busจากairport express ในช่วงวันที่ไปถึงไม่มีรถไปรับทำให้เสียเวลารอนานมากกกโดยไม่รู้ว่ารถจะมารับเมื่อไหร่จึงต้องตัดสินใจใช้บริการขนส่งแบบอื่น
Location: สถานีที่ใกล้สุดของMTR causeway bay ระหว่างทางมีแหล่งตลาดสดและร้านค้ามากมายทำให้เดินเพลินๆ
แม้จะเดินทางยากซักนิดแต่ทางรร.ก็ชดเชยด้วยอินเตอร์เน็ตพกพาที่สามารแชร์เน็ตและใช้โทรได้ด้วยทำให้ไม่เสียเงินเพื่อซื้อซิมใหม่เพิ่มส่วนห้องก็สะอาดอุปกรณ์ครบครัน
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

快適なホテル

Posted Dec 13, 2014
夜遅く到着してもスタッフの対応が良く、部屋も清潔で快適に過ごせました。ただ、部屋の前に部屋番号の表示がない(エレベーターを降りた前にまとまって部屋番号の表示があるのみ)ので、ちょっと紛らわしいです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jw

nice hotel but not convinience

Posted Dec 10, 2014
check in late. but still has staff at the counter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Pleasant hotel in Wan Chai / Happy Valley area.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Room size was reasonable for Hong Kong. BBC World News channel available on the T.V. in the room.
Location: Near to Happy Valley and Causeway Bay shops.
Good location on the main island of Hong Kong. Room had all the facilities which I required.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Not again...

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Arrived after a 24h trip and got tricked into signing for a room upgrade although all I wanted was internet access. (Apparently the promised access is through some smartphone only they have in the room, useless to me) The room was ok for the (original) cost, the upgrade not so much. There wasn't even a power socket in the bath room, so I had to shave above the trash can in front of the living room's mirror. Total No-Go. The air condition had a three-position-switch but all it did was on or off. When it was on, it sounded like a freakin' jet engine. Try sleeping with that thing on.... Next time I'll be willing to pay more for a better hotel. What I saved went into taxi and MTR cost anyway. All in all disappointing..
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jens, Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations this time. Regarding the upgrade cost, the price includes room upgrade along with speedy 100Mbps WiFi access. We also appreciate your understanding that power sockets are not installed in the bathroom due to safety concerns. We apologise for the discomfort you have experienced due to our air-conditioning. We hope that you had contacted our Guest Services Manager for assistance to minimise the disturbance. Please rest assured that our technicians are reminded to carry out regular checkups and maintenance on all in-room facilities. We hope this occasional incident will not prevent you from choosing our hotel again.