Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A comfortable average hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room, reasonable included breakfast.
Cons: More power outlets in the room. Dont charge for WiFi.
We stayed for a week at the Cosmo in Wan Chai to experience another part of Hong Kong from our previous trips. The rooms are small but not much different to similar hotels in Hong Kong and certainly have enough room for two people. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is a decent size. Fresh fruit and water was provided and the room was clean. No issues with housekeeping. Although I understand the safety aspect of no outlets in the bathroom, the main room has only one usable outlet as well, so bring you powerboard or double adapter. Included breakfast is fine and you can order omelettes etc to order if you like. The location is a little out of the way for the MTR and taxis (you need to walk up the road and cross to get taxis in the morning rush. There is a bus stop outside the door and the Happy Valley tram stops about 200 metres down the road, so we used the tram a bit as we were not in a hurry to go anywhere. They should not charge for WiFi in the room. I would be happy to stay at the Cosmo again, but would probably stay in another area next time in Hong Kong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosmos hotel ok

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The location and price. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Even some of the housekeeping staff spoke English and were helpful.
Cons: Updating furniture drapes and carpet
Location: Central to buses and shopping and city life
This was my second stay at the cosmos. the first time was in 2006 and it was newly remodeled. This time April 11th-13th , 2014. It was in need of updating. We stayed three nights. The first room we stayed in was so worn and small it reminded me of a youth hostel. We felt like keeping our shoes on. On the second day we asked the receptionist if we could have a different room. We paid about $50 more a night US to be moved to a slightly larger room, which appeared to have newer wall paper and cleaner drapes. The lobby needs new furniture and updating a good scrubbing would help too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close hotel to all our conference venues

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: No more comments,,,,
Our first room was a single room with a double bed in it. We had to press hard to obtain a bigger bed as my feet were hanging off the end. No lunch or dinner option but it was of no consequence. It was an ok roof in a wet week. The lifts were slow but it didn't matter much. The hotel was clean and odour free with helpful staff
3 out of 5
by iron chicken from wirral, merseyside

I was just ok

Posted Apr 9, 2014
There is nothing inspiring about this hotel, beer tasted off in the bar. We were told on arrival that our room had been upgraded... which made me feel that we would have been even more disappointed had we have had our original room. The deposit we had to pay for one night was 300HK$.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and in a good location!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The hotel was in a great location only a 10min walk to the nearest MTR station and a free shuttle bus to the airport metro. While our room was very clean it was on the small side for 2 people and luggage we were forever falling over each other. Also paid extra for wifi in the room on the first day, which was not very reliable and cut out! I reported it to reception who didn't really know what was wrong. In the end just used the free wifi which was very good.
3 out of 5
by Beebs from Manchester

Good value middle of the road hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The highlight was a very good caesar salad with grilled chicken served in a ridiculously dark lounge bar! Says it all.
Cons: Too many to mention
The hotel was ok. Check in was easy and received an upgraded room with free wireless as part of the Expedia VIP program. The first room was drab grey the bed soft and saggy but a/c didn't work, so changed rooms. The next room was also grey but with one wall bright orange and working a/c so an improvement. sadly the bed was also soft. I was left wondering what the regular rooms are like!! Everything about the hotel was just ok, there are better hotels in more convenient locations for slightly more money and hence why I wouldn't recommend the hotel. On check out the complimentary wifi isn't complimentary! A service charge is levied which means it isn't complimentary. I refused to pay the charge. Overall the hotel offers fair value for money for those on a tight budget. The highlight was a very good caesar salad with grilled chicken served in a ridiculously dark lounge bar, which says it all really.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the condition of the reserved room was not satisfactory. We hope that you have had a nice stay after changing room. With regards to the bed, while all our mattresses are imported from the well-known brand Simmons to ensure every guest a good sleep and sufficient back support, our Guest Services Team is always happy to help if you prefer a harder bed. Location wise, both Wan Chai and Causeway Bay metro stations are actually within 8-minute walking distance, and there are plenty of local shops and eateries just across the street. Regarding the free WiFi, we appreciate your kind understanding that the HK$12 service charge is actually imposed by the service provider. Moreover, the lounge bar you mentioned is our trendy Nooch Bar. Your comment on the environment of the bar is well-taken. We will definitely review with management for further improvement in the future. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Canada

shuttle bus service is convenient.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: location, shuttle services, free coffee and fruits at Breeze. Nice and quiet patio. Power adapter & transformer are provided at request.
Cons: clean the carpet and remove the stain. The room may not be vacuumed every day. Free Wifi in each room will be ideal.
Location: close to Wan Chai (computer store, China Travel Agency and toy street) and Causeway Bay (Time Square, Sogo). Taxi to Ocean Park takes 15 min.
Walking distance to Wan Chai, Toy Street and Time Square. shuttle bus at Cosmopolitan next door adds convenience. Wifi is only available at lobby and breeze on the fifth floor. free coffee and fruits provided at breeze as well. Bus stop right in front of the hotel. Room layout is weird. our studio is a compacted two bedrooms with one full bath and one half bath. Kettle is provided. you need a detective eye to find the power socket. The stain on the carpet caught our eyes the first day we entered the room and was still there 11 nights later. The room has a nice view if you don't mind graveyard. All studios are facing that side. The windows are all frosted so you don't see it only when you open the window. Breakfast serve a mix of Chinese and western style food. Our server Ah Ming is very friendly and provides excellent service. All the staff are friendly and nice.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Dear James, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the service, location, shuttle bus, breakfast at our hotel and hope you have had a pleasant stay. However, we regret to know that the reserved room did not meet your expectation. Room size wise, we offer 7 types of rooms in different sizes and views to suite a wide range of travelling preferences. You may try our suites measure up to 900sq.ft. and with spacious bathrooms for a more relaxing stay on your next trip. It is nice to know you like the view, while some are facing the historical churchyard, most of our rooms come with stunning city views. Simply let us know your preference when you place the booking, we will have it arranged for you . Your comment on the power outlet is well received. We will definitely review with management for further improvements to be made. We are also sorry to hear that the stain persisted on the carpet throughout your stay. We hope you had contacted our 24-hour on duty manager on the spot for assistance to minimise the disturbance. Rest assured that our housekeeping has been reminded of this issue and will ensure proper cleaning procedures to be adhered to at all times. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeslin from Singapore

returning customer and still pleased:)

Posted Mar 21, 2014
booked two rooms for my family, one triple room and one standard room. the triple room was quite good with two bathrooms that came in really handy for my family members. we stayed on the 19th floor and the cleaner uncle that serviced this floor was really polite and meticulous. breakfast selection was pretty limited, but was salvaged more or less with their egg counter and pancake machine haha. check in and check out process was pretty efficient as well, overall it's still good as two years ago when i first tried out cosmo and i will be back haha!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: Could finish the eating area floor
Samll room, poor breakfast, Handilypoitioned for bus and trams
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, and hope you also have had the chance to utilise our free shuttle service. We regret to know that the room was smaller than you expected. Room size wise, we offer 7 types of rooms in different sizes to suite a wide range of travelling preferences. On your next visit, you may try our Suite measuring from 600sq.ft. up to 900sq.ft. and with a spacious bathroom for a more pleasant stay. Your comment on the breakfast is also well-taken. We will definitely review with management for further improvement in the future. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
1 out of 5
by Chris from UK

Remote hotel in need of overhaul

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing much
Cons: Everything really
Location: Out of the way - ok for racecourse if that is your thing
Everything was an extra - wifi, water. Rooms were tiny. Breakfast disappointing. The whole place was in need of tidying up. Would give it a 2 star rating
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Chris, Thank you for your review. We regret to know that the buffet breakfast and the room you stayed in did not live up to your expectation. Room size wise, we offer 7 types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. On your next visit, you may try our Suite measuring from 600sq.ft. up to 900sq.ft. with a spacious bathroom for a more pleasant stay. We will also review with management for further improvement of the food in the future. In terms of the extra charge on WiFi and water, in fact, our patio located on the 5th floor, Breeze, offers guests a self-serviced coffee machine and 100Mbps high-speed WiFi for free. In-room amenities also include complimentary drinking water and tea and coffee maker. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.