Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HK trekker from Sydney, AU

Empire hotel Wan Chai HK

Posted Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Excellent staff
Cons: Noisy bars nearby
Location: Very central and convenient
Located centrally, this hotel is close to traffic and a street of bars. It can be very noisy overnight on the side close to the bars. The staff were extremely helpful and moved us to a room on the side away from the bars. Gym opens abit late at 7:30am but facilities were fine. There is a buffet restaurant downstairs as well as a regular restaurant further down. It was easy to get to the airport as there is a free shuttle bus to HK station, where you can check in up to 24hrs ahead and airport train to airport. Good hotel to stay at if you plan to spend most of your time at HK island. The tram is the cheapest way of travelling east or west of Wan Chai at $2.30 a trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel at a good location

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Very good location, helpful staff, reasonable prices
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from Auckland, New Zealand

As expected

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Pool area - its on the roof and pleasant place to sit and swim on a nice sunny day.
Cons: A little noisy at night - a lot of bars and clubs in the area.
Rooms are clean if just a little dated. They have been modernised a little superficial paint and decorating. Staff are friendly and helpful and the cost is fairly high but relative for Hong Kong. Hard to get luxury accommodation in Hong Kong without having to pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would stay there again.

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Location and nice gym
Cons: Internet connection was hard to use
Location: Conveniently located
I was surprised how expensive hotels in Hong Kong were. This hotel was one of the lower priced options but had good reviews. I found it to be very acceptable. It was easy to get to from the airport by taking the Airport Express train (HK$100, 45 min) and then the free H1 shuttle bus (5th stop; appr 15 min). It was a short walk to the Convention Centre, which was convenient and had easy walking distances (appr 20-30 min) to major shopping districts. The hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff weren't the best at communicating in English, but this was acceptable. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Haloween in Hong Kong

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
location could not be better if you want to be in the heatbeat of the city. Clean/ comfortable/ you always get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Empire hotel 3rd time I stayed

Posted Nov 7, 2012
Good price and convenient location in the Wan Chi area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Huda

bad experience 1st and last accomadation here.

Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Bad service. Waited for 40mins with 3 phone calls just to get an iron and iron board to be send to my room. The bellman is very rude. Dont understand simple english. I was in the lobby with my daughter and im pregnant. My husband is outside of the hotel waiting for the bus while smoking. When the shuttle bus came i was right infront of the lobby door just about to exit the hotel. when my husband told the bellman to tell the driver to wait. The bellman told my husband no waiting and ask the driver to leave. He keep on mentioning no waiting no waiting no parking lot. I was right infront of the lobby door. In the end we waited for the next bus which arrived 20mins later this time i stand outside just incase i wont miss the bus again. The bellman didnt apoligize instead he laughed with his colleagues and think its very funny. The hotel is very near to wan chai station and alot of halal restaurant but i will never stay in this hotel ever again. Bad service and no much variety of breakfast. Hotel room is small.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Unreliable internet service

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The only category that fits why I was not satisfied is "Quality of hotel service". Please note that the service provided by the staff was excellent. The internet access was horrible. There is no Wi Fi in the rooms unless the room is close to the 2nd floor Executive Lounge. And there was one night where the Wi Fi in the Executive Lounge did not work. I used the hard wired LAN in the room; and that was sporadic. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it di not. I travel on business; and unreliable internet access is enough to make me look for a new hotel. I also thought the the Western breakfast was inadequate. Unlike other hotels in the area, there was no omelet bar. The only eggs that were offered were hard boiled eggs and watery scrambled eggs. There was also no bacon, which is important to me. I stayed at two other hotels during my stay in Hong Kong and Mainland China; and I visited one other hotel in Hong Kong. All three of them had much better breakfast service and much more reliable internet service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EMPIRE HOTEL WANCHAI-TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Eveyrhting else
Location: Wan Chai, always entertaining.
Typical Hong style hotel. charging a lot for less. staff is very unfriendly. Arrived at 11.30am but could not give me a room and were strict with the 12pm checkout. Room was very very small. Bathroom was even smaller. You know a hotel is crappy when the shampoo, shower gel and conditioner is 1 bottle. The AC and light controls were 50 years old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LL

Good value and all rounder

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good all rounder needed a bit of a dust in the room but everything else is good.