Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's convenient place

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Too small room but it's OK, clean and there's hot and cold water in front of your room. If you not mind too much and want a room for sleep only. It's near more facilities ; transportation, shopping center, and foods.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Batthousai from Singapore

Small and Uncomfortable Room

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very small, dirty and uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
by JHEN

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Wifi......
Walk way to the hostel block are horrible with lot of Indian; Pakistanis and Bangladesh foreign workers. Lift are too small and need to wait for long queue. No room service to clean up the room. Room are too smal for two, especially those with medium size luggages.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Linda from Sweden

Ok

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's like being in prison but it is clean, good price, good location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
2 out of 5
by Ed from Detroit, MI

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Central location to everything.
Very noisy day and night. Staff was talking among themselves very loud even at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Everything is perspective

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: The hotel would not have any control over what happens on other floors or on the ground floor.
This was my first time staying in a hostel in Hong Kong. It was very different than in mainland china and other countries. The location was great, other than that I dislike crowds and there are a lot of crowds down stairs. The place is not for me, but i would recommend it to others who do not plan on staying inside most of the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Rafael from Mexico

just for budget flexible open mind travelers

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: That my room was in a department with a family from Indonesia. I feel more safe after seeing a family.
Cons: The reception, It was very frustrated at the beginning because the way they talk to you. But now I can go back with no problems.
Location: Excellent area. The base of building is busy like a market, but once on street the subway is so close, restaurants and stores.
Dont expect a normal hotel. Ignore the busines part of the base of the building. I was lucky to be on the Block C, (the last one) so I have no problems to wait for the elevator as in the other blocks, where the line could get really bad, (and imagine this with your luggage.) After ignoring all the hostel sellers at the base of the Mansion. (follow the instructions in your confirmation, step by step, all is true and works like it said. Once I arrive finally, the one of the staff was kind of rude to me. They asked me how I arrived there in a very rude way, I was kind of afraid because of the way he spoke to me, but then I show my reservation and they had my confirmation over their desk. After that, the other person was much nicer. Then I discover that is their way to speak rude, so after that I understand that is part of the Masion style at HK. They then send me to a department when a lady opened the door. It was a room inside their department, so for me this was excellent, so I could feel safe. This was a family from Indonesia, and they were really kind with me. After that, I feel like hope. Room was ok, small but it was Hong Kong. No other problems and they always were very kind with me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edith from Montreal

the Chungking Mansion positive experience

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness, good air conditioning, helpful owner
Cons: The elevator system is not the most efficient, but that is a bit outside of hostel owner's control I believe.
Location: The first floor is fun to go through, the beach, the islands, the Peak, the lightshow ...just stroll around, it's Hong Kong!!!
I really enjoyed our stay at the New Hong Kong Hostel. Of course, the room is small and ours did not have a window. But that's Hong Kong if you don't want to pay a fortune for your stay. Otherwise the room was clean, comfortable and very conveniently located. In fact, i believe that lodging at the Chungking mansion is part of the Hong Kong experience and is staying over in an institution of it's own kind. A must! Staying at the New Hong Kong Hostel made the experience an very positive one. No grungyness, easy to find and helpful owner, comfortable and safe room, etc. We really enjoyed the Indian food on the first floor and the cultural mix we encountered there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edith

Best of the Mansions

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, towels, toilet paper, potable water, wifi, air conditioning, adapter, ventilation, storage under the bed, 24 hour hot water, location.
Cons: Nothing. For the price it was very good.
Location: Famous first floor of the Mansions with Indian food, close to the waterfront and metro as well as buses on Nathan Rd.
Clean room and bathroom with towels, toilet paper, air conditioning, fans, wifi, phone, adapters, potable water, etc. You cannot get any better in Hong Kong for the price. A great place in the famous Chungking Mansions. On the first floor you can eat affordably at Indian restaurants.