Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Excellent Value Hotel located where locals live

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Value for money, the thought that has gone into the customer offer.
Cons: The cleaners could clean skirting boards in rooms, the breakfast area needs additional staff to ensure availability of cups, glasses, food selections.
Location: Located among the locals, the walk to the train station delivers an experience of a gritty HongKong that you wouldn't see in a chain hotel.
Great value, comfortable hotel. It is located only a couple of underground stops away from the hustle and bustle of hectic and touristy Kowloon in an area where locals go about their daily lives. Walking down the street is an assault on all your senses and an experience I'm sure wouldn't be found in a mainstream chain hotel and definitely worth it if you are looking for something outside of the tourist bubble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent hotel with fabulous staff and freebies!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The location might turn off some people, as the immediate neighborhood isn't so sparkly and tourist-friendly. However, we felt totally safe there.
We adored this hotel in Hong Kong. It's within easy walking distance to two MTR stations (and one station is a very easy trip to the Airport Express, so we didn't need a taxi to or from the airport). The freebies are a lot of fun, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The breakfast was great. The room was spectacular--great views, wonderful bed, super swanky. Couldn't have been happier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

I am a big fan of Ovolo. Great property

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I love staying at Ovolo. Great experience. This is my second time, and I will stay there again the next time I come to Hong Kong!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie29 from usa

Ideal for family trips

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Confortable beds,snacks for family and access to transportation
Cons: Shower room should have locks and bigger shower and toilet area
Staff are very friendly and accommodating.special mention to Ms. Jill and the 2 Jackys.The free snacks and drinks and laundry area 24/7 are really a plus on travelling with family members,especially with kids.They have free breakfast for all too buffet style.The hotel is close to malls and old Hk scenery including the marketplace.Few minutes walk from Mtr station though we hired taxis most of the time because we are travelling with children to save their energy. Minor problems in the room were given quick fix in a very short period of wating. Keep up the goodwork.We find our stay very enjoyable and comfortable after long hours of sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Megan from Bothell

Wonderful Hotel for the Price, easy to get around!

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Room space, bed, shower, free breakfast, free happy hour, staff
Cons: TV, location was older and a tad more sketchy
Location: Nam Cheong station makes it easy to get to Disneyland, Kowloon, Central Hong Kong and more! There are also some cool markets around.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Ovolo. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel staff was extremely curteous and helpful; Buta in particular was awesome! They even gave us converters since ours didn't work so we could charge our phones. The bed was comfy and we always had hot water. Toiletries were also lovely (malin and goetz!). More TV channels would have been a nice. The Ovolo has free breakfast (continental style) and happy hour. The breakfast could have had a bit more variety but no real complaints. We enjoyed the free soda and drinks every day. The actual location of this Ovolo isn't as exciting as other parts of Hong Kong, but it's near the Nam Cheong Station which made getting around very easy. I would recommend the Ovolo to anyone looking for a relaxing hotel stay outside the core of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ovolo Experience

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: room layout with mini living room area, modern, comfortable, spacious, room lights, 2 controllable AC units, additional pull-out bed for a queen room,
Cons: old and pungent towels, bathroom floors can be improved
Location: not in a commercial location (distant to dining places), hotel is beside a mini wet market, 10 min walk to the mrt,
Our experience was very pleasant and relaxing. The space is good if you are traveling with your family. The service crew was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vincent from Singapore

An eclectic gem of a hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, free drinks, excellent staff service
Cons: Provide a shuttle transport to and from the nearest MTR station? Have it at certain intervals in a day, like 2 hours once. Greater connectivity.
Location: Local food is available nearby as well, but be prepared to walk a bit to the nearest MTR (Sham Shui Po, or Nam Cheong).
We received a minor room upgrade as the deluxe studio room that we booked was full. No one complains about an upgrade, so we were happy with it. The hotel is right smack in a residential neighbourhood, so for those who appreciate views of local residents, with local markets strewn about 200m-300m away from the hotel - you are in for a treat. Local food is available nearby as well, but be prepared to walk a bit to the nearest MTR (Sham Shui Po, or Nam Cheong) - as they aren't that near to the hotel. Breakfast was decent, but perhaps some local delicacies aside from the siew mai would be nice for hotel residents to try. The room we were in was very spacious, cable TV channels were sufficient, and we really liked the view - a bit of the sea in the horizon, and a local neighbourhood with a highway built right next to it - an eclectic mixture of old and new buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rupert from MI

Great hotel in a typical Hong Kong neigborhood

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing to improve
Location: Interesting Hong Kong neigborhood with close by market gives you a change to discover real Hong Kong as the inhabitant's see it
Its a great place with free mini bar, breakfast, happy hour and internet. I really loved it! Nothing fance - but everything is nice and clean Price value is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A terrific hotel in a fascinating part of Hong Kon

Posted Dec 31, 2013
I stayed for 8 nights and the free mini bar and the happy hour were a unique and delightful plesure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Dorset, UK

Lovely hotel, a little disappointed with location.

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Cannot fault the hotel. Not much in the area in the way of restaurants etc. However only a 10 minute walk to nearest train station. The trains are frequent, reliable and cheap.