Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Good value overall

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Its location (for the price) was good. We had great views of the skyline from the 11 and 13 floors
Cons: There are no facilities for making your own breakfast (only cups are provided). A quieter air conditioner would have suited one family member
Location: It is a 10-15 minute walk to a number of tapas bars, a short distance further to restaurants, Very handy for catching the Peak Train (about 3 blocks)
We (a family of three) spent 5 nights and generally enjoyed the experience. The power and water were off for a few hours one afternoon and only one lift worked that morning but this may have been unusual. It is possible to to walk to the hotel from the ferry terminal and from Central Station although the hill seems steeper after a night out. Cutting through the Botanical Gardens to Whyndam Street seemed the most pleasant and quickest route. Taxis are easy to get and know the Y. The air conditioning can be a little noisy - the shower is a waterfall for those who like to get properly wet. Plenty of hot water if that is what you want although it was hot and humid during our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with this hotel!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
I booked this hotel for two nights for its clean room and quiet place. But I was very disappointed. First, It was ridiculous that the room was not clean at all. On my arrival, I found hair on the toilet and the wall of the bathroom; the bath curtain was dirty; and the drainage of the vanity bowl was a little clogged. Later when I went to the bed and lied down, again I found hair on the pillow. It was terrible and I couldn't stand any more. So I immediately called to the front desk and doubted whether the room had been cleaned. Well, they said they can change a room for me. Then, although I was very tired at that time, I packed all my things to change to another room.The next day, I called to their manager for a formal complaint. Second, the staff at the front desk was stern and not warm at all. Third, although the hotel is in the central area of Hong Kong island, it's not walk distance from everything. You need to take taxi to subway station and shopping and eating. In this way, the room fee of this hotel plus the taxi fees enable you to live in a better hotel in downtown like causeway bay. Oh, the last one is, even if I had already fully paid when I booked, they still required $500 deposit when I checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good mid range hotel close to the Peak

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: It's location and price
Cons: Wifi connection terribly slow and drops out regularly
Location: The Peak, zoological gardens and close to the Star Ferry Terminal
Value for money in a convenient and central location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but forgot to mention the pool was closed.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We chose the hotel because of the good reviews and it certainly was nice. The only downside was that the pool was shut for maintenance our entire stay. This was not indicated when we booked the room though expedia. The hotel manager claimed it was not their fault and would not refund or discount our room price. A pity since everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice near Central

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Thought YWCA was clean and a good value. Rooms were not big but they were clean and in good condition. Although it is situated on big hill, it is still close walking distance to Central. Good choice if you want to be close to Central and in a quieter part of town. If you're spending more time in Kowloon and rather not take a taxi then it might be bit of a hassle to go back and forth up that hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from Vancouver

Good hotel in quiet area

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Quiet area and convenience of bus service to MTR.Senior rate for bus HK$2.00(30 cents US)
Cons: Satisfy with the price I paid.
Location: Quiet clean area,not congested,Botanic Park,HK Park,Tram are closed by.
Very convenient,#12A bus takes you directly to Admiral for MTR.Super easy to go around in HK. Price is excellent for that area.Free WiFi at lobby does not bother me.Room is decent size in HK standard.Very clean and comfy beddings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WI FI ISSUE

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: close to centre
Cons: be more open and honest about wi fi rates - it came as a big surprise
Location: near parks, zoo, bars
This hotel is clean, safe and close to Central HK and parks. The issue we had was with the rate charged for Wi Fi in your room A massive one hundred dollars. This is an hotel for people on a limited travel budget, so the charge for Wi Fi is extortionate and unusually high, the other members of our party stayed in a cheaper hotel where Wi Fi in the rooms was free of charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Guangzhou, China.

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Location.
From central MTR exit G and take a bus 12A to the hotel. Near Victoria Peak entry. Behind have a hyper market if you need to buy food or something for drink. Very important take a business card of the hotel because the room card no have any information. Nice hotel, clean, comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Charlie9 from New York

Quiet piece up the hill :)

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went for a weekend in Hong Kong. Taxi from Central was about 5-6 minutes (all the taxis knew this street) cost around 25HK$. Service is pretty lame at front desk. The room was nice, clean and simple with no Iron though :(. The bed was not comfortable. There is free wireless at the Lobby, they charge 100HK$ per day in your room. Not fancy hotel but for couples should be enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by pursnani from mumbai

affordable and decent

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
accomodation was comfortable and decent.. appropiate cor short stay if u looking at a quite stay in a residential area. its a litle far from the metro and theres only one bus avIlable to take you to the metro. However , taxis are plentiful. Overall an affordable stay.