Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom long island, new York

Gorgeous location on a cliff overlooking the ocean

Posted Jan 21, 2015
This inn was beautiful, charming, spacious and very clean and comfortable. It was the perfect location for whale watching. I saw many from my balcony and once even from my bed. The grounds also had chairs to relax and watch the water. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island

Beautiful setting on the cliffs.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Quiet, peaceful.
Location: Close to botanical gardens and waterfalls. Close to airport (30 min drive).
Just lovely. Ocean view, soothing ocean sounds. Clean room.excellent breakfast with a quiche, fruit, sausage, and cranberry muffin. Coffee perfect. A real gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Nice hotel excellent view of the ocean

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The location and view from our room was excellent, we had our own balcony, the rooms clean and comfortable and the owners very helpful and friendly
Cons: Breakfast
Location: The location is close to Hilo and the volcano national park, you can also get a helecopter flight over the active volcano which was great.
The owners are very friendly but respected our privacy which was perfect for us. The hotel was very close to the ocean, we had an ocean front view which was fantastic and I would highly recommend paying the extra to get one of these rooms. We had breakfast included in our stay, it was ok but not to our taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marina Del Rey, California

Fantastic hotel with amazing sea views

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This property is absolutely beautiful. It's the perfect place for a romantic getaway or just to relax for a few days. What you lack in big resort amenities (pools, fitness rooms, etc.), you more than make up for in charm, character, and ambience. I loved this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Excellent hospitality & view!!

Posted Nov 29, 2014
I enjoyed the stay in this hotel very much! The staff's hospitality was perfect and the view from the garden was wonderful! The furniture was so cute:) Will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salem, OR

A restful oasis

Posted Nov 20, 2014
From checking in to handing my key back... What a winderful experience. My only regret is I had less than 24 hours to enjoy my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oregon

Loved the location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Very peaceful. Great place for traveling single(oider) women. Got lots of suggestions of place to go. Wonderful old Hawaii which was best of all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by christinefrom Rhode Island

a memorable place to stay

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay. The owners are hands on and wonderful, giving it the personal touch. The views from our lanai were incredible, especially the sunrise. Breakfast was also amazing and made our stay complete. We were even given a memento of our stay as we left. We will recommend The Cliff Palms to everyone we know who travels to Hawai'i.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Very nice, comfortable place with great view of the ocean. Very quiet, private. Helpful staff. Great breakfast available for $16 extra. It is on the Hilo side of the island, so expect a tropical rainforest. A few minutes away from the water falls at the state park (Akaka). Also a few minutes from a really cool hike down to the ocean, I think it's called oneota or something--there's no sign, just a pull off--it's on a short "scenic drive" loop about a mile toward Hilo, next to the Botanical Gardens. Nice public beaches are available in Hilo, which is a ten-minute drive, several are good for swimming and snorkeling and we saw a bunch of big sea turtles at one. You are 45 minutes from the Volcano National Park, so that is an easy day trip. Also about an hour and a half in the same direction from the Black sand beach, which is something good to see and also has sea turtles.