Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenifer from Long Island New York

More like a Bed and Breakfast than a Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Stormville Flea Market. Not sure what else is in the area.
Very close to the Stormville airport where we were heading for the flea market (which you should not miss) the hotel is a huge house built in the 1800s and much of the architecture remains. It is also a convention center and catering hall where a wedding was going on when we got there. We arrived around 830PM and fortunately for us their dining room was open til 1030. A small but varied menu and the food and service were excellent. Continental breakfast was as good as dinner. We were served fresh fruit salad, coffee, tea and orange juice. There was a choice of cold cuts and cheese, croissants, homemade cranberry biscuits and muffins and cold cereals. Rooms had all the basic amenities of the big chains...hair dryer and soaps in the bathroom, flat screen TV, coffee maker. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Looking forward to going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernie from Mount Vernon, NY

Very hard to rate

Posted Jul 15, 2013
We knew of Le Chambord for many. many years but never stayed there since we lived in the area. Since we moved away and were coming back for a visit we decided to stay there. We read all the review so we had the proper expectations. The rooms could be tremendously improved, some better decorating (we had four different floral pattern in the room from the wallpaper, bedspread, curtains and chair). The dining area which has some very classical artwork the room had single very small artwork on large walls. But that said, the bed was fine, the bathroom although it had a very small mirror, had plenty of hot water for the shower. The cable TV setup had many, many channels. The AC, a bit small still cooled the room on a very hot day. The continental breakfast for free was fine for us. So the basics of what you need in a room were there. The price of the room was very reasonable. I think a better review summary would be to say this has such a tremendous potential if they could put some money into the room. That said we will be back there on our next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and a little musty

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was good - linen table cloths and napkins.
Cons: Rehab of the room.
Location: Kind of remote.
The room was a little musty and felt old. The carpet wasn't very good shape. Some of the wall paper was peeling. Some of the lights did not work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful stay

Posted May 26, 2013
We stayed two nights. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished, in the building behind the main house, with a four poster bed, wing chair, matching sofa, and desk. The grounds were immaculate. The hotel was very quiet, despite being full for a wedding and holiday weekend. We had dinner one night in the dining room. The food was excellent, and we had a nice bottle of wine from a good wine list. We recommend this hotel. Although within easy striking distance of the Taconic State Parkway, there was no traffic noise, and it was within 20 minutes of Poughkeepsie but very much in the country. The staff was great, and we would go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Pros: Service was great and having the restaurant right there was a bonus
Location: Good location - easy on, easy off!
What a great alternative to a hotel chain and so much more special! Le Chambord is a quaint venue with lots of old-era style details but very well kept. It felt like stepping back in time and being part of Gone with the Wind. I had originally booked one night but could not help staying for another to enjoy the tranquility of the surroundings. Great location and very reasonable price! I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judy from Bennington, VT, USA

Le Chambord Overnight

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: The price was comparatively very reasonable and their continental breakfast was good.
Cons: Our bedroom was directly above the diningroom, but in fact there was no noise or disturbance.
Location: Le Chambord is in a country setting, convenient to a number of sightseeing destinations.
Le Chambord is a very pleasant "manor" house located in the Duchess County countryside. There is outside seating available for dining in favorable weather; the bedrooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The concierge is cheerful and helpful, as are the waiters during your meals there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

A restaurant with rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2012
Pros: Nice to have a good restaurant close to hand.
Cons: Tired and dated, the rooms need refurbishing.
The hotel comes over as dated and a little tired. Would really benefit from a refurbishment. Currently it feels like a good restaurant (I didn't eat there) with some rooms attached - the focus is on the restaurant and not the hotel. If you are happy with 70s floral patterns and tired furnishings this hotel will be good for you. If you are looking for something a little more modern but possibly with less character there are plenty of other options locally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Carmel, NY

Carmel Couple

Posted Nov 7, 2011
We stayed 2 nights and were thoroughly delighted with our room; the staff couldn't have been more attentative and friendly. The proximity to Taconic Parkway is perfect.