Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pueblo, Colorado

Nice resort right on the beach.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The wonderful staff and the clean rooms and the location...right on the beach.
Location: In Hopkins Village with some shopping areas, a marina just 5 minutes past the village, some wonderful restaurants and in a good location.
We had a wonderful time at Hopkins Bay Resort. We booked an executive two bedroom beach house for our family of 5 and had plenty of room for everyone. The beach house was roomy complete with living, dining, kitchen and separate baths for each bedroom. The staff was very friendly and took care of any issues we had immediately. There is a wonderful restaurant right on site with a great selection of food. The only downside was that sometimes it took awhile for our food to arrive but we were never disappointed when served. Overall Hopkins Bay is a wonderful resort and we would love to go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Un-Belize-able!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms were great. Food at the Rhum Shack were great!!Very easy to get around the village!
Cons: It might be cool to offer some yoga classes on the beach...
Location: Beautiful location. Bike to the village for local Graifuna food Sitee River tour, Bocawina Zipline & Repel down the Antelop Run Waterfall...Super fun!
My husband and I began our honeymoon in Belize at Hopkins Bay Belize Resort. We loved it!! The staff was super nice and efficient. They made us feel very comfortable and helped us set up adventures as well as making reservations at a local restaurant. They also had wonderful suggestions of where to dine or go for a day trip and they even brought us an umbrella for our evening out when it was raining!!! Our room was lovely and we had a balcony view of the ocean which was amazing and added to our romantic getaway! We loved it and will definitely come back with our friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: The restaurant was often out of diet coke and we were told several times that they were out of something on their menu. It became very frustrating.
Location: The taxi service with Axel was amazing! He was one of our favorites!
This is an amazing hotel, tucked away, in a small village. It is roomy, clean and the staff is extremely helpful. The backside of the villa is all glass and opens to an airy room and a gorgeous view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PiersB from Texas

Relaxing in the sun

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place to stay on the beach. Clean rooms. Restaurant has a few local dishes which are good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Denham Springs

Away from the noise of the city

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The seclusion and quietness. There was free wifi if you wanted to be connected to the outside world in the rooms and at the Rhum Shack.
Cons: Hair dry in the rooms.
Location: Various tours to Mayan sites, scuba diving (Belize has the second largest Barrier reef in the world), hikeing,
Was not sure what to expect when I made reservations, but was so very happy we decided to stay at Hopkins Bay Resort. It is against the ocean so we could listen to the waves at night. We set on the deck in the morning and had coffee and watched the waves come in. Every day the groundskeeper were raking up seaweed that had come in at night and raked all the grounds. This was done every day. Almost hated to leave footprints on the beach as it was raked every morning. If you are looking for nightlife and and a lot of activity, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for quiet this is the place. Food was good at the on site Rhum Shack. The prices were no higher than I have where I live, so did not feel I was being taken advantage of. The resort has Kayak for use,(free) and bicycles (free). Road the bikes into town almost everyday. The locals were friendly, and had good shopping experience. The town is very small, 1500 maybe, so it was easy to get around. Everything about the resort is great. The one downside is I booked in to Belize City, thinking I could drive to the resort. I probably could have made it, but I am not sure even google mapping has all the roads needed and was told it was at least three hour drive. We flew from Belize City to Dangriga, (18 minutes) then a 45 minute ride to the resort. This was an added expense, but the resort booked everything for us. Just walked up to the Maya Island Air counter and you thought you were a steady customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by from oregon

Everything was wonderful. Very clean and all ame

Posted Jun 9, 2014
All amenities needed. Wonderful setting. Phone and WiFi not work and never fixed for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, next to the beach.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Friendliness off the staff, clean rooms, and very accommodating.
Cons: n/a
Location: We drove to Plancentia for the day, hiked the Jaguar preserve, and snorkeled south water care, dinned locally. the kayaking was also fun .
This hotel exceeded my expectations, the room were clean, the hotel staff especially Radiance, and Stephanie all met the needs that fulfilled our great vacation, full of great ideas and were always accommodating. It was always great food and great drinks poolside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randy & Gloria from Enid, OK

35th anniversary, forget about work

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: We liked the comfort of the room, the quality of careful attention of the grounds.
Location: We liked the close proximity to the beach, the town, and the amenities
We arrived on a Saturday night. We were shown around the grounds, received a cool fruit drink, and shown to our room. The next night we got lost getting to our room, but ran into the manager, who got us back on track. We had a flashlight, so were fine from then on. The food was always first rate, as was the service. We appreciated King Olivas, Adalma, and Gilroy, who were always friendly and helpful. We made use of the bikes and kayaks, exploring the town and the Bay. Being very laid-back and restful, we were able to forget about work for a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alice from Minnesota

Great visit

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located off the track in Hopkins. Nice individual units of two storeys. Can book either just the top floor or entire unit. We got top floor which is basically a master bedroom with full bathroom. Window connecting to bedroom with a veranda. There are two verandas on the top floor one in front one in back. There's also a small fridge and coffee machine with ground coffee for brew. They even give you a can of milk with a can opener. The front desk personnel was very helpful with arranging activities. The breakfast that came with the booking was great. Must try their chorizo burrito. Sooooo good. Small pool but adequate. Situated right along the beach. Hopkins is a small town compared to Dangriga or the city but definitely ideal of you don't want many people distracting your serenity. Will definitely revisit next time I'm there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Casper-Wylie families from Walla Walla WA

Unexpected luxury!

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely luxurious villas, lovely grounds and pools on a quiet beach. Staff well-trained and warm. Meals well.prepared and served with sea views.