Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Un-Belize-able!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms were great. Food at the Rhum Shack were great!!Very easy to get around the village!
Cons: It might be cool to offer some yoga classes on the beach...
Location: Beautiful location. Bike to the village for local Graifuna food Sitee River tour, Bocawina Zipline & Repel down the Antelop Run Waterfall...Super fun!
My husband and I began our honeymoon in Belize at Hopkins Bay Belize Resort. We loved it!! The staff was super nice and efficient. They made us feel very comfortable and helped us set up adventures as well as making reservations at a local restaurant. They also had wonderful suggestions of where to dine or go for a day trip and they even brought us an umbrella for our evening out when it was raining!!! Our room was lovely and we had a balcony view of the ocean which was amazing and added to our romantic getaway! We loved it and will definitely come back with our friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: The restaurant was often out of diet coke and we were told several times that they were out of something on their menu. It became very frustrating.
Location: The taxi service with Axel was amazing! He was one of our favorites!
This is an amazing hotel, tucked away, in a small village. It is roomy, clean and the staff is extremely helpful. The backside of the villa is all glass and opens to an airy room and a gorgeous view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Denham Springs

Away from the noise of the city

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The seclusion and quietness. There was free wifi if you wanted to be connected to the outside world in the rooms and at the Rhum Shack.
Cons: Hair dry in the rooms.
Location: Various tours to Mayan sites, scuba diving (Belize has the second largest Barrier reef in the world), hikeing,
Was not sure what to expect when I made reservations, but was so very happy we decided to stay at Hopkins Bay Resort. It is against the ocean so we could listen to the waves at night. We set on the deck in the morning and had coffee and watched the waves come in. Every day the groundskeeper were raking up seaweed that had come in at night and raked all the grounds. This was done every day. Almost hated to leave footprints on the beach as it was raked every morning. If you are looking for nightlife and and a lot of activity, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for quiet this is the place. Food was good at the on site Rhum Shack. The prices were no higher than I have where I live, so did not feel I was being taken advantage of. The resort has Kayak for use,(free) and bicycles (free). Road the bikes into town almost everyday. The locals were friendly, and had good shopping experience. The town is very small, 1500 maybe, so it was easy to get around. Everything about the resort is great. The one downside is I booked in to Belize City, thinking I could drive to the resort. I probably could have made it, but I am not sure even google mapping has all the roads needed and was told it was at least three hour drive. We flew from Belize City to Dangriga, (18 minutes) then a 45 minute ride to the resort. This was an added expense, but the resort booked everything for us. Just walked up to the Maya Island Air counter and you thought you were a steady customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by from oregon

Everything was wonderful. Very clean and all ame

Posted Jun 9, 2014
All amenities needed. Wonderful setting. Phone and WiFi not work and never fixed for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, next to the beach.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Friendliness off the staff, clean rooms, and very accommodating.
Cons: n/a
Location: We drove to Plancentia for the day, hiked the Jaguar preserve, and snorkeled south water care, dinned locally. the kayaking was also fun .
This hotel exceeded my expectations, the room were clean, the hotel staff especially Radiance, and Stephanie all met the needs that fulfilled our great vacation, full of great ideas and were always accommodating. It was always great food and great drinks poolside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randy & Gloria from Enid, OK

35th anniversary, forget about work

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: We liked the comfort of the room, the quality of careful attention of the grounds.
Location: We liked the close proximity to the beach, the town, and the amenities
We arrived on a Saturday night. We were shown around the grounds, received a cool fruit drink, and shown to our room. The next night we got lost getting to our room, but ran into the manager, who got us back on track. We had a flashlight, so were fine from then on. The food was always first rate, as was the service. We appreciated King Olivas, Adalma, and Gilroy, who were always friendly and helpful. We made use of the bikes and kayaks, exploring the town and the Bay. Being very laid-back and restful, we were able to forget about work for a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxery in a small town

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The Welcome drink was a nice touch
Cons: Price of food
This hotel is a luxerious tropical paradise at the end of Hopkins. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are super comfy and the balcony is wonderful. The food at the Rum Bar is a bit overpriced, but good and convenient. Overall, a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable resort in Hopkins

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The friendly staff and comforts of Hopkins Bay Resort made our vacation one to remember! We would love to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from CT

(shhh...don't tell anyone!)

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: All the above plus so much more (including great shower water pressure & hot water!)
Cons: The Drum Bar never actually seemed to have all the ingredients for anything that we ordered...always sent to the Rhum Shack for things.
Location: Great & wonderful Garifuna village & people, snorkeling/diving, fishing, hiking, etc...great restaurants and many markets for shopping.
This wonderful place is rich in Belizean cultures, wonderful staff, food, rooms and a huge volume of peace & serenity!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Michigan

Great place to stay, great deal.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: View from top floor ocean view was great. Excellent cooks and bartenders, not too busy, nicely laid out, friendly, quiet, safe (but poor) town.
Cons: Place was clean, but maids would skip cleaning every third day or so unless you specifically asked them for daily cleaning. A hot tub would be nice.
Location: Diving (Hamanasi), Mayan Ruins, Zip lining, Cave tubing, rent a on-off road motorcycle for about $60 a day in town and drive to the Jaguar preserve.
Loved our stay with Hopkins Bay. The staff was nice, attentive, and the villa's/separate houses you are in were pretty cool. The units are separate duplexes with an upper and lower (so you rent either the upper or lower). The views from any of the ocean views were great from the upstairs, and our deck with Adirondack chairs was amazing. At the same time the lower units seemed to be bigger and potentially have more amenities and a walk out deck. Food was surprisingly good, as were the fruity concoctions at the bar (thanks Mitchel). Clean and manicured landscape (no jungle atmosphere as some other places may have). Two infinity pools were nice, beach was not enormous but definitely walkable for miles. It also had single and double thick mattress chase-style lounge beds and hammocks on the beach. The village of Hopkins bay is away from the normal tourist towns, so more remote. Was safe for us, quaint and nice people, but an economically poor local village. If a touristy village to shop in is what you are looking for this town isn't for you. At the same time it was exactly what we were looking for. Great location to diving (Hamanasi did a fantastic job), the Jaguar Reserve for hiking or tubing...but definitely a quieter remote village.