Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron,OH

Paradise in Belize

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The Hotel is beautiful right on the beach very quite even when fully booked.
Cons: Improvements to the road system in Belize.
The resort, amenities and staff were wonderful! The excursions were top notch and the best snorkeling trip we have been on in the Caribbean! The locals were very friendly and helpful we found the best dinner spot right on the beach at Chef Rob's a great 4 course meal right on the beach, exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Picture Perfect! Like a PostCard.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: I liked that they had 2 pools. one for adults and one for kids.
Cons: They could use new mattresses!! It seems as if whenever I go on vacation the mattresses are not good so I don't sleep as well.
Location: You are actually pretty secluded, so you need to take the planned trips. All were well worth the money. Much more than I expected.
We had an awesome trip. We went the 1st week of August. Lounging around on the beach was nice. Snorkeling was a lot of fun but my favorite was the Zip Line in the jungle. AMAZING!! Everyone was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice, Quiet Place

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were incredible, especially the bartenders.
Cons: Food at the hotel isn't great.
Location: Remote location, but Hopkins is a great little town. The locals are awesome. Snorkeling is great.
Small place, nice beaches, great staff. Love the bartenders. Food at the resort isn't great, it's overpriced and bland. But it's not far down the beach to Chef Robs, or into town to grab something yummy. Nice weekend getaway for us. Snorkeling was fantastic, and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Beautiful accommodations close to the ocean.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed how large my room was. It was very comfortable. The AC and fan were great and kept me cool. There was plenty of closet and drawer space.
Cons: I could have used a reading lamp. However if I had asked for one they might have been able to get it for me. They were very accommodating.
Location: It was located less than a mile from Hopkins, a very small village. We flew into Belize City and opted to drive the 3 hours to the resort.
Vacationing at the Jaguar Reef Resort and Spa was one of the most wonderful trips I have taken. Everything we could possibly need or want was provided cheerfully. We were greeted with classical island drinks on our arrival which were greatly appreciated because it was very hot. While we had our drinks we were guided around the property to orient us to the entire property. We located the pool with the swim up bar. The bartender, Michelle was so friendly. It was my birthday and she treated us and 4 other people to "shots" for the celebration. The people who stayed at Jaguar Reef were so friendly. It was like I had arrived at a reunion of good friends. The rooms were very large and had a comfortable bed, air conditioning and fans. There are also windows that can be opened to take advantage of the cool ocean breeze. Great shower!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Super Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Its staff, its location on the beach and its amenities.
Location: Bicyles are free and the village of Hopkins is only a few miles away if you want to explore. By boat there is easy access to the barrier reef.
The resort is right on the beach and has all of the amenities you could want including a full restaurant, 2 bars, 2 pools, tour desk and a super friendly staff, from managers to housekeepers to landscapers, wait staff and bartenders, who make the best pina coladas of any resort I have been to in the tropics. Side trips and adventures are easy to sign up for and include snorkeling, horseback riding, birding, Mayan ruins tours, to name a few. This property is an excellent value, but requires transport from Belize City airport, best accomplished by small plane to Dangriga, 50 miles to the south. The hotel reservation desk can arrange all that for you. The food is excellent, 3 meals a day, but there are other restaurants within walking distance if you want to venture out in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Our stay at Jaguar Reef in July 2014 was beyond our expectations. The location is beautiful, the staff is great and the nearby town, Hopkins, is so inviting. This place is like a hidden secret. Would definitely stay again. Miss it already!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice location for a stay by the ocean.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Comfort of the two bedroom suite. Pools, hammocks, chaise lounges by pools and beach, kayaks. Overall feel of the resort was very nice.
Cons: Food prices were too high.
Location: Activities nearby-snorkeling, river kayaking, nature preserves.
We enjoyed 4 nights at Jaguar Reef. We had already spent 6 adventurous days in western Belize and were looking forward to slowing down and relaxing by the ocean. We enjoyed the pools, hammocks on the beach and some activities in Hopkins. We had a very comfortable two bedroom family suite which enabled us to spread out and have leisurely breakfasts in our own room. We took advantage of some of the tours offered by Jaguar Reef, but also went exploring on our own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Florida

Friendly and nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The central location of the hotel in the country offers you good access to some attractions especially in the East and South like Maya Ruins and towns
Cons: There is nothing important what needs improvement.
Location: Things to do include diving, snorkeling, hiking, river cruises and exploring Maya Ruins and cave tubing.
We stayed eight days at the Jaguar Reef Lodge. We choose the hotel for it's central location and reasonable prices. Reading the reviews I was convinced to make a good choice and we were not disappointed. The hotel, right on the beach, was clean, the hotel staff very friendly, the suite was spacious. There was no problem with sleep comfort besides the birds early in the morning. The AC worked fine. The restaurant was very good, also. If you did not have a rental car they would organize a great variety of tours for you. Other restaurants are in walking distance.Very much to recommend Chef Rob's Gourmet Cafe. The hotel offers live music and Garifuna dance shows during the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Awesome hotel next to the beach!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, Water, Food, Excursion options.
Cons: The bed is not as comfortable as I would of liked.
Location: The resort is in Hopkins and besides the giant list of excursions available I suggest visiting Seashells by Alex in town! Very beautiful sculptures!
Loved the time I spent at JRL, the staff were super friendly, assisted us with all of the excursions we wanted to do! Was very knowledgeable about Belize. The resort is beautiful but the minute you step out you see the real meaning of Belize and the every day life and challenges of an individual. Staying here will not only allow you to enjoy the amenities of the resort but also immerse yourself in the Belizian culture. Loved every minute of it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Don & Harriet from NJ

Beach front setting was awesome and relaxing.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Beach frontage, easy access to food and drinks
Cons: The couch was not comfortable for any length of time sitting.
Location: Very remote. Roads are not finished so it's hard to get around. The road signs (if you find any) don't give any ideas about miles to any locations.
We enjoyed our time at Jaguar Reef. The drive from Belize City was awful, but once we settled in we had a great time.Beach