Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from El Dorado, AR

Just the right spot

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: water pressure in the shower, the comfortable king-sized bed, service. A really nice maintenance man brought in a fan b/c I was hot....but that's me.
Cons: Rude Maids! We were woke up with 3 loud knocks even with our do not disturb sign posted. Central air system needs to be updated
Location: It was in the middle of EVERYTHING! The Ghost Tour, 5-Star Theatre, Wax Museum, the Ohio Club, Bathhouse Row, shops and restaurants galore
Our stay was great. We were right in the middle of downtown with a great view of the mountains from our room on the 7th floor, and we didn't have to worry about parking. We were within walking distance to many shops, the little aquarium, the 5-Star Theatre, a few restaurants, and the Ghost Tour. We had a great stay....although, I must say we weren't in the room too much :) ...our room was in the best local to just pop in, change, and head out to our next destination. The hotel includes a restaurant, spa and boutique; however, when I called ahead to book a couple's spa, they were not open and wouldn't be back until the next day (even though this was during their stated hours) so I booked with Living Wellness (fantastic), I'm from New Orleans....so, the idea of eating "Cajun" food in the middle of AR kinda gave me pause so we dined elsewhere. Who knows though, I might have missed out on something good just because I didn't want to take the chance. And as far as the boutique is concerned....if you just need to get something quick on your way out. It's pretty overpriced and generic compared to the rest of the shops on Central Avenue. Best part of our room was how comfortable our king size bed was.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Jesse from Topeka, Ks

Well, at least the shower got good and hot.

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the time we walked into that room until the last time we walked out, it was a sneeze fest. The dust (??) was so thick that it caused sneezing fits for my wife and myself. A quick glance at the air vents revealed layers of concentrated dust. The television had about 7 channels available that were not in the extended package ( I decided not to call about to get some kind of idea what that meant - just did not need to know that badly.) NBC was not one of those 7 which struck me as odd since CBS and ABC were. Nitpicky I know. I was pretty worried about the hill behind the hotel that I parked on being safe, but saw no one but hotel patrons back there every time I went to the car. I did move my car to the front of the hotel after 5pm for my own piece of mind though. It is what is, an old hotel. Dusty, dank at times, too few power outlets, commercial toilets like you find in Walmart, and a couple shifty waitresses. We did not figure out that they over charged us by about 15 bucks until the next day and by then...what can you do? The towels were nice and fluffy, and the shower was HOT and stayed that way. Close to Bathhouse Row and some great shops and restaurants. If you are on a tight budget, and just need somewhere to sleep (which was all we needed) and do not mind dust (which I do,) ok, but otherwise, I would look somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jennie from AR

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here a couple of times and it was great. However this stay was not so good. The night shift checkin guy was rude. The door handle on the room was barely handing on. Everyone else has been great there just this one guy we encountered while trying to check in. Very rude.
2 out of 5
by Rose from Little Rock Ar

Shabby older hotel in historic district

Posted May 19, 2014
Booked 2 king rooms..got a king and queen room..Didnt get the street balcony requested rooms..got to overlook he back side and parking lot..carperts heavily stained..humming noises in both rooms,.old tv's and no remote. .had to wsit on hot water..overbooked our spa packages ..that's the reason we choose the hotel for our anniversary and have a spa day..rude waitress in restaurant. .the front did try but she went off duty before rooms were taken care of..manager wouldnt come down to speak to us or another guest with the same cimplaint about spa not honoring their 2 week reservation for spa psckage booked well in advanve They had our phone number and could have called us so we could make other arrangements ..we did have a comfortable bed..they gave us a gift certificate fir a comp spa package. .dont know if id travel back for it...mixed experience. .liked being in walking distance of everything..maybe you might have a better experience....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ryan from Colorado

Decent and cheap

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall this hotel was cheap and that's the only reason it wasn't completely horrible. The day we arrived the hotel was very hot and our room was extremely hot. This was due to the AC not working properly. The TV barely worked. We got like 10 channels and 6 of those were religious channels ( this was only bad because the NFL Draft was on and we didn't get ESPN ). When we asked about the cable we were told that it was all getting upgraded. We had a "mountain view" room. We were on the 3rd floor and our view was of the cut out part of the mountain. We didn't really care about the view but this did cause an issue because the mountain reflected the sound into our room. There was also construction going on directly under our room which was noisy. The room was clean and big. The hotel had some cobwebs on the light fixtures, spots on the curtains and some peeling wallpaper. Overall the hotel was nothing great. It was cheap and had free parking. You are about a block away from bath house row so the location is great. All the employees were very nice and helpful. The pool was closed. The gym was a bowflex, exercise bike and row machine. I would pay more and stay at the Arlington next time but overall it wasn't too bad staying here.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aaron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Sharon from AR

Vacation to Hot Springs

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything, especially the cleanliness!
Location: The gangster museum, duck ride and Garvan Woodland Gardens are all very nice as are the baths.
The Spring hotel is horrible at best. Our original room was filthy and the 2nd one wasn't much better. The staff did adjust our bill down just a bit but it certainly didn't compensate for the horrible conditions. We seriously considered moving to another hotel and would have if we had stayed more than 2 nights. I DO NOT recommend this hotel at all. It could be gorgeous but is in such a state of disrepair that they should be embarrassed to even advertise it. The beautiful lobby that you see on line is all that is even remotely nice about this place and the furniture there was falling apart. When you see it in person, you will be so very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stacey from Mo

Convenient

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room may have actually been cleaner than it actually felt, it's just outdated...in need of serious renovations. Conveniet to downtown. No parking garage. May park on side of street in an a lot behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bobby from Mountain Home

Good experience

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was doing small renovations on the pool area outside so we didn't get to use that area. Other than that, the food at the restaurant was great, room was clean, personal very friendly, and there are several decent hiking trails with great views right behind the hotel. Parking was a bit of a pain but not worth knocking off a point for ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Todd P. from Birmingham Al

Place reminded me of the Overlook

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
If your a fan if the Shining this is the place for you. This hotel as many others on central ave have been around since before the depression. Quite beautiful architecture, but old. When I stepped into the lobby I expected to see Jack Torrence typing away and Danny on his big wheel. Same goes for the hallway to your rooms. Got off the elevator to find a long hallway. Thankfully the twins were not standing at the end beckoning me. The place needs a room renovation. But alas if your looking for the old or fan of the era, by all means stay at this wonderful hotel.