Ratings based on 1,734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
I was skeptical about booking any hotel in Cancun. But choosing Riu Caribe was a very good decision that I made on a friend's recommendation. Awesome views from the hotel and clean rooms, friendly staff and good food. Only the food at the Maria Margarita restaurant was a disappointment. Anyways, if anybody ia planning to go yo Cancun, Riu Caribe is worth considering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Went with about 100 kids from school. we were definitely the majority of the college students there, but the resort was nice and welcomed us. lots of fun
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom washington state

Beautiful setting right on beach ! Staff excellent

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!
Cons: Most food very good..beef over cooked and very tough. Less loud music at pool..Seem to cater more for younger crowd yet mostly older when we there.
Location: Chitz ita (sp) Tulum, market 28. Sailing at hotel, Parasailing at hotel
Antonio our breakfast lunch waiter SO EXCELLANT!! Beautiful white sand beach, pool excellent condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cleveland, ohio

Good Basic Hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms. Good view.
Cons: Provide toiletries.
Location: The city is accessible by bus ($1.00 American). People are friendly and there are an abundance of shops, restaurants and night life.
The hotel was what I expected. The rooms are average with minimal amenities, but in a warm climate this is not much of an issue. Rooms were clean and the view was good. There are four liquor dispensers that are free. The resort has the typical activities. The beach was small in comparison with other resorts but was clean. Food was slightly above average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Location: We enjoyed a few excursions and walking on the side walk. If you are looking for big ocean waves you need to stay closer to the airport.
We really liked the hotel, pool, and spa. Our room was very close to the lobby bar which was loud but didn't bother us too much. We were really happy with the size of our room, we had a huge king size bed and 2 full size beds and a small balcony. The food was good and the pizza place was great! We had fun at the pool and the service at the pool bar was speedy! There was also wait staff to serve you all day long and they were fast. All the staff was nice and seemed to be in a good mood. It was really fun to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, IN

Hotel and Staff

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The room was very nice and comfortable. Great view of the pool area and the ocean. The service is great and the food was very good.
Cons: I wasn't crazy about making reservations at two of the restaurants. They weren't full at dinner, so I didn't understand the need for it.
Location: Great location and easy access to downtown. Plenty of things to do.
I thought the hotel was very nice and the staff was always friendly, welcoming, courteous, and prompt in tending to the needs of the guests. Everyone seemed to enjoy working there. The hotel and pool being close to the beach makes everything convenient. Enjoyed the entertainment inside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma WA

Overall very pleasent

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: We liked the staff and especially the beach.
Cons: The 3 restaurants weren't that great. The Asian one was the worst. I didn't eat much of the meal and was sick the next day.
Location: We took a tour to the Mayan ruins which is about 122 miles each way. Great tour that took, but took all day and evening because of the distance.
I read a lot of reviews before booking this resort. Overall it was very comfortable and the staff was polite and accommodating. The only downside was that a bracelet I bought my wife was taken from our room which only she and I shared. It wasn't very expensive but she liked it and I had bought it on an excursion. After looking all over for it the next day I thought i should report it which I did. They really didn't want me to make an official report and I agreed because of the price. They did however say they would investigate and get back to us with the results. They never did get back to us. Bottom line is always use the safe that is provided if any of your items is worth keeping. We really did have a great time other than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom buenos aires

Lindo hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Si
Cons: Si el wifi
Location: No hay nada cerca
Todo muy bien linda experiencia los chicos de animaciĆ³n muy copados...los barman tambien
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with great staff

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: every[thing. The staff is amazing
Cons: air condition the lobby
Location: easy access to everything by bus
I have stayed many times at the Riu Caribe. Obviously, I think it a great hotel with a wonderful staff. I fail to understand why the hotel is always rated lower than the other Riu properties in the area;even the higher priced ones. I just came back and I'll go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bay area, california

Very nice hotel, steps from the beach!!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Came here with my husband to celebrate valentines day.. Only stayed for 4 days and that wasn't enough. It's our second time staying at riu and the service and cleanliness of the place is superb!! I would have given it a 5 star but I wasn't too fond of the sports bar. The drinks were good but the food was not so great. So my advise is to please, reserve your dinner at the steak house/Chinese/ Mexican restaurant or don't miss the buffet... If you miss any of those, you are better off getting food outside the hotel. Oh, the walls are very thin. I'm a deep sleeper and it didn't bother me, but just know people can hear everything you do. Other than that, we definitely enjoyed our stay. Met some great people and the weather in February is just perfect!! I can't wait to come back to cancun and most likely will be staying at Riu again.