Ratings based on 1,016 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Cancun Riu Penninsula Plaza

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Great hotel. Food was outstanding. Italian restaurant was a big plus. Other restaurants were also good. Staff went out of their way to be accommodating. Pools and beach were beautiful. Rooms were nice and always clean. The only drawback was the front desk staff. The front desk staff were not friendly and extremely concerned with rules. Lines were long and they did not go out of their way. Big difference compared to the rest of the hotel staff who were always smiling and finding ways to make you feel special and cared for. We were also disappointed that they would not let our 17 year old daughter in the workout facility. She could go with parental supervision between 12 and 1, but she was training for her spring sport and I did not want to spend 3 hours of my day watching her work out and she needed to be there longer than an hour mid-day. The hotel needs to address this or make sure people are aware before booking. Otherwise, we would definitely return. Pool activities are fun and shows were entertaining. Overall, a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed , cheap liquor, average food,

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Beach clean and not crowded
Cons: Everything starting with customer service
1. Understaffed hotel with extremely poor customer service 2. Cheap brand liquors and no food served in the bar area. 3. Hotel pool closes at 7.00 PM 4. Advertised as 5 restaurants but need reservation in 3 restaurants which are rarely available when you want it. 5. Even the hotel door man call taxis that reap you off ask fare before you get in 6. NO SERVICE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

All inclusive that exceeded expectations

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Refer to feedback to question "Write about your experience."
Cons: Attention to special requests for the housekeeping staff - There were times in which our room was not stocked with bottled water and towels requested.
Location: Excellent beach location with no true need to leave hotel grounds. We did chose to experience one day excursions to Chichen Itza and Las Mujeres.
From the Bellman's reception at the door of the ground transportation through departure, the Hotel RIU Palace Peninsula provided a first rate, all inclusive experience. During the brief wait in the reception line, we were offered exotic cocktails that were an introductory hint of the service and selection provided to guests. Hotel maintenance (facility and pools), grounds keeping and cleaning is discretely executed all hours of the day. Food variety, freshness and preparation are excellent. Bottled water, coffee selections and cocktails were conveniently available and plentiful. The entire staff (room maids, concierge, bar tenders, servers, life guards, shop keepers, bellmen, front desk attendants, etc.) is professional and dedicated to providing excellent, friendly service. Hotel management demonstrates discretion in their actions and runs an excellent facility. This celebratory vacation was our first all inclusive experience. We highly recommend the Hotel RIU Palace Peninsula.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Amazing Views and Exceptional Staff

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was amazing, beach was long and beautiful, there were many pools so we could be involved in the daily activities or sit away from them.
Location: Access to transportation to events was available at the resort or in a short cab ride to a nearby resort.
We had the pleasure of meeting Samuel on our 2nd night. He is a waiter in the main restaurant. Samuel went out of his way to make each evening meal enjoyable and even placed rose petals on our table to make the event more romantic. This is just one example of the exceptional service we received at the resort. At the pool our waiter remembered what we liked to drink and brought us fresh beverages as our glasses ran low. There was entertainment in the evening including a couples type of game that had us rolling in laughter. The view from our room was amazing and the resort was constantly being maintained by a staff that greeting us with a smile each time we passed. As someone who is unable to sit in the sun I really appreciated the number of shady spots to sit outside. The pools, beach, hotel, and rooms were exactly like the pictures show. I am looking forward to another visit next year. This is an amazing resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Mar 28, 2015
It was awsome every thibg was beautiful, tbe hotel. The food tbe staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom syracuse ny

Awesome hotel, great food and service! Top notch

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Awesome hotel.. Top notch.. Great food and drinks!! Very clean.. Great service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Forks ND

The Best hotel ever.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best staff ever. We ask four things and they helped us out wright away.
Cons: The restaurants could use some work. The food was just ok. Nothing special.
Location: Close to downtown and water activities.
We had a great time from the start. Alex was the guy that helped us from the car with are bags and made sure we got them to out room after we checked in. He also helped us when we had questions. Check in was great and fast with Ricardo. We read a lot of reviews about this hotel being good and bad. So we tested out something people said that was wrong with this hotel and nothing was true. We stayed in the Villas and we thought it was well worth it being away from the main building and the adult pool was great even tho there is no gates people stay away from them just because they do read the sign. So we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Drinks were nice and strong not week at all. You can order champagne to your room just at the concierge during the day. If you want a really great dinner for a couple do the dinner on the beach. It was such a great time and we will never forget the memories we got from it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
great place to stay! great food! try all the restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbia, IL

Wonderful getaway

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We had a wonderful week at the Riu Palace Peninsula. The staff was incredible - very friendly and always ready to help in any way they could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln, Ne

Great hotel away from rif-raf!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The staff was very pleasent and were never too pushy or overly nice. The staff at the buffet were wonderful, as well as Roger at the breakfast staff.
Cons: Dinner reservations and drinks - Drinks were weak, and often times dinner reservations were full so we ate at the bufftet (which was better anyways!).
Location: The locations was great with a nice quiet beach! Not many things to do unless you take a cab, but there is a great mall nearby (La Isla).
RIU Peninsula was amazing and we will definitely be going back! If you are looking for something away from all the downtown craziness, this is a great stay! The hotel was clean, very open and modern. The staff was always pleasant and the food was great! They also had nightly entertainment for adults (some earlier shows for kids), and even hosted beach parties and pool games during the day. You really never had to leave the hotel! You are a little far away from the malls, entertainment, bars, etc. so you would need to take a cab ride there, but with 5 bars at the hotel, we really didn't see a need to leave. Be careful, cab rides get expensive!! They can charge you whatever you want, so be sure to ask before you start to drive off (we always felt safe though).