Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Orleans

Carpet fresh overdone ,to mask mildew/mold smell

Posted Apr 25, 2015
The location for a pre-cruise stay was perfect. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. After reading other reviews I requested a room not on the first floor. When we entered the room we were overwhelmed by the smell of carpet freshener. But were please with the rooms cleanliness and size and decided simply to open the window to air out the fresher smell. I actually really enjoyed staying in a room that the windows opened. After returning from the Kemah Boardwalk that evening ,we had left the window open the whole time we were gone. The smell of carpet freshener was gone... unfortunately all we could smell now was a mildew/mold smell. If I ever cruise out of Houston again I will probably pick a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review we truly appreciate it. I will be passing your nice words along to my staff and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are having some renovations and will be replacing the carpet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Pleasant surprise

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Although the bed was only a double , the room was nice size and I was surprised by a full size refrig and a stove! We booked here for location close to port to take cruise out of LaPorte. Staff was very friendly and answered several questions. I would stay again. They allow you to park for the week for $10 and take a shuttle to the ship! Shuttle is not free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Candlewood Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review we truly appreciate it. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay and hoped you enjoyed your cruise. Look forward to seeing you in the future when you are in this area. Thank you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Will not ever stay here agine because of all the reason I put on my review before but will not let me post my review ...would rather stay at a cheep hotel at least I wouldn't pay a arm and a leg for the same stay thank u
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Elisa, Hotel Management
I sincerly apologize for any inconvience that occured during your stay and hope in the future you have a better stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Elisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bruce

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Elisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate our guest and look forward to seeing you in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peterfrom Mission, TX

good for a night before a cruise

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a quiet area not far from the cruise port. Several fast food places and a ‘Kroger’ supermarket are within walking distance. The suites are small but come with a fully equipped kitchen with fridge/freezer and dish washer. Food items can be bought in vending machines. As we only stayed one night we didn’t make use of it. The room had one queen size bed which felt a little narrow. Wi-Fi reception and speed was excellent in the room. We had a problem with the keyboards of the computers in the business center. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and tried to get the problem solved. We had intended to leave the car at the hotel but they are charging $ 10 for parking and the shuttle will cost $ 8 per person one way. For 4 people it would have been the same price as parking at the port. For one night before a cruise the Candlewood is a good place to stay at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Elisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review,we trily appreciate our guest and lok forward to seeing you in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Nice motel close to the Houston Cruise Port

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Close to the port.
Cons: No breakfast provided as this is an extended stay facility.
Location: Housto Cruise Port
Wanted a place for the night before sailing out of Houston. Motel was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Elisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate our guest and look forward to seeing you in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Elisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

No cribs here

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Expedia stated on their site that this hotel had the "family friendly" amenity of Cribs for infants, but upon checkout they looked at us like we were crazy and said they don't offer those and have never been asked about them before. After complaining to Expedia, they did credit us for our inconvenience. The hotel is nice and clean though and our 1 bedroom King suite was comfortable, quiet, and clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamesfrom Bmt, tx

Disappointed

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The initial room that we were put in had a musty/stale smell in the room. We asked for a discent room and the next one room 108, when we laid in bed it had flies jumping from the qut