Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Rooms were nice, clean and roomy.
Cons: Even though rooms have a kitchen at the min. a continental breakfast should be available.. Refrigerator ice maker didn't work, so ice available.
Overall very good.................................................................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misrepresented

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfortable, room was clean.
Cons: Make Wi Fi work throughout the entire hotel or don't advertise free Wi Fi in every room. That was very frustrating,
Free Wi Fi, but only works if you are on first or second floor. We were on third floor. Requested a king room but got a queen-they only have 4 king rooms in the entire hotel so the chance of getting one is minuscule. Saw nothing sIng they were an extended stay hotel but was informed of that at check-in so no maid service. Room was comfortable but I would have stayed at another place with better amenities if I had known.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not ready to check in

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: location to the venue we were attending
Location: Kemah boardwalk, eateries and amusement rides
I arrive there 1 hour after check in and my room was not ready, had to wait 30 min. Had air condition issues. purchase two rooms to be next door, they were on different floors
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Rest after a long day

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Grounds and interior were very clean.
Cons: Change front desk staff and replace mattress
We picked this hotel based on reviews and location. We looked forward to a restful evening after a long day of travel. The hotel is hard to get to off of the interstate. GPS is not up to date, so look closely you can miss it. Our encounter with the front desk staff was less than pleasant. The girl that checked us in did not appear to knwo what she was doing. She took a great deal of time with a gentleman that was ahead of us in line. Her lack of knowledge and snotty attitude made the gentleman angry. I later experience the same feelings. She also did not explain security deposit fees. I found out at check out that there would be a hold of $100.00 on my card for 48 hours. The bed in the room was very uncomfortable. I would recommend this hotel, with warnings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Cons: Would've been nice to have breakfast at the hotel.
Location: Very good location. The hotel has a lot of shops and restaurants nearby.
Hotel was nice, rooms were clean and neat, and the staff was very kind and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, TX

Not up to Candlewood Par

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I am a regular Candlewood Suites hotel booker. This hotel was in a great location, lots of shopping and eating places nearby with easy access. The comfort of the larger suite style rooms is always a huge plus for me. However, this Candlewood wasn't up to par with the ones I've stayed at in the past...first impressions are important and the 2 girls working the desk were far from friendly. In fact, I had to wait to check in while they both socialized with a frequent hotel guest. Once I got to my room I was disappointed to see my king suite was in fact not a king size bed and all of the other rooms were sold out. The trash had not been emptied from the guest before me therefore there wasn't anywhere to put my trash. Not to mention the smell coming from under the counter. I don't feel like I will book this specific Candlewood in the future but instead spend a little extra money to stay in Texas City or Galveston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Cons: Update or maintain the exercise machinery.
Treadmill and exercise weights were a little worn out but still functional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

very comfortable

Posted Aug 14, 2014
one of the best hotel ive stayed at. it has everything i needed from kitchen to pots to plates to utensils to dish washing soaps to paper towels. this place is quiet and has free laundry. very nice staff member. all of our qualifications and expectations were met. this will be my hotel again when i come back to houston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from tx.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Ease to get to.
Close to the ships. A big shopping center next door .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent Price and in Decent Travelling Distance

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Everything really. It was nice and quiet, the rooms were in amazing condition, and the free facilities were pretty great for the price.
Cons: The weight pins for the machines in the gym were missing so one could not use them... Im not sure if the staff had them though since it was so late.
Location: Galveston. Going down to the beach area and fishing or just hanging out with the family. its also located in the middle of a bunch of restaurants.
The pricing of the rooms were great so I figured I would roll the dice to see what we would get. Probably the most important part of the room for us was the fact it comes with a full kitchenette, so we were able to actually bring leftovers from restaurants back to the room and/or make dinner there. Another excellent selling point is the fact that they have free washers and dryers, so coming back to the hotel from Galveston was much easier stress wise because we could wash our clothes without any hassell. The travel from the room to Stewart Beach was only about 25 minutes, and pretty easy to get to and from. Well worth saving the extra 120$ a night to stay here and use that money for family fun in Galveston instead of getting a room on the beach.