Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great location!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking spaces in the parking garage are tiny! I realize they are trying to maximize the number of spaces, but my small car barely fit.
The hotel was in the perfect location for our weekend in Houston. Just a few blocks from the Galleria, and minutes away from the museum district and restaurants. It was easy to find, even while navigating Houston traffic and highways. Our room was nice, very clean and well decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and sleek!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
It was a nice clean and modern hotel with a nice pool and fitness center.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the location was good.
Cons: N/A
Location: Nice location very close to the Galleria and other shopping areas.
We selected to stay at the Hotel Derek to celebrate our 7th anniversary. The staff were wonderful and very accommodating. Every staff member that we encountered were eager to help us in any way possible. However, the actual rooms are nice and comfy but the walls are very thin. We were asleep and were woken by a group of drunk individuals who happened to be staying in the room next to us. They were very loud and did not respect the fact that not everyone was up at 2am and were not drunk like them. They were falling down and laughing very loud and talking very loud. Once they were finally inside their room this still carried on. We called the front desk and they immediately addressed the situation. We are unsure if we will select to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice clean

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice clean people nice staff nice bed is comfortable valet is great drunks are good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice Hotel!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Superb hotel, great food, made my business trip feel like vacation! The only negatives were a mediocre bed and lousy pillows plus nightly parking fees that cost almost a third of my room rate... New beds would make my day next time I come to Houston and stay here. Kudos to the chef and kitchen staff. Meals were great!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The location was great and the staff were extremely helpful. The only complaint was the amount of traffic noise outside the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Ok, slightly expensive and the air conditioning was set very cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Confusion

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I was booked for 2 nights. I was gone Saturday afternoon. I arrived back in my room to find my belongings gone. It wasn't much. ( phone charger, and bathroom stuff and $15). I got my charger back and they brought me bathroom stuff. Which was nice. They did validate my parking too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Great hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Nice weekend get away. Hotel was very neat staff was pleasant. Only you have to pay for mostly everything that should be free ie travelers kit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hip one

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Loud Texas colorful theme. Mod decor. Super comfortable bed. Pool (petite size) with only 2 sq ft of sun. Two hours to deliver extra towels though.