Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a refreshing change

Posted Jul 24, 2014
this is a great hotel that makes you feel welcome only wish they had more staff at the spa - I couldn't get a booking for the day I arrived or the next day - so should have pre-booked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend of leisure

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Coffee in the room. But I threw on a robe and walked down the hall. Just love coffee in the room but would not keep me from coming again.
Location: Lots of shops close by the university beautiful walking paths and seemed easy to navigate through the city.
Loved the hotel. This was our first visit and the facility was excellent and the staff was perfect. Never even had to ask for anything. Monarch was a great place for dinner and have an afternoon cocktail.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Had a 16 ft trailor on back of our suburban..... Called ahead to make sure we would have a place to park. The zaza assured us it would be no problem to accomodate us. What the Zaza didn't tell us is we would have to wake up at 6:00 am to feed the meter or a bar would be locked onto our vehicle and towed and that was our only option at this 4 star establishment. Then we were informed that we couldn't take the luggage rack out of the lobby so we carried our luggage to our room by ourselves in the zaza a of Houston's 4 star establishment. Booked the wrong room we reserved. The zaza in Houston is amazing and very accommodating.... Houston version could learn a lesson or two
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from College Station,Texas

Great Stay !!!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING.....
Everyone was very nice and kind. It was nice to come back to the room and have a candle and candy waiting. Just returned from Vegas and this hotel was equal or better to the hotel there. Smiles all around :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel staff are thieves

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: nothing. a waste.
Cons: staff could be imprisoned.
my wallet and phone were stolen at pool, along with my shirt. the shirt and wallet were later recovered in the staff rooms, but the phone was not returned. rather than admitting that in all likelihood one of the staff either purposefully or accidentally took my things, they said it was a mystery. i asked for a refund, which was denied. they gave me some drink tickets instead. apparently there are cameras which could have been reviewed, but i do not think they cared to look. stay here if you want to be surrounded by dishonest people. be careful leaving your things in the rooms or at the pool. management is useless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Disappointing stay at a purportedly luxury hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Only the location
Cons: Many things, see comments above
Location: Very convenient for visiting the Fine Arts Museum and the Natural History Museum.
1. Hotel facilities are minimum, restaurant's menu is limited and not too appealing; the staff, even though polite, are slow to respond to requests. 2. The rooms do not have a mirror outside the bathroom, so no way to dress or put on make up except in the bathroom. 3. The closet is inside the bathroom, so there is no access when someone is using the facility. 4. There was a stoppage in the pipes at 8:00 AM and when maintenance unclogged it, black water exploded out of the sink; it took 5 calls (the last one to the Assistant Manager) and 1 hour and 15 minutes to get a housekeeper to come and clean it so we could shower and get dressed. 5. There is nothing outstanding to support their high rates. Short of the convenience of being close to the museums I see no reason for anyone to stay there, I for sure will not again. 6. My reservation was prepaid in full; I paid for the extras upon check-out, but when I returned home I found out through American Express that I was also charged for an extra night upon arrival without the hotel telling me about it. I called the hotel and was told this was done to ensure the vacated room was left in good shape, and that it would be refunded in 3 days. I have never encountered this before anywhere in the world. I am 67 years old and certainly do not look like a rock star about to throw a wild party which would damage the room!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The condition of the property, style and overall vibe.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: All the major sports facilities are close by and the property will take you anywhere you would like to go in a five mile radius of the hotel.
We have stayed at ZaZa several times and found the experience to be exceptional. It is well located in a quiet part of downtown with good access to the different parts of the city we frequent. We are in the Hotel/Casino business our selves, working at a premier property. We travel internationally a few times per year and only stay at four and five star properties. We would never stay any where else when visiting Houston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Houston

Posted Jun 20, 2014
This is hotel was very nice. It is "boutique" which is nice and the pool area was by far our favorite part of the hotel. The food in the restaurant is way overpriced, but does taste good. Overall, it was a great hotel, good location and we would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raanan from Fort Worth, TX

Great hotel, welcoming staff

Posted Jun 15, 2014
We had a great time at ZaZa Houston. Staff is very welcoming. Great pool, large room, super people watching. Only minor complaint is that some of the 3rd floor rooms are right above the trolley stop so you hear the dings most of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from UK

Great fun, good location

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Good food, brilliant fitness room, great location
Cons: The butler pantry on each floor is great, but I really like to be able to make coffee in room, anytime in the day. Butler pantry is 6-10am only
Location: Houston is so diverse, you can do anything/everything from here. Take 59 South to Galveston, or just stay in town and see the museums/zoo/mall
We had a fantastic time in Hotel ZaZa, the location is excellent for reaching all of Houston, downtown, the zoo/museums, the Galleria mall. Food was excellent and the staff always friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Alan! Thank you for the great feedback! I am pleased to read that you had a lovely visit at Hotel ZaZa recently. The hotel is definitely situated in an excellent spot for visiting the best of what Houston has to offer. We love ya at ZaZa!