Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The only drawback was the noise due to the proximity of the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seguin

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Excellent location, easy to get to. Everything was superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Keep it the same
Location: Sorry to say I didn't get to stay very long family emergency.....so not much to see
Visiting family and didn't want to impose on their time and space. Found this hotel and what a grand time I had there. The room was fabulous very clean and the staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Spacious and outstanding!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Courteous service and the pillows were incredible!
Cons: Properly remove spots in carpet.
Location: Visited son and several nice restaurants n Houston area.
Very convenient, comfortable and affordable. Plan to return on our next visit to Houston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DEBORAH from Washington DC

Nice hotel, close to an airport.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel was convenient for some of the things I had to do.
Location: Good location, near airport, restaurants and other hotels.
My room included free Airport Shuttle. Houston have 2 airports HOU and IAH but HOU Airport is closer to this hotel (it should be specified that free Airport Shuttle means the airport closest to that hotel). I arrived to the area from IAH Airport and was disappointed to find out that I had to pay for transportation to and from the hotel because that hotel is closer to HOU Airport. Vicki Trevino, Guest Services Manager, of the hotel made my stay a lot better because I was reimburse for half of the cost of the transportation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Marriott I've ever stayed at!

Posted Jun 5, 2014
I couldn't believe how old and outdated this Marriott was, the rooms were in terrible condition! Stained carpet and walls, strands of hair found in bathtub, hallow walls, popcorn ceiling, and the list goes on. This has stained my taste for anything Marriott!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2014 by Vicki, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Houston Marriott South by Hobby Airport. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.In your comment you indicated that the cleanliness of your room was unacceptable. Please rest assured that the cleanliness of your room is not at all indicative of the standard of cleanliness we usually provide. We are taking immediate corrective steps to ensure that this does not occur in the future. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to redeem ourselves in your eyes when your travels bring you back to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Enjoyed the breakfast.
Cons: The room needs a microwave.
My father was disabled, and the management had the wheelchair waiting and even upgraded us to a larger room, because it was more wheelchair accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert

Worked well for me

Posted May 24, 2014
Nice hotel very comfortable. Only negative was the breakfast was lacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Philadelphia, PA

Great location, very convenient to the airport

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was very welcoming and pleasant. Liked the elevators too, glass backs so you can see out.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Very close to downtown Houston, traffic wasn't bad in the area at all.
Came to this hotel after my previous stay was interrupted by violence in the area. Was later told we were originally in a bad part of town. Based on Expedia's excellent direction, we found this one.
1 out of 5
by business travel from c

Poor service with total disregard to the customer

Posted May 16, 2014
With a prepaid, guaranteed late arrival I arrived late at night to learn the hotel staff had given away my room and had sold more rooms than they had available. I have zero confidence in this hotel and believe they view guests as commodities easily replaceable. The fact that it is tie to Marriott the brand reflects very poorly on marriott