Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Todo bien solo que el agua salía tibia no caliente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missoula, MT

Wonderful Hotel! Great staff!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, safety, convenience, efficiency, comfort, cleanliness, kindness!
Cons: I had a room with an adjoining door to the room next to me. The folks in that room were a bit noisy, so I could hear them because of the door.
Location: Great to be so close to the Galleria (largest mall in the south). Easy to travel to other parts of town too. Lots of food options near.
Great hotel! I arrived during some construction on the site, but it wasn't a problem. They offered me free wi-fi too because of it. Really kind and friendly staff: everyone from the registration desk to the housekeepers. I felt very comfortable and safe (which is important when you're a young female traveling alone). The hotel is easy to get to and located in a nice part of downtown near the Galleria Mall. A Walgreens across the street made it easy to stock up on some snacks too (which I could store in my mini fridge). Rooms are modern and pretty, and I had a lovely view of the city. Both restaurants were wonderful. Great food and very kind wait staff. They offer a complimentary shuttle anywhere within a mile too. I didn't use this service, but I thought it was nice. Check in was fast, check out was fast, room service was fast. Efficient hotel! I loved it and would return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great Location. Relaxing with plenty to do near by

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Convenience and cleanliness.
Location: shopping, restaurants, movie theatres
Fabulous hotel close to shopping and restaurants. Staff amazing with beautiful rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We did enjoy in the room but we could not swim

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We did enjoy in the hotel room but we could not do swimming. It was ridiculous .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston tx

Convenient to galleria

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Awesome stay, great sleep. Just wish the pool and gym were not being renovated.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Had I Known...

Posted Feb 16, 2015
I paid over $500 for a one-night stay at JW Marriot Galleria. I found out upon arrival that both the pool and fitness center were closed for renovations. Had I known this prior to coming, I absolutely would have stayed elsewhere as a pool & exercise room are two 'must haves' for me. Hugely Disappointed! For anyone planning on staying there, I would call ahead and ask about remodeling. There were contractors and renovations in various areas throughout the hotel. I woud also ask if the pool and whirlpool and fitness center are open or closed so you don't find out upon check-in when it's too late to book a room somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, Louisiana

Great place to stay in downtown Houston.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Awesome staff and accomadations. Hotel was close to my conference and shopping and dining.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stepenfrom texas

marriott oj not a jw

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel OK, room has no sound insulation from next door, contructions workers started at 7.05. The guy at the front was useless, could not get me a cab, after half hour i walked into the street and hailed my own
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom México

Hotel bien ubicado

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: La comida y la atención.
Cons: Está en remodelación que le hace mucha falta
Location: Tienes cerca el Centro comercial Galería y estas relativamente cerca de la zona de museos, zoologico y restaurantes.
Todo muy bien solo que nadie nos dijo que estaba en remodelación por lo que había demoliciones a partir de las 9:00 am, así que si te querías despertar tarde era imposible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Mina, Hotel Management
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para completar esta encuesta acerca de su satisfaccion como huesped del JW Marriott Houston. Nos sentimos orgullosos de brindar nuestros servicios durante su viaje, desafortunadamente, no hemos complido nuestra meta durante su estadia y lamentamos profundamente lo ocurrido; queremos enviarle nuestras mas sinceras disculpas. Hemos compartido sus comentarios con nuestros gerentes con el proposito de reiterar nuestra promesa de brindar servicio excepcional a nuestros clientes. Esperamos que cuente con nosotros dureante su proximo viaje a Houston, y nos de una oportunidad para brindarle nuestros servicios.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice location

Posted Jan 6, 2015
great location if you are looking to be in Gallaria area. We were actually meaning to book at main street JW and did not realize there were 2 JW's in Houston. The hotel staff was not helpful with this at all. Our hot water did not work in our room so we had to move to another room after they tried to fix it 2 times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Mina, Hotel Management
Dear Melanie, First and foremost thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the JW Marriott Houston. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent time with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the experience you had during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate teams and we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Houston. Best regards, Mina