Ratings based on 2,615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan

Great initial impact, average delivery

Posted Feb 24, 2015
It was fine. Nice lobby area. Gym was fairly nice. Pool was closed by the time we checked in. Milk and cookies bar was closed, too (got in about 11 p.m. though). I never like paying to park but understand why. Breakfast was good; though, they ran out of certain cutlery and it wasn't replenished. The room was nothing special, the toilet was gross looking, and the faucet for bathtub/shower didn't work properly. Ultimately we were looking for a spot to stay for the night and it was fine. IF YOU STAY HERE AND LIKE CRAFT BEERS, CHECK OUT THE FLYING SAUCER PUB AROUND THE CORNER (food not great but crazy beer selection and awesome ambience). Don't know if I'd stay here again unless it was a really good deal or I was staying a bit longer. I missed having a true concierge even with such a short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston TX

Good base for exploring Houston

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and friendly. Quiet - especially given downtown location
Cons: We booked two identical rooms but one was significantly better than the other for shape, natural light.and view. The layout of the building, I guess.
Location: Very central - easy walk to restaurants, bars and clubs. Some things to see downtown, but you need a car to get the most out of any sightseeing
Very pleasant - attentive staff and great valet service! Unless you plan just to be downtown, a car is essential as the attractions and things to do are spread over a wide area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area, CA

Nice Hotel in the Middle of Downtown

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great location and clean. Very comfortable. Elevators are slow but overall a nice stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great Location Near Symphony for V-Day

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Frankly, there wasn't anything I didn't like about it.
Cons: 1 free bottle of water in the room would be nice.
Location: Great location near Symphony, Main Street bars, Congress Ave. restaurants/lounges/coffe shops (like Hearsay, La Carafe & Honeymoon Cafe)
We stayed at the Magnolia for Valentine's Day and were able to walk to dinner, the Houston Symphony and a lounge for cocktails afterwards (actually a couple of them!), as well as a great little coffee shop in the morning. There are countless other restaurants and bars in the area as well, many very highly rated. Thus, highest marks for location. The hotel also receives top marks for: style & sophistication (modern even though in a historic building); high quality rooms & decor; friendly staff (check-in, valet and even random staff member on the elevator giving room tips for our next stay); and amenities (nice evening reception, great nighttime milk & cookies, and amazing view at the rooftop pool even though we didn't partake in any of these this trip, but we did thoroughly enjoy the complimentary and very full breakfast). We have stayed at several Magnolia hotels and have stayed at the Houston location numerous times... and will definitely be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seabrook, TX

Stayed here because we were going to a show

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Room was ok, staff that greeted us ok, before we left for our show we stopped by the lounge for a cocktail. We sat at the bar as others were already seated. A couple of servers walked past us, never saw a bartender, we were never even acknowledged, so after a solid 15 minutes we left. Went to show then back to hotel. Decided to give lounge another shot. This time a bartender was there and OMG I have NEVER been treated so rudely! He wasn't just rude to us but to others as well. He complained about not having a bar back but honestly it wasn't even that busy! The next day when we were there to resolve an issue with valet (check your car before you drive off!!) I went to the lounge while my husband dealt with the situation. And the older gentleman that was the bartender was amazing! He was kind, attentive, giving tourists advice, etc. he's the only reason I changed my rating on the staff. I believe his name was Tommy and he saved my opinion of this hotel. We don't live far but when we have an in town show or event we get a hotel so I didn't appreciate the attitude from the first bartender. He was sooo rude to other patrons I was embarrassed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MO

Centrally located.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Very comfortable & professional staff. Great Breakfast options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom High Wycombe

Lovely central hotel with great valet service

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, valet parking
Cons: TV quality
Hotel - Staff were very welcoming. Room was a good size with a good sized bathroom. There was a safe available if needed and was handy for us. Tv in room didn't work well and when we bought a film the quality of it was very poor. Room service was good and you had a lot of choice. Fair sized gym but not much equipment. Breakfast was included and had the choice of both warm and cold foods. Car park across the road was not good. A sign outside told you it was $5 for the day and turned out to be about $10 an hour. Luckily the hotel Valet Parking Service was very good costing about $25 with unlimited in/out privileges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel however gym is a bit limited.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Rooms are a nice size and are very comfortable. They have a complementary happy hour which is cool along with complementary breakfast.
Cons: The gym only has cardio equipment and a few free weights.
Location: The location has a great variety of places to eat.
Good experience overall. Rooms are a nice size and are very comfortable. They have a complementary happy hour which is cool along with complementary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Magnolia Hotel Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Our company dinner was in the Magnolia Hotel. We have had the dinner in other hotels and locations and this experience had to be the best so far. Our theme was Marti Gras and casino night. I don't know if the gambling tables were property of the hotel or just rented for the night but they were Vegas quality. I liked the layout of the dining hall and the food was excellent, although I don't remember much about it due to my other extracurricular activities. The hotel has a nice bar area and lounge and in a separate room off the bar area was a pool table, free of charge I might add. Needless to say, if you would like to venture out of the hotel and explore downtown Houston, a great many places if interest are within walking distance. I would have no problem staying at the Magnolia Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Our favorite hotel in downtown Houston. Conveniently located near great restaurants and the theater district.