Ratings based on 2,303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Magnolia Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, and frankly it was near my daughters apartment who I was visiting.
Cons: Very short stay, but I really enjoyed my stay and will stay there again. I would say the hotel is top notch.
Location: I got there very late, but the location was convenient to downtown and near a number of really nice restaurants.
I had a quick one night stay, actually a spur of the moment situation, but was very impressed with the staff and the hotel. The room was very nice and the front desk staff was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsville Tx

Great hotel close to ballpark

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This is a great hotel. It was a one nite stay on a Saturday nite and they were very full but you couldn't tell it by the way the staff treated us. Everything about our stay was perfect. Without a doubt we will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Older Hotel.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The room, bedding, bathroom, television, very well-prepared breakfast buffet are all five-star. We select this hotel (twice now) because it is within easy walking distance to Minute Maid Park. For us, this makes the $$ charge for parking worth the extra cost. The only reason I didn't give a full 5-star rating is because of the slow elevator service. The service seems to have a double load. One from the main floor, and a second on the second floor, which is where the entertainment activity takes place. Late in the evening, there were fifteen-twenty guests waiting for an elevator on the main floor, while the elevators were filling up on the second floor and not descending to the main floor. Small issue, but it was somewhat of an irritant. We solved the issue by walking up to the second floor to catch a ride to the 10th floor. Not a deal breaker by any means. We'll stay there again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Getaway night

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The spacious room. The breakfast and most of all the service.
Cons: Have more cups for guests to drink water in the entrance (constructive criticism folks, note I give it 5 stars).
Location: Located in downtown, so everything is near for dinner, movies, bars, etc.
The staff was fantastic. From the people in the lobby, to the valet, to the associates in charge of keeping our rooms tidy. The associates in the front desk were amazing (Anthony and Camrie). We couldnt be happier with our stay. I believe we have a new favorite hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Battleford, Sask.

Close To Minute Maid

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the ball park.
Location: The location was excellent for attending the ball games. We enjoyed the aquarium which was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.
We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Magnolia Hotel and it was a great experience. We traveled to Houston to attend 4 Toronto Blue Jays/Houston Astros games. It was a nice short 10 minute walk straight down the street to get to the ball park. The rooms in the hotel were very spacious and nice. Check in was a breeze as was check out. We don't have anything bad to say about our stay at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lagos, Nigeria

SUMMER 2014

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything needs to be improved
Location: Just fair location but the taxes in the locations are enormous
Our stay is the worst stay ever in Houston, Expedia should do a proper review before recommending this hotel to their subscribers. This hotel should be rated a 2 star or even a one star, the hotel is old and stale
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, La.

Great hotel close to Minute Maid

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Houston with going to Minute Maid in mind. It is a short walk from the park itself. Major plus is a roof top pool and complimentary breakfast. I was really impressed with the breakfast offerings, as it was the best complimentary breakfast I've every had at a hotel stay. If you are going to catch a weekend series, this is your hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Downtown Houston hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Strictly a business destination. Minutemaid Park is 4 blocks from the hotel if you want to catch an Astros game. Other than that, nothing to do.
Hotel is not a 4 star. Hallways were dirty. Wires taped to the floor going from door to door. Hallway smelled musty (not clean). Fitness center is way under equipt and very small. Had to go to a local gym and pay daily to train. Room was clean and appointed well. Very few local resturants to speak about, except for Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse (4 block from hotel)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jul 31, 2014
It was really nice pool too small but cool place ............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Great hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Hotel was awesome only negative, the views were too close to other buildings