Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort hood

OK hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This hotel was OK. Our shower drain didn't drain that well, room was small, bed was soft but not comfortable. Pillows were terrible, too soft, flat and old. They need need new towels. Free breakfast was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Cons: Our only complaint was that the built in air conditioner units are by the beds,less than a foot away, and blowing on you all night.
Mainstay is conveniently located near the Texas Medical Campus, the Montrose area and Midtown. The area, at first seems a bit sketchy but that is because Houston has no zoning laws so industrial can mingle with residential and retail areas. The area is safe. The staff of Expedia & the hotel was quite helpful when a family matter arose out of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Great location

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location: We visited the Children's Museum, the Galleria, and Minute Maid park. All of which were just minutes away.
This was an excellent hotel for our little family's first hotel experience. The suite was large enough that we had room to set up a portable crib for our 1 year old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pull-out sofabed does not equal a second bed

Posted Jun 14, 2014
The amenities are as advertised and in good condition and clean. The late-night attendant was slow to show and seemed disinterested. We asked for another bath towel the next morning - twice - and did not get one until we went to the front desk in person. Most importantly, the pull-out bed is disastrously inappropriate for an adult to sleep in comfortably. It was missing springs and the mattress was, generously, maybe three inches thick. Bring your own dish soap if you intend to use the kitchenette.
3 out of 5
by Andie from Ohio

A good value but not a good night's rest

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and amenities
Cons: Comfort of beds and pillows; size of breakfast area; breakfast item selections - e.g. more fresh fruit; more efficient housekeeping.
Location: The location is convenient to the freeway and to the Medical Center and several hospitals.
Pros - low rate, free breakfast, clean, nice decor, pool, business center, laundry facilities, shuttle, kitchen facilities in suite Cons - hotel is located across from a trucking yard so at night there is constant beeping and engine noises plus traffic noises from the street; queen suite is no larger than a standard room - cannot comfortably accommodate more than 2 people; kitchen area is very small and cramped; uncomfortable bed, small lumpy pillows; small, congested breakfast area; very basic breakfast selections; ran out of hot breakfast items frequently; although daily housekeeping included only emptying of trash and changing towels it often was late in the evening before these were done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant stay at this hotel.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Pillows were very uncomfortable. Breakfast lacked enough food for everyone. Fruit was not available. Check out was very slow since each party had to wait until staff checked the room for any damage prior to checking out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good quality for the price.

Posted May 8, 2014
Would definitely stay here again. In town to attend baseball games downtown. Easy drive on city streets to the stadium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leonardo from Puerto Rico

It was fair for the price good location

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: mostly the quite location
Cons: more cleanning
Location: food
You had to tell them to cleaOkay for the price, disappointed with frozen or cold boiled eggs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom

Great Value for Money

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Our room had everything we needed, including free Wi-Fi. A good choice of breakfast was included in the price, and the choice changed every day.
Cons: The air-con unit in our room was very noisy.
Location: This hotel is very convenient for the medical district plus the zoo and museums. There isn't much within walking distance so a car is essential.
Overall our stay was very good. We would use this hotel again. The staff were particularly helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CB from Washington state

Convenience for medical stay

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Closeness to our hospital.
Cons: ?
Location: We did not venture out.
This hotel is a no-nonsense hotel. A little ran down but the staff makes up for it! They were all very friendly and helpful from directing us to grocery store to getting a wheelchair for my husband (after his surgery). I would definitely stay here again! Thank you Main Stay!!