Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Must get a great deal for value to be there.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Location: Older residential/commercial which is being rehabed, but has a long way to go.
Location would have been worrisome if not reassured by staff. "Mod" rms are very small. Bed and 2ft desk with a chair. Old TV. Day rooms are nice, but don't use much accept for b'fst which was very good. Traffic noise was loud, even at night. Staff was very pleasant, but owner made you feel like she was doing you a favor. We were there for 3 nights and gone all day. 3star motel is a better value.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sanata Monica + Santa Fe

Promising online disappointing in person

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful. Lovely, accommodating chef and a nice opportunity to talk with other guests. Great location.
Cons: Service, attention to detail. How costly could it be to buy tissue, lotion, sweep and empty the trash. Better in-person communication.
Location: Nice quiet neighborhood near museum and convenient to downtown.
I was looking forward to my stay in this "modern" b&b. Decor in public spaces was as pictured, but the room was a little run down, especially the bath. Told that check-in was 2 to 10 but when I arrived at 9:30 there was a sign on the door to to text for help. The manager had gone to the store. I managed to find my room with phone guidance and settled in. There were no "amenities" others than those that looked like they were left by previous guests. No kleenex, really? The floor felt gritty as if it had not been swept and it was no better the second night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Fantastic alternative to a Hotel!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Why would you stay in a hotel when you could stay here? The location is ideal for everything I want to do, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the breakfast is amazing. I felt much more relaxed when I left than I do in all the chain hotels I normally stay in. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jasonfrom Lafayette

Great place

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal location. Great rooms. Great food. Great price. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kayfrom Washington

would stay again

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I usually stay in a hotel. mY husband booked this room. I have to say I wasn't sure about an B&B but I liked it. got to interact with others staying there and got to meet the owner, very nice lady. A marothoner and always has things going on, things you can join in if you want. the rooms felt like if i where in a dorm. but not a big deal. also this B&B is near a lot of great locations and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Such a nice change

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The owner was there to greet us when we arrived. She gave us a tour of the place, recommended close by restaurants for diner and accompanied us on a full walk through of our room to ensure all was to our liking. Very clean place with SUPER comfortable bed, spacious shower and a separate whirlpool tub. The breakfast Chef was phenomenal in her preparation of made to order omelets and other offerings as well. Like other B&B's I've stayed at, the breakfast is in "family" style; around a big table, dining with the other guests. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests around the table. Location is walking distance from one-off style shops and eateries. Located in a nice neighborhood with nice people. We cannot wait to stay at Modern B&B again the next time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay.. Super worth it! Will do it again

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly cute place... Organic breakfast! Very happy with the outcome! Highly recommended :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joshfrom Louisiana

My new go-to spot in Houston

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely friendly, helpful, hospitable, and accommodating staff. Awesome location, great breakfast. Extremely clean and a very pleasant place to stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dougfrom US

Great Potential

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
They are located in a very eclectic neighborhood with good restaurants, wonderful architecture and mature trees. The building is appealing from the outside and the common areas inside are quite nice as well. I was disappointed with my room, in that it could use some remodeling and felt half finished. The bathroom in particular was very outdated, functional but aesthetically in disrepair. I had better bathroom towels while serving in the Navy! Housekeeping was very poor, with dust bunnies throughout the room’s wooden floor, and the bathroom cleanliness was sub-par too. The property manager “Lisa” was very friendly and a nice person. The breakfast setup looked really nice and smelled good, but I was unable to partake since I was leaving for work at 7:00 when breakfast was served.