Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Such a nice change

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The owner was there to greet us when we arrived. She gave us a tour of the place, recommended close by restaurants for diner and accompanied us on a full walk through of our room to ensure all was to our liking. Very clean place with SUPER comfortable bed, spacious shower and a separate whirlpool tub. The breakfast Chef was phenomenal in her preparation of made to order omelets and other offerings as well. Like other B&B's I've stayed at, the breakfast is in "family" style; around a big table, dining with the other guests. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests around the table. Location is walking distance from one-off style shops and eateries. Located in a nice neighborhood with nice people. We cannot wait to stay at Modern B&B again the next time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay.. Super worth it! Will do it again

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly cute place... Organic breakfast! Very happy with the outcome! Highly recommended :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Great breakfast every morning. Nice change of pace from the business hotel chains. I booked the Spa room and was rewarded with a HUGE jet tub that made the end of the day very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2014
It was nice to stay somewhere that wasn't a traditional hotel. However, because it wasn't a hotel there aren't things like individual room temperature adjustments, etc. Very pleasant breakfast setup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gilbert Pitcher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice for Houston near Menil Collection

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Lovely bed and shower with great breakfast. Great to have free parking. Wood floors meant we could hear people upstairs. Needs a little bit of maintenance here and there but nothing major. Definitely recommended place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Modern B&B. Our room was cozy, and it felt like we were staying in a deluxe tree house. Window shades were adjustable at the top and bottom, so you could enjoy the canopy view while blocking the street view below. The bathroom was clean and spacious. My only wish would be for a towel rod or hook next to the shower. Although we weren't in town long enough to have need of the kitchen, I thought that was a bonus. The breakfast selection was fantastic and much more enticing than your standard hotel's complimentary offerings. The location of Modern B&B was very convenient to the Medical Center, Museum District, and Rice Village. There were so many cafés, restaurants and shops within a 2 mile radius; I left wishing for more days of vacation to try/see everything. Until next time!
2 out of 5
by James from Calgary

Not what I had hoped

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: The common space is incredible. They have a high end espresso machine, free drinks, a cool record player and record collection, and nice modern décor
Cons: Pay attention to details. If you're allowing a late-night party, put non-party guests in furthest building, and party guests in room by the balcony.
Location: Fantastic. Great bars with live music, not too far from cool restaurants if you have a car, nice, trendy, eclectic.
I'm a young professional who visits Houston monthly. Spent the week at the Hyatt, and wanted to spend the weekend somewhere nice and trendy for the weekend. When I was first brought into the common space area (which is pretty amazing), I thought I'd be giving a five star rating for sure, but things slowly went down from there. The girl showing me around really didn't care for conversation. She made it obvious she didn't really care what I had to say, and just wanted to get her spiels over. I stayed in a side building, which was a nice building, but the décor looked like pre-owned ikea furniture, the fireplace painting was lazily set on the mantle instead of being hung properly, and though the kitchen looked great and I would have liked to cook in there, the pans hanging above the counter had an ancient layer of dust that was a real turn off. The room itself had a college dorm kind of feel, and if they replaced the bed with a bunk would look just like the hostel rooms I always stayed in through my early 20s. On top of all this, on the Saturday, they let someone have a Christmas party in the common area, and I had to listen to yelling, and thumping bass all night. Felt like Southbeach (Miami). On top of that, my door locked behind me when I went upstairs for a glass of water, and I couldn't call anyone because there's no phones in the building. That ended up being a whole ordeal I don't have the space to get into. Had high expectations, few were met.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from Boise, Idaho

Good location to museum district.

Posted Nov 9, 2013
My two sons and I enjoyed this B and B very much. The breakfasts were great with lots of choices. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and what it had to offer. Transportation was readily available. I would recommend the Modern to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com