Ratings based on 683 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Big Difference!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Huge rooms, empty mini refrigerator for use, great fitness center, great location and nice staff.
Cons: Pool area
Location: Great location near shopping and restaurants.
We stayed here when it was the Intercontinental and were not impressed. What a difference the renovations have made here. The room was lovely with an empty refrigerator-yay! We could store our wine, water and fruit here instead of in a cooler. The shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are in dispensers in the tub/shower-so nice not to have to mess with those tiny bottles. The fitness room is great with brand new ellipticals, treads, an ab room and free weights. The pool area is just ok, small with limited chairs. Their is a Kerig in the room but also a coffee shop in the lobby with good coffee and pastries and breakfast tacos(2 for $5.00-my husband enjoyed). Very nice staff-menu in the restaurant looked great but we did not have time to eat there. We will be back- a deal for $129.00 for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Really nice hotel. Great getaway.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
I was getting away with my girlfriend for my birthday and the hotel treated me very well with the hospitality. The rooms were excellent and I can't wait to come again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Check - out process
Location: Galleria Mall and other shopping and restaurants
Decent hotel, yet outdated. I liked the location, and the room was nice. yet the bathroom needs updating. The pool is a joke (really small) with access through the gym. I would've given it a higher rating if the checkout process was automated. Standing inline for over 20 minutes to check-out is ridicoulus!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would Stay Here Again

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: I loved the sensor lights and the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel pumps in the bathroom. I also liked the black out curtains.
Cons: Another entrance that is not located off 610 since its a one way, u-turns are a must. Also a variety of firm pillows.
Location: The location is right by the highway and near the Galleria area, lots to do.
The hotel was very nice and the lobby was accommodating (coffee shop). The room was comfortable but did not like the pillows one bit. The room was clean and I loved the extra touches like the sensor lights and the pumps in the shower. We were fooled by the hidden refrigerator and coffee maker. They are in hidden in cabinets that look like drawers. The parking is $19.00 a night but the attendant was accommodating. The only thing that was a hassle was the location, its located right on 610 so we had to u-turn a couple times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and well located

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: there's nothing that I didn't like
Cons: no
Location: I was there for business. But the location is easy to access.
Great hotel. Comfortable, great complimentary breakfast and evening happy hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin tx

Great place.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Can't wait to stay again. Very nice staff. Great bar area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Royal Sonesta is a nice hotel. When we got there we were asked if wanted an executive upgrade for $50/night which would give us an executive room, free breakfast for two, access to the Concierge Club and free drinks at the bar. So we said yes. What we were not told was that the free drinks were only in the Concierge Club bar and only between 5-7pm. So when we rocked up at the normal bar at 8pm for a free drink they said no. I challenged that we were not told this and pointed out that as we checked at 7pm, we were never eligible for free drinks that night, information which the man who checked us in also didn't provide but which would have been handy. The management were good in sorting it out but I wasn't impressed that they hadn't been upfront about the upgrade deal in the first place. Anyway, the room was great and on the top floor so the view was terrific. The breakfast was also really good. We opted to have breakfast downstairs, not in the Concierge Club, because the selection was better. The hotel is close to the Galleria shops which is a plus. Other than the drinks issue we had a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Youngsville, LA

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Fancy Hotel
Location: The area was really nice with the Galleria nearby and the zoo and aquarium are driving distance away.
We decided on a weekend getaway to Houston and were pleasantly surprised by the affordability of the hotels compared to New Orleans. We had a wonderful time and the hotel was beautiful! We will definitely be back. If you are looking for something fun to do with children the aquarium and zoo were a hit with our 2 year old. The zoo was the best I have ever been to. I was so happy that the hotel had cribs/pack n plays on hand. I called guest services and had one in our room within 10 mins. My son was so excited to receive a "I am a Sonesta Kid" shirt in the pack n play. That was a nice surprise. Overall, we had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expect more from a +VIP reservation

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Hotel Staff
Cons: Free self-parking
Location: Great location to visit the galleria area
I made the reservation because it have a +VIP status on my account. But i did not receive any bonus from this type of reservation, expect more from it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Great hotel, loved the restaurants and amenities.