Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to space center

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Nice pool and great food
Nice room and great staff. A fridge in the room would have been wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice commnets arout the staff. We are just across the lake from Space Center Houston and NASA and 1 mile from the Kemah Boardwalk. We appreicate your business and taking the time to share your thoughts. Have a great summer. Roy Green, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, Tx

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Cons: Need a couple of small outdoor chairs on balcony.
Location: South Shores Grille is an awesome place to eat.
This was our first stay here, but will not be our last. Have no complaints, room was nice, clean, room service was prompt, courteous, and reasonable. Wife and I are season ticket holders at Schlitterbahn and just came down for a few days to "ride the river". Normally we would stay in Galveston, but honestly with the mass influx of seaweed this year...Galveston stinks! So I went online looking for a nice hotel close to Galveston but removed from the smell and happened upon this gem. Seems the view from every window in that hotel is great, from the yachts, to the light house, to the strategically placed palm trees, to the sunsets. So as I said in the beginning, this may have been our first stay here, but it is most certainly not our last.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
We would love to be your new desitnation. We have so many things to do here int he area, and being half way between Galveston and Houston gives our guests a wide variety of choices for things to do. Thank you for your comments on your stay and the service you received. I will be sure to share at our next staff meeting. Hope to have you back soon. We value your business. Roy Green, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spring, tx

Nice exterior but room was falling apart.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
One of our two very small beds were broke. The Thermostat was broke. Pool was dirty. The room floor was dirty. The staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear that your room had so many problems. Our housekeeping staff usually reports when there are issues/problems with the beds and thermostats. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly, but my apologies for the problems with your room. I will atttempt to find out which room you were in so we can take steps to correct those issues. Roy Green, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Stayed 3 days. Very nice. Lush pool area and beautiful harbor
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
Thanks for the nice comments and for your business. We are working towards making some major improvements to our pool area once the summer season is over. Stay tuned. Have a nice summer. Roy Green, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort worth,tx

Location & lack of micro ,fridge

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We checked in late at night & being new to the area,its not welcoming to just turn round & round,the location of the hotel is difficult to find. The hotel itself is clean, the room size is just enough but wished there is a microwave & mini fridge inside. The pool is excellent & the staff are all friendly &;helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Some staff were a bit awkward, but other than that the hotel was very very nice for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very nice staff, great breakfast, awesome pool & close to many attractions! Loved our stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice pool

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Here are the good things: It's in a good location- close to Kemah, but not too far away from the freeway so we could go to Galveston. Staff answered all our concerns very quickly. We wanted more towels and pillows and they delivered almost as soon as I hung up the phone. Our keys didn't work a few times, and they very promptly got us new ones. The room was very clean, smelled good. The balcony room with a harbor view was nice. It was nice to look at the different boats. The pool is nice and big, and we heard music coming from the pool area, on Sunday, but we weren't able to go, and didn't hear it again. Ok the not so good but it's not so bad either- The entire hotel just needs to be updated. It has 70's Decor and fixtures. But not too bad. The lobby really needs more lighting and a doorman to greet guests and help with the doors which are very heavy and hard to keep open when you are trying to get a luggage cart in. We weren't sure we were entering the front door or not. We expected a more welcoming entrance. I requested three keys, but by the next day 2 had somehow deactivated. This happened two times. The pool is nice with a swim up bar. The towels have to be checked out by the desk, so don't forget or you"ll get frozen going back in to get them. This hotel is FREEZING to the point of discomfort. This is coming from a Houston native who loves the AC! We couldn't make our room warmer, so we turned off the AC, and it was still cold! What must the light bill be!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments and I am glad your stay was a good one overall. We will take 4 Stars anyday. I do apologize for your keys getting deactivated. You are right, that does happen sometimes, and not sure if due to batter on door lock or just with the keys themselves. Our electric bill is quite high, but we have a chilled water system, and with all the entrances and exists to the hotel and conference center, we do need to run the A/C quite a bit to prevent our public areas from getting warm. I do apologize that your room thermostat would not warm up the room to your liking. We are working towards replacing our A/C unites in each our guest rooms and hope to start that process soon. We appreicate you sharing your thoughts and look forward to having you back again. Roy Green, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Pool

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Nice room with nice view over the lake and a patio! Very clean and very quiet, but no mini bar in the room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
We are glad you foudn the hotel to be to your liking. We are working towards getting the small mini fridges for all rooms, but it may be a year or so. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We hope to see you back soon and hopefully we will have the mini fridges by that time. Roy Green, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Everything POOL MUSIC POOL BAR AND MUSIC!
Location: Galveston Beach, Clear Lake ,Board Walk, Pier 21, Ferry Boat Ride Stewart Beach Sea Wall TONS OF RESTAURANTS !!!!!!
My 9 year old daughter and I stayed for the 4th Holiday weekend vacation! It was awesome. We used the pool night and day. We were close to everything the Houston and Galveston area has to offer right at our finger tips on a luxurious and very safe property. We loved ordering pizza at the pool! We loved the karaoke and music! Breakfast was perfect! We went to the Board walk, and were close to so many restaurants, 30 minutes away from the Ferry Boat ride. Galveston beach is so close! We spent a day at Stewart beach,had our own fire work show on Crystal Beach, and were just a ferry boat ride away from South Shore luxury, while we saw the entire fire work shows from Houston, Galveston, Clear Lake, and more! It was never ending and made the ferry boat ride back spectacular! This has got to be the best little fun an wild trip I have ever planned. We already booked for next year 2015 for friends and family to join! perfect get away from Dallas, Texas I highly recommend this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Roy, Hotel Management
Your reveiw and comments brought a smile to my face. Thank you for all the kind words and comments regarding your stay. I am so glad you and the family had such a great time in our area and here at the pool. We hope you will continue to tell everyone you know about us and that you will return soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Roy Green, General Manager