Ratings based on 633 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New place to stay downtown

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Cons: Only problem is the parking - valet only and it is $25
Very nice stay in downtown Houston. I looks like everything is brand new and hotel was much less expensive than other hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to ballpark !

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Nice room had one glitch with noise from wedding called and was taken care of immediately! Will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lockhart, Texas

Exceeded my expectations!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The bathrooms were very modern and were stocked with everything we needed.
Cons: IF I would recommend one thing, it would be to have a mini fridge and microwave in some rooms or have them by request.
Location: We walked to Minute Maid Park to the game that night & walked back. Quite convenient! We ordered from a nearby pizza place & they get 5 stars too!
I have a habit of reading reviews for anything I buy or anywhere I stay. I don't let it determine my decision on whether to buy something or stay somewhere but I do it so I can be prepared. Our stay, although it was just for one night was great! The beds are most comfortable. There was a wedding reception on the veranda below our room but it ended around ten and didn't bother us at all. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and no one seemed to mind our 5 year old full of energy! My boys did have little temperature issue in their shower but it was nothing to keep us from returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice place to lay your head.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The Sam Houston is a hotel with excellent decor and very charming and helpful staff.
Cons: Everything was very nice, but valet parking is quite high.
My experience at the hotel was very limited, but the stay was still quite pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Houston

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We liked the shuttle service to the baseball game & we were close enough to walk back. The room was very comfortable. & clean. We would have preferred more counter space in the bathroom. Overall a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medford, OR

Not the greatest location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Hotel was older, but updated very nicely. Room was clean, but definitely could have been better. Condition of the rooms was nice, but the hallways needed some work. Broken refrigeration in the hallway when we checked in. Probably just temporary, but not a pretty start. A good hotel, just not high quality and the area was not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel in downtown Houston

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The room was a little smaller than I expected but it was really nice and classy. There was a restaurant and bar that were full of people but I didn't get to try them because I had other plans.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Large bathroom
Cons: The smell of sewage in the lobby.
Location: Minute Maid Park
Lobby did smell like sewage as noted in other reviews. Great staff. Large bathroom. Homeless population in the area is sky-high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice and Easy

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, front desk super friendly and helpful in recommending good restaurants and making the stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

In the heart of downtown

Posted Jul 9, 2014
My view from my rm. 5th floor was of vallet parking and trash dumpster. Was not a good downtown view. Sheets were clean but not comforters. There were brownish stains on top. Vallet parking is to much $28. Could have been giving option to park my on vehicle considering it was right behind hotel in a not so secure area. The only good thing about vallet parking was that we were able to keep an eye on our vehicle from our hotel view. No complementary breakfast $15 per person for buffet breakfast