Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

houston for those who don't want a typ hotel room

Posted Apr 13, 2015
modern b+b is a series of modern rowhouses interconnected into various sized rooms with bathrooms over 4 levels and connected to common spaces. The furnishings are spare and modern. It is a detail rich plan of stairs and two story spaces. Some rooms have balconies. The main dining room for all the units has a great full breakfast and a cook that serves eggs and omelets to your specs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashvill,TN

Good central location

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The owner was very nice. She and the other guests were all interesting my impression is that that is the norm for that neighborhood.
Cons: I'm not must for TV but, the Xfinity doesn't work well. I'm glad the there was plenty to do around the neighborhood to keep me occupied.
Location: there are art galleries, museums and good night life all close but,not so close as to be a bother.
All the lights over the vanity were burned out, but they were promptly replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, UK

Friendly, welcoming, home away from home

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Very friendly welcome, great breakfast, quiet location in suburban Houston.
Cons: Make sure you let the staff know when you are arriving as the reception is not manned 24 hours a day.
Location: 4 miles from the city centre. 5 min walk to the 81/82 bus route which goes directly into the centre every 10-15 min. Don't miss the chocolate box cafe
Modern B&B is about 4 miles from the city centre, but with a good bus link (81 & 82) which goes every 10-15 minutes. It is situated in a clean quiet suburb . Staff could not do more for you, and a cooked breakfast was included. A real home away from home, avoiding the hussle and bussle of the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robinfrom esbjerg

one-week stay at Modern BnB Dec 2014

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was in Houston for sightseeing and visiting friends and i stayed a week at Modern BnB. The BnB is located close to downtown Houston, and also within walking distance to the Museum District. The rooms are very well maintained and cleaned on a daily basis. The staf and the owner, Lisa, are all very nice people. I didnt have a functioning phone while i was there, but that was no problem since i got to borrow one from Lisa. Breakfast is served every day, and it is very good. if you want a omelet, the chef will prepare one for you after your request. They are also very knowledgeable about what to see and do in Houston, so if you are not sure what you want to do, talk to Lisa and the others. If i go back to Houston i will for sure make another booking at Modern BnB
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clairefrom Houston

Nicest B&B I've ever stayed in.

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got upgraded to the Cityview room because no one else was staying there! It has 2 porches and a jacuzzi. Plenty of space. The lobby has two stylish living rooms with two kitchens. Chef Roxanne is awesome. She made us poached eggs.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by marthafrom Austin

Meh

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Modern B&B is a no frills option for people who are sick of chain hotels. On the plus side, the price was good and we were "upgraded" to a larger room with an en suite bathroom. The service was nice and everyone on staff seemed to be well trained and friendly. The breakfast spread was fine (granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, eggs, etc.) although there was a big espresso machine taking center stage on the buffet table but no one offered us cappuccino or lattes. You have to be bold enough to ask for what you want, I guess. You get what you pay for at Modern B&B, as in minimal (sparse) decor, lightweight door locks, thin walls, no bedside lamps, questionable cleanliness, maintenance issues, and no kleenex. This last one only bugged me because I have allergies and had to use toilet tissue to blow my nose. And I should qualify this review by revealing that I'm a high-end interior designer and tend to notice shoddy decor, upkeep, and cleanliness more than the average human. I learned through this experience that I prefer the security, anonymity, and comforts of chain hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Funky Modern!

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The property is interesting and lives up to its name, but like so much of Houston and the Montrose area is an architect's experiment that did not quite succeed. The layout is wacky--especially the cranky elevator that guests enter through the owner's living space and office off a poorly lit side walkway. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff very accommodating. Parking is scarce. We would book again here. Cleanliness only a B+. I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by adrianfrom Cooroy

Highly recommend . Great ambience

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location excellent to everything . Share kitchen and fridge . Supermarket just up road and neighbourhood pub. Excellent breakfast . Highly recommend. Would come back in an instant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danielfrom Minot

Modern looks, personable staff, good experience.

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Locally owned by an avid runner with such a lovely, sparkling personality. I came to town as a medical student interviewing at a local institution for residency and stayed 3 night. They made me feel very at home. Breakfast is very satisfying as prepared by their chef. Rooms were very clean. The neighborhood isn't that far from some locally owned restaurants, coffee shops, boutiques, etc, which I walked to. Neighborhood is an odd mix of higher end condos/homes and somewhat disheveled a Possible cons of staying here: there are several areas of the property that are general spaces shared by the residents in your building (the property consists of multiple buildings) so you may not have as much privacy in the living room or kitchen as you would in a chain hotel. However, I'm a more personable sort and also people usually minded to themselves so it wasn't an issue to me. Second issue, the noise at night may be more than a comparable hotel chain. This is very dependent again on who else may be staying in the same building as you (if they are up late talking, hosting an event, etc). I noted one night while there when I used my earplugs to bed (I'm a very light sleeper) because the individual in the room across from me was watching TV. However, this can likely be an issue anywhere you go, but I thought that the noise level was a bit higher here than in your average chain hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Must get a great deal for value to be there.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Location: Older residential/commercial which is being rehabed, but has a long way to go.
Location would have been worrisome if not reassured by staff. "Mod" rms are very small. Bed and 2ft desk with a chair. Old TV. Day rooms are nice, but don't use much accept for b'fst which was very good. Traffic noise was loud, even at night. Staff was very pleasant, but owner made you feel like she was doing you a favor. We were there for 3 nights and gone all day. 3star motel is a better value.