Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Good location to train station. Clean, Comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Good location to train station. Clean & Comfortable room.
Cons: Staff interaction with patrons can be further improved.
Location: There's nothing much nearby the hotel. We have to take a 10-15 mins cab ride to the city centre, where most of the shopping and food are.
Charming City is located just 5 minutes walk to Hualian train station. From hotel lobby all the way to the room is very clean. Bed is comfortable. Most disappointing is staff service. Most staff are too busy to even smile at the patrons, some even gave very short (and conflicting) answer when questions were asked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

Handy Location, Decent for Short Stays

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Close location to train station, helped us book tour of gorge.
Cons: Breakfast meals - provide a little more variety.
Location: Close to train station. Blacky's coffee house had decent meals and singers. Not much shopping close by.
We came by train to stay two nights and tour Taroko Gorge. You can see the hotel from the train station if you know which way to look, but we didn't at first and the locals at the Info Center by the train station do not know this hotel by its English name. Luckily I had printed out a sheet that had the picture of the exterior on it. Most front desk staff speak adequate English and helped us book the tour for the following day. All of the staff were very helpful for us. A shuttle bus will pick up outside the hotel and the tour bus will drop you off at the hotel front door on the way back, so that is very handy. Bathrooms are interesting with their large windows looking in the rest of the room, ours had a curtain but not all rooms had curtains for the bathroom window. Breakfast is mainly Chinese, very few western items and the Chinese foods were cooked/tasted much better than their attempts for western food. We arrived early, they allowed us to leave our luggage while we walked around the city until normal check-in time. They had delivered our luggage to our room, which was nice. Make sure you get your free breakfast tickets from the front desk each day. Lots of Chinese tour groups use this hotel and they are seated in a different dining room from those who are not part of tours. Tour groups food choices seemed to be a little more limited. Not a lot of restaurants or shopping nearby, but we spent most of our time on the tour so it did not matter much for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Pingnan Yuanfrom Tioronto

I like this hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a perfect location and excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Near station

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here because it was close to the station. Overall the property seemed clean and well maintained. Room was small - the double bed pushed up against the wall. Requested a bigger room the second night.Breakfast was to Chinese taste. They have coach parties as Hualien is close to scenic attractions but the town itself has nothing of interest for the visitor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location 5 min. walk to train station

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very convenient to walk to train station / bus terminal station and get on train or bus to go places. Room is clean and comfortable. Good breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and Fantastic Service!

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was greeted with a surprise when I was given a free upgrade. Didn't ask for the reason but hey, who doesn't want a free upgrade? LOL. The rooms were big, with different designs for the 3 rooms we booked. All were impressive! From the design, cleanness, service etc, we could not ask for more. They even have a separate breakfast dining area, away from those group tours. The breakfast dining area was again well designed with comfy tables and chairs and the food served was also slightly different (better than those served to group tours). Waitress were also meticulous to our needs and we can also order food to be brought to our table. Best! Each room comes with 2 complimentary vouchers for red wine / ice cream. Although the wine and ice cream wasn't fantastic, it sure was a good gesture to make every guest feel more inviting. The hotel is just a 5 mins walk to the railway station, making it easy for us to travel after our trip. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the railway station so we don't have to lug our luggages to the station. I would definitely recommend travellers to stay here and I would also be staying at this hotel again if I travel to Hualien again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean, and in a very convenient location, just a short distance from the tra railway. A good choice to stay in Hualien.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shale Horowitzfrom Wisconsin, USA

A solidly nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself is very upscale--the room, the lobby, down to the garden around it. The breakfast was okay, but not great. The location is conveniently near to the train station, but not aesthetically pleasing. But hey, this is Hualien. People visit to go to the Taroko Gorge. This hotel serves that purpose extremely well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com