Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Not bad, its beach club makes the stay worth it

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Two pools, good breakfast, next to a touristy market, nearby bank (Scotiabank) for exchanging dollars and nearby pier for quick boat tour access
Cons: Not sure about the other rooms, but mine 306, took a while to cool. The wi-fi access in my room wasn't accessible so had to go down to lobby/pool
Location: Nearby park next to market has an outdoor cafe (Cafe Huatulco)...a jazz band performed on a Wed. night and ethnic dancers from 830-10ish.
Overall, I thought this was a decent deal. I must say, the "welcome" drink we received upon arrival was a very nice detail. Just some decorative and refreshing punch, but heavenly when you are thirsty and hot. The access to the beach club is a plus although I hung out at the calmer beaches with the "safer" waves. I took the Fandango boat (the one with a red cover) tour which stops at two really nice beaches. My time was limited so couldn't hang out at the hotel or the beach club for long, but for the little time I was there, the breakfast/brunch was decent (more robust than the continental breakfast in the U.S.), my sheets were very clean and towels smelled freshly washed, and the pools were nice. For a 3 star, this isn't bad. Just give the A/C some time to cool...the A/C won't stay on while you're out of the room, so my room took a while to cool. If you love your room super cold all the time, then this might not be the place for you. And no beach view, until you get to the beach club, which closes too early in my opinion, 7pm, but hotel pool open til later. I went with my family...ideal for families since there is a little playground at the beach club and little pool slide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AC and a pool by the beach

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We took a one night break from hostels and buses so this was great. The hotel was quiet, the beach club had a nice pool and beach. The expedia page wasn't clear about what each rate included, but the one that was two dollars more than the cheapest included a breakfast buffet worth the dollar per person. I wish we had splurged for all inclusive for the drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fredi Gomezfrom San Jose ca

It was great thank you to all staff

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I normally stay at marriott and hotel Castillo huatulco is the bests in service, special thanks to the bell man I forgot he's name, he is the best in hospital business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Helen Donfrom Ireland

Overpriced

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Firstly this is mainly for families who like beach clubs. Very little English spoken.no airconditioning in lobby, where you have to be to use WIFI. No English menus in restaurant. Bar service was poor. No extractors in the toilet. Room was supposed to have pool or mountain??? view. Ours was another building in construction. We did stay an extra few days because we loved the beach nearby. We tried the beach club once, it was very dirty by each sun chair. Had not been swept after a weekend, and tables were dirty. Could not swim on beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sylviafrom Chicago

Great Shopping

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved hotel Castillo. Quality of service is outstanding and all service staff very helpful. If you needed a taxi one was called for you immediately and within minutes it was there with very cheap rates. Beach with in walking distance or shuttle to Castillo's private beach. Staff at private beach excellent as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Warren Bartafrom Colorado Springs, CO

Good for kids and families

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good basic hotel with a pool and a beach club. I think they overcharge for their breakfast buffet, but that is the only complaint that I have. The location is good- close to the beach in Santa Cruz.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Guifrom Chicago

Love the Hotel In Cruzesitas!!

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: Their private beach club.
The front desk girls were super nice and super helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

we like it

Posted Mar 27, 2013
We have stayed here on 3 different occaisions. Always pleasant, close to the beach We like it. We are not there to spend all day in the room, but could. Pool is clean & breakfast is very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great time

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Our family was very pleased with this hotel. Service was good, there are regular buses to the beach front which was very pleasant. The only down side was that internet service was only in the Lobby and a little around the pool. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by john s

not the same better

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
after not being in this hotel for 15 years, the addition of the beach club and banquet room were wonderful.