Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Lively pub and hotel on the Pennine moors.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Staff were welcoming. Breakfast was very good and was served in pleasant conservatory.
Cons: The room was small and had nowhere to put clothes except a very small clothes rail.
Location: There are walks directly from the hotel up to Standedge. Marsden is 2 miles away, a picturesque village with interesting shops, cafes and restaurants
We stayed here as it was the only hotel available in the Marsden area during the Marsden Jazz festival. The hotel sits in splendid isolation on Marsden Moor and is a good base for hill walks but the pub is quite noisy with Karaoke etc which might not suit everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vicentefrom Boiro, Spain

Perfect

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was quiet with beatiful views just 10 minutes from town and 5 minutes from a popular wedding venue. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly. I would reccommend this to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Value For Money

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great stay with a clean spacious room at a great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mrs SPPfrom Manchester

Completely chilled

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came to stay at the hotel after going there many times on previous occasions to eat or simply have a quiet drink, the weekend we stayed however there were very high winds so as well as the cold there was no signal on the television and although I had my ipad with me there was no wifi either so I could not even listen to music in our room, which was lovely I know the weather was to blame and apologies were made about no tv, but it was a long very quite night, it was also a very very cold night as the heating went off in the room about half ten then stayed off overnight as the air cooled extremely fast I did feel very cold enough to put on track suit to get into bed lol but saying all of this we really did enjoy our stay the food as always was excellent and good value the staff friendly and polite ,so overall I think the next time I stay will be in warmer weather as we are already planning to go back in the summer SPPx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scottfrom Surrey

Great Views

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great value, excellent views and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gillfrom Grimsby

Welcoming hospitality

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great place to stay, even with the winds howling round the moors!! friendly landlady.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter S.from Burnham, Berks

Stunning views :)

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I found the hotel by Googling "Huddersfield hotel stunning views" - and the hotel lives up to this summary. The hosts, Simon and Bev, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was comfortable and cosy on a wild night, and having Sky on the TV was a real bonus. I had a fabulous meal in the restaurant, and the freshly cooked breakfast was excellent too. My only criticisms would be that the room was rather small (no desk or chair), there was no mobile reception (Vodafone) and there was no wifi in the hotel. But I would go back just for the location - especially if I wanted a "quiet" break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sylviefrom France

Sylvie

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent choice.bedroom spotless tastefully decorated n spacious.great food dinner n breakfast.warm welcome .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Clark Kent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Comfortable hotel serving good food

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Good food. Comfortable bed
Location: Located south of the M62 at Marsden on the road between Oldham and Huddersfield.
Comfortable room. Restaurant serving good food at reasonable prices. The location is somewhat isolated and bleak but for walkers and those needing an hotel for an overnight stay in the area this is ideal.