Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amelia from Norwalk, CT

Just ok.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Very convenient to town.
Cons: Needs to be spruced up. Looks very drab.
Location: I enjoyed checking out the shops along Warren Street and going to club Helsinki, both nearby.
I stayed at the St. Charles because it was reasonably priced and just needed a bed. Staff was fine, place was comfortable, nothing fancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

affordable

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: open up the historic front rooms-
From the exterior of the building (and the website) one might think they are checking into a historic downtown Hudson hotel. The facade is misleading. The exterior does not match the interior. This is a very standard 3 star hotel. There is absolutely nothing unique or charming about the rooms, dining room, office etc. The rooms have 1 small window (ours overlooked a disgusting overflowing dumpster). This was my only disappointment though.. The hotel was almost $100 cheaper than the local B and Bs. It was clean. The TV worked. The door locks were new and worked. Free soap/ shampoo/ shower caps for the kids.. Also- the staff was friendly and helpful re restaurants, sites and attractions. The complementary breakfast was standard, yet plentiful. The coffee was surprisingly good and the coffee cups were nearly 10 oz!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garrett from Martha's Vinyard

OmnivorusChef

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Clean/affordable/location
Cons: Any improvment would mean a complete renovation, & I don't see that happening until it is re-sold & a new owner wants to make it a great Hotel.
Location: Great location in central Hudson. Go to Helsinki & to REV
My second stay at St. Charles, A Bar/restaurant/Cafe in the streetfront space would be awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from New York, NY

Ok - but needs some updating

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Cons: Heating system, bathrooms, breakfast room needs an overhaul.
The room was clean and the two queen beds comfortable. The hotel does have an old school charm but could use some updating. The heating system blows very dry hot air and it was very difficult to control the temperature because the writing had been worn off. Otherwise, absolutely fine for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by edna from frannklinville, nc

it was close to where i needed to be

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: in the center of town an near everything i needed
Cons: i feel it would be nice if there was some kind of coffee maker in the room so a person could make a cup of tea an not have to go buy one
Location: chinese resturants, cvs, antique stores, hess, redbox
it was pleasing an if in the area i will go again
2 out of 5
by Lee from mid-NJ

Find somewhere else

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Price isn't bad for the area.
Cons: Everything
Location: Olana (home of Frederic Church) and the home of Thomas Cole - two prominent Hudson River landscape painters are both nearby.
This is an old hotel in an old town. Rooms have been remodeled some, but show lack of maintenance already. The person at the desk appeared to make a point of ignoring us, after we registered (didn't look up from work, or say hello when we passed within 2 feet of her, repeatedly.) The lobby carpeting is really dirty. Passable continental breakfast. No coffee maker in the room. Sound isolation from adjoining room was non-existent - we left the in-window AC unit on to mask out the TV sound from the adjoining room. We stayed 2 nights, while visiting sites in area, but wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Hudson NY.

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Nice hotel for the price. Very convenient to all the antique stores and restaurants. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Very good value for its location.
Location: It is within walking distance of all shops and restaurants.
Nice hotel in older building in center of town. Facilities were clean, comfortable and updated. A good value!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Must have been nice at one time but Feels like they aren't maintaining it. It's ok for one night but not more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lari from Forest Hills, NY

Clean, basic, quirky hotel -affordable in Hudson

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: The hotel is well located and affordable. I liked the quirkiness of the 19th century building-clean, basic, friendly. Pr
Cons: I'm sure there are more renovations to be done. This is not a high end place, but clean, safe and friendly.
Location: Came to town to see Olana, Frederick Church's home and also Thomas Cole's home nearby, Catskill clove for views. Fall is NYS in all its glory.
My husband and I were spending just one night in Hudson, NY (sorry we didn't spend 2-plenty to see in the area) and weren't looking to pay a lot or stay in a chain side of the highway motel. B and Bs in the area though charming were out of our price range if only sleeping there one night. Read the reviews on St. Charles and decided to take a chance especially considering reasonable price. Basic amenities, simple free breakfast, coffee in the lobby and a feeling of the old world of this town in what was probably a somewhat rundown area. Room was clean and comfortable..everything worked as it should. Staff was fine and directed us to an open restaurant (didn't check in until 9:45 at night or so)...during the day there are no end of restaurants to go to, galleries, shops etc. Looks a bit sketchy there at night, so maybe foreboding, but it is not. Take a chance, its been there since the beginning of time and looks it from the outside-inside is just fine. The rates are fine.