Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Just barely adequate.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The location.
The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It is walking distance to shops, restraunt's, bars and you can leave your car parked at the hotel. They had my reservation screwed up from day one. I reserved four rooms for my family members and they said they only had one for me. I had my printed itinerary's for all four rooms so they didn't have much room to argue with me. I am not sure I would have gotten the rooms without the itinerary's and it would have been a disaster for us. The staff is inexperienced and their computer system sucks. They had the wrong date in the system when we checked in and were trying to charge everyone for an extra day at checkout. They had a power failure at checkout so no one received a printed receipt and had to leave with a vague promise it would all be corrected. They promised to take a one day charge off the bill for all the problems but when I received my credit card bill there was no such credit. At least we didn't get stuck in the elevator. This old hotel has been half way renovated and could be very good with a experienced manager and staff. Right now I can't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

nice oold world hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: room size, comfy beds, flat screen TVs
Cons: no complaints
Location: close to many restaurants, bars and shopping. Lots of antique dealers and art dealers. all within walking distance
the rooms are large and clean. fairly modern and the bathrooms are modern and clean. It's location is great, can walk the beautiful Warren Street. I've stayed here several times in the past 4 years. Best in the area for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional and affordable resource

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Off-street Parking Affordability
Cons: Touch-up of room details
Location: Nearby Warren Street has many restaurants and shops
This is a decent option for budget conscious folks who want to stay in the Hudson Valley and just have a place to sleep while they are out and about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight stopover

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Value,location,cleanliness
Cons: wifi
We stayed one night en route from Toronto to Montreal. Excellent value,clean and convenient. Wifi was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
OK Ok Ok St. Charles Hotel Join our community of verified reviewers by sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at St. Charles Hotel. Your feedback helps thousands of travelers make the best decision next time they book a hotel. They'll return the favor by leaving feedback for the places they've stayed. Everybody wins!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

End of town main drag

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff, laundry
Cons: ok for the price
Location: At end of town, easy access to stores and main strip.
I liked this hotel. The staff was very helpful. The location was good, and the price was right. I really fell in love with this town, and would go back. I would also stay at this hotel again. One thing which REALLY helped me out was the onsite laundry (coin op).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amelia from Norwalk, CT

Just ok.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Very convenient to town.
Cons: Needs to be spruced up. Looks very drab.
Location: I enjoyed checking out the shops along Warren Street and going to club Helsinki, both nearby.
I stayed at the St. Charles because it was reasonably priced and just needed a bed. Staff was fine, place was comfortable, nothing fancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

affordable

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: open up the historic front rooms-
From the exterior of the building (and the website) one might think they are checking into a historic downtown Hudson hotel. The facade is misleading. The exterior does not match the interior. This is a very standard 3 star hotel. There is absolutely nothing unique or charming about the rooms, dining room, office etc. The rooms have 1 small window (ours overlooked a disgusting overflowing dumpster). This was my only disappointment though.. The hotel was almost $100 cheaper than the local B and Bs. It was clean. The TV worked. The door locks were new and worked. Free soap/ shampoo/ shower caps for the kids.. Also- the staff was friendly and helpful re restaurants, sites and attractions. The complementary breakfast was standard, yet plentiful. The coffee was surprisingly good and the coffee cups were nearly 10 oz!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garrett from Martha's Vinyard

OmnivorusChef

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Clean/affordable/location
Cons: Any improvment would mean a complete renovation, & I don't see that happening until it is re-sold & a new owner wants to make it a great Hotel.
Location: Great location in central Hudson. Go to Helsinki & to REV
My second stay at St. Charles, A Bar/restaurant/Cafe in the streetfront space would be awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from New York, NY

Ok - but needs some updating

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Cons: Heating system, bathrooms, breakfast room needs an overhaul.
The room was clean and the two queen beds comfortable. The hotel does have an old school charm but could use some updating. The heating system blows very dry hot air and it was very difficult to control the temperature because the writing had been worn off. Otherwise, absolutely fine for a one night stay.