Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hudson, NY

Generally pleasant.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Quiet. comfortable. Clean.
Cons: Pillows. Coffee in the room.
Location: Perfectly fine.
The bed was just fine. The pillows could have been a bit softer for me. Coffee in the room would have been nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Decent pet-friendly hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2015
We stayed here because it was one of the few places in town that allow small pets. We were fearing the worst but actually it was nicer in some ways than expected - some of the appliances were new, the room was (mostly) remodeled. The windows are tiny and let in very little natural light, and cannot say that the overall decor was very nice. The staff seem lifeless and we felt sad that a nice historic building surrounded by great restaurants/cafes wasn't better maintained…the ambiance was dismal. But - it was a reasonable price and accommodated our pup for only $10 extra/night! Can't complain about that.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sullivan County, NY

So Dreary. . .

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location. That's it.
Cons: I'd start with a good scrubbing and a fresh paint job as well as a lesson in hospitality for the staff.
Location: Hudson offers a wide variety of shopping options, antique stores and galleries as do nearby towns like Tivoli, Germantown and Red Hook.
Upon arrival we were unable to get into our originally assigned room because the battery in the door needed replacement. The room we ultimately got was opposite the elevator, dark, dingy and facing an alley. The toilet and shower are in one TINY room with the sink located in the bedroom - most unappealing. The lighting left much to be desired and hot water was in short supply. The ventilation system for heating and cooling runs constantly and noisily. The room temperature could not be modified and the window couldn't be opened for at least some semblance of fresh air. The ice machine had been disconnected so it was suggested that I just get some snow from the parking lot for cooling our beverages! The staff seemed as tired and cheerless as the hotel. Because of the great location this hotel has potential but until they live up to the promise we promise to stay elsewhere!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Good location - a bit tired

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: needs an update - everything as far as overall facilities and visual appeal.
Hotel was fine for a one night stay - it's a bit outdated, worn around the edges, needs an update, but was in a good location for walking around town.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Just barely adequate.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The location.
The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It is walking distance to shops, restraunt's, bars and you can leave your car parked at the hotel. They had my reservation screwed up from day one. I reserved four rooms for my family members and they said they only had one for me. I had my printed itinerary's for all four rooms so they didn't have much room to argue with me. I am not sure I would have gotten the rooms without the itinerary's and it would have been a disaster for us. The staff is inexperienced and their computer system sucks. They had the wrong date in the system when we checked in and were trying to charge everyone for an extra day at checkout. They had a power failure at checkout so no one received a printed receipt and had to leave with a vague promise it would all be corrected. They promised to take a one day charge off the bill for all the problems but when I received my credit card bill there was no such credit. At least we didn't get stuck in the elevator. This old hotel has been half way renovated and could be very good with a experienced manager and staff. Right now I can't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

nice oold world hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: room size, comfy beds, flat screen TVs
Cons: no complaints
Location: close to many restaurants, bars and shopping. Lots of antique dealers and art dealers. all within walking distance
the rooms are large and clean. fairly modern and the bathrooms are modern and clean. It's location is great, can walk the beautiful Warren Street. I've stayed here several times in the past 4 years. Best in the area for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional and affordable resource

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Off-street Parking Affordability
Cons: Touch-up of room details
Location: Nearby Warren Street has many restaurants and shops
This is a decent option for budget conscious folks who want to stay in the Hudson Valley and just have a place to sleep while they are out and about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight stopover

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Value,location,cleanliness
Cons: wifi
We stayed one night en route from Toronto to Montreal. Excellent value,clean and convenient. Wifi was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
OK Ok Ok St. Charles Hotel Join our community of verified reviewers by sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at St. Charles Hotel. Your feedback helps thousands of travelers make the best decision next time they book a hotel. They'll return the favor by leaving feedback for the places they've stayed. Everybody wins!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

End of town main drag

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, price, staff, laundry
Cons: ok for the price
Location: At end of town, easy access to stores and main strip.
I liked this hotel. The staff was very helpful. The location was good, and the price was right. I really fell in love with this town, and would go back. I would also stay at this hotel again. One thing which REALLY helped me out was the onsite laundry (coin op).