Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kirafrom Rockland County, NY

Feel to the Manor Born

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovingly restored to give each guest the feeling they have been transported to another world - from the luxurious Italian linens, the ivory damask tablecloths and napkins for the complimentary breakfast we felt "to the Manor Born" during our two night stay. Our original reservation was for one day, but we were so awed that we extended by one night. Our host and property owner introduced himself and welcomed us "to his home" and could not have been more gracious. This is an experience you will never forget - from the interior furnishings and comfort to the stately grounds, lovingly restored to their original grandeur over 30 years by the owner. Relax at the bar, have lunch or dinner in the castle; if you should feel the desire to wander out into town - Huntington is a foodie paradise, and a ten minute car ride from Oheka. Put Oheka Castle on your bucket list, it will be a memory forever. 55 miles from our home in Rockland, so if you live in the city, you can be there in half that time. The Gold Coast of Long Island was such a discovery, and i can't wait to go back there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed beautiful setting and room was big, very clean and nicely decorated. Hotel needs more amenities, very little to do besides walk grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

What a terrific surprise! Memorable

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The rooms and amenities exceeded expectation. The continental breakfast that came with the room was served in an opulent atmosphere.
Cons: Some parts were a work in progress. Suggestions about wandering around the estate and grounds and more information about the tour would have been nice
Location: Very convenient location for visiting Long Island or even going into the city.
Entering the castle was like going to the most elaborate home you can imagine. The staff was extremely accommodating. The food was outstanding. Wandering around this place you get the experience of going past the ropes and living in a place that you could only view at a distance elsewhere. Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Evanfrom VA

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lorie and Stellafrom Staten Island

Interesting

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
i was welcomed at the front gate after that well lets say the staff at check in where neither warm or friendly. Being with my mother and child i expected someone to at least help us to our room but not one gentleman in sight. Rude men who could care less you were spending 300 a night. on check out they charged me an extra night because i did not check out in time but it was because my mother and daughter were waiting to be served lunch and they had them wait an hour for set up! i could not possibly leave the room with all the bags myself and like i said no one would dare to offer help! the room itself is pretty and the grounds are nice but giving my daughter a princess experience was not exactly the case what i got was a bad experience and will never go back! a wasted 300 dollars and 2 hr drive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael Pascucci

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to Golf Course

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice interesting place and great deal on rooms thru hotels.xom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, AZ

Excellent Place to Stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: We loved everything, the history, the staff, the food, the owner.
We loved everything about Oheka the staff was amazing. So welcoming. We felt as if we were guests in someone's home. Oheka grounds are breathtaking. The room and bedding were so comfortable. We cannot wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by -- KAKfrom Washington, DC

A unique historical experience...

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are few places in America where one can stay in one of the most opulent mansions of the Gilded Age in America, which Oheka was (and is). The chateau and grounds are magnificent, the staff was friendly, food very good, and room spacious (but needing brighter bulbs next to the bed for reading). Check on whether there is a wedding or business retreat taking up the guest rooms and public spaces on the dates of your planned visit, and try to book another time. Better to enjoy Oheka with fewer related guests on sit.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Ambiance amazing very romantic!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Loved the ambiance - Oheka castle is an amazing historic private home Kudo's to the owner for the work & investment he's made
Cons: The bed- But I was extremely disappointed in the comfort of the bed and didn't sleep well at all.
Location: Great location if you want to leave plenty of restaurants nearby in Huntington and shopping at Walt Whitmann Shoppes. The ocean and beach is nearby.
Oheka castle is an amazing historic private home Kudo's to the owner for the work & investment he's made. But I was extremely disappointed in the comfort of the bed. I could not sleep well. You could also see signs of recent wear and tear in the Castle. The bar service was excellent. Started dinner in the restaurant very nice food presentation & nice surroundings and staff very customer friendly however room service was slightly off. Food was brought to the room without covers which I had to ask for. Also Complimentary snacks in the room were stale. I will return for the atmosphere for lunch or dinner & to enjoy the bar but don't see myself coming back soon for an over nite.