Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria bc canada

If you need some fantastic R&R

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Location: Its a bit of a drive but waitomo caves, hobbiton is only an hour away, Rotorua is about 2 hours away but totally do able.
This gem is off the beaten path, which is perfect for those who want a quiet retreat, we were booked for 2 nights and because we loved it so much we stayed an extra night. The staff were fantastic, the bush path great for adventureous hikers. Seriously just go and stay for a couple of nights! View is breathtaking as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by naoto from 日本

ヒルサイドではなく、ヒルトップホテル!!

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
正に人里離れた山の頂上にあるホテル!周辺は勿論牧場以外には何にも無い、ヒルサイドと銘打っているが、実際はヒルトップ!その分眺めが良く、レストランの二階での食事は周辺の景色が素晴らしい! アフリカのサバンナにあるホテルに雰囲気が似ていて、個人的には大好きなホテルであったが、この大自然感をどう評価するかで、大きな違いが出てくるホテル。 スタッフはフレンドリーで、全てにいい意味で温かい手作りのホテル
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice overview but lacking in basic amenities.

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nice large room. No mini bar in room. No cold water in fridge. Not enough toiletries in bathroom. No bath toiletries to use in bath. No air conditioning in restaurant. Beautiful views. Horrible road to hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Grinstead, UK

Brilliant place. Great views

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Stayed 1 night on last minute booking. Hotel built on stepped levels giving great views from both the room and especially the 360 view from the lookout ontop. Room excellent. Restaurant very good and reasonably priced- although after the 4km drive up the unmade road you really do want to eat there. Definitely stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan from California

New Zealand

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Just one night. Service staff in bar and restaurant very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

the only thing we struggled with the stairs

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: everything
Location: we just wanted some where to chill out we were not really interested in going any where.
we could not fault the hotel or the service the chef was great he cooked what ever we asked for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richard from London

The perfect retreat

Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels
I booked the hill hotel as a last second stay on my way through new Zealand and didn't want to stay in busy Hamilton. I'm so glad I chose it as the staff were fantastic, the location and view was amazing! And the food first class!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

hillside Hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Lots
Location: Waitomo Cave was worth the look Raglan is worth a visit As was the Polynesian Pools at Rotorua. Ohope beach is bit of a drive but worth it.
Rang Hillside Hotel to check booking at 4.00pm and said that I will check in at 8.00 pm and was told that the person doing the check in was going home at 6.00 pm and a note will be left as to the where abouts of my room and no meals will be available at 8.00 and breakfast will be a tray. No meals will be available Sunday as its a long weekend and costly to employ staff This place is up a hill away from town, no micro wave or utensils, not even a bottle opener. there no air conditioning or bug spray as have to leave the window open and the mossies just love you. So to just say if you can't have staff don't have guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Sybil, Hotel Management
Very sorry to have disappointed you Pete. We will take your advice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great Break

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Unique location with expansive views and bush walks. Could spend all day sitting on the decks enjoying the vista.
Stayed here six or seven times. Excellent accommodation, food and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels