Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel. Fine for a one night stay

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Well located close to shops at entrance to town. Hotel older but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Ontario

Wedding weekend @ Bala

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Cons: Fresh coat of paint, brighter light bulbs and less price to stat.
Location: Close to the highway and places to eat.
Not a lot of choice where to stay close to Bala. Room was expensive for what we got, but still half price compared to the other hotel in town. It is an old hotel with not any recent renovations or improvements but they have tried to keep things clean even though old and outdated. Desk manager was a blast and made us laugh.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Convenient to find right at the entry of the town.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: No.
It was just one night stay for us. Price is a little bit higher than it suppose to be. Hotel staff was nice and friendly, wireless internet was fast and easy to access. There was smoke smell around. If you want to stay just a couple of nights, it is one of the places you may choose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Barrie

A bed for the night.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: location
I just needed a place to get some sleep between shifts rather than having to commute on a long weekend, and avoid the traffic. It served it's purpose. Clean and quiet, that's all I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A convenient hotel, close to the highway.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The room, the bed and the pillows were very comfortable.
Cons: i) Security of the fire doors. ii) The aroma in the halls and room. iii) Install towel racks.
Everything went smoothly, despite my arriving late in the evening. The staff were pleasant and efficient and the room was comfortable. The hotel was close to some stores and to fast food eateries, which can be helpful to a traveller. I was concerned that the back parking lot was not lit, and that the back fire door was propped open at 10 p.m., - which seemed to be an invitation to anybody wishing to wander into the hotel. When I tried to close the door, it did not latch. Perhaps security isn't a major concern in Gravenhurst. Although the room, - and surrounding rooms, - were non-smoking, there seemed to be a pervasive odour similar to old cigarette smoke in my room and in the halls. Since the carpet appeared to be new, I wondered if perhaps the under padding hadn't been changed. There appeared to be nowhere to hang towels, except on the shower curtain railing, and the bathtub tap was leaking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ont.

Hotel okay, but not as shown in photos.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Okay, for our requirements.
Cons: Pluming accessories need immediate attention.
Location: Location fine, but no Restaurants facilities within a reasonable distance for early evening meals.
Room clean, bathroom needs upgrading. Unfortunately some guests extremely noisy in hall ways throughout the night into the late morning with seemingly no staff intervening to stop this occurrence.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bagged-out Bed

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The image of it in my rear-view mirror.
Cons: Needs a total re-fit, as do most hotel/motels in Ontario cottage country.
Location: Tim Horton's and McDonalds are nearby.
The bed had no fitted sheets so everything ended up in a rumpled heap. Amateur.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Connie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicole from Sudbury

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bathroom vanity is exceptionally low. Vanity could be replaced (very dated) with normal height. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Example. Reserving taxis, recommending restaurants, supplying extra towels. Room and linen was well cleaned. Window in room is high and not much view or natural light entering room. Price was good and would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee Scotland

Clean

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: It needs to be updated
Location: There was not many places to eat
Said that there was a restaurant which was closed. The hotel needs to be updated it smelled musty