Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Dirty, dumpy, and in poor repair

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: Updates and repairs are greatly needed.
One bad apple spoils the whole bunch. We have stayed at other La Quintas and been very happy, so we thought we'd go for this one in Decatur. We will never again assume that the name of the chain assures a certain level of quality. This place was in poor repair and was dirty and dumpy. Although the room was "non-smoking" it clearly hadn't always been that way. It smelled like stale cigarette smoke and too much carpet shampoo. All of the countertops and furniture were of poor quality. The bed was so noisy it was hard to sleep. It was like rolling around on bubble wrap. The breakfast was lacking and I was actually a little grossed out to sit on the chairs due to the number of stains on them. This particular La Quinta gets a big thumbs down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: great food choices
Nice place. short distance to anything you'll need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mark C. from Michigan

Clean and Comfortable Room

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Easy and quick check in through Hotels.com reservation. Clean and comfortable room for one night. Okay breakfast. Limited parking - if you have a trailer, you will need to park in the lot next door short walk. A good value for the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Eric Pate from NC

Wish I could have read reviews before booking

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
First off the hotels.com app continually crashes on my iPhone and I was trying to make my reservation over dinner. I had to call in, and that part was great, except I forgot to ask her to read me reviews about this hotel. I arrived and had gotten the last room. The banner when you arrive on the side of the hotel states newly renovated rooms. That's a lie or either they forgot my room 122. The air conditioner cycled on and off every 5 mins too no avail changing the temp knob to get it to not come on so often. I just turned it off. The bathroom curtain smelled horrible and had mildew all over corners where the bilt in magnets were. The ceiling in the bathroom was peeling off. The beds and the room furniture looked 15 years old with dents and scratches all over the refrigerator cabinet. The pillows were horrible and lumpy. But I am saving the best for last. Behind the hotel is an animal shelter that keeps dogs out in covered pins. You don't have to even set a wake up call or alarm clock as by 6:00 am the dogs barking will surely get you up. So much for sleeping in for when you traveled all night arriving at 1:30am.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Based on previous stays at La Quinta hotels, we expected better than what we found. The facility was very rundown, and looked dirty. There was a disgusting dirty towel in our room. When we took it to the front desk, the clerk lifted it with a pencil then placed it on a clipboard to take it from our hands. No apology; just rude! This hotel was way overpriced for such poor conditions and rude treatment. We are unlikely to stay in a LaQuinta again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stephanie from Decatur, AL

Overnight getaway

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel. Walking distance to a couple of restaurants. Older property but room was clean.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sean Young from Decatur, AL

Do Not Stay There

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The only thing good about this hotel is the location. Customer service was not helpful or friendly. No elevator to help you carry your belongings to the next floor. The carpets looked like they have not been washed in years. The room itself was undesirable. Pain was peeling. Furniture was old. Would not stay there again even if someone else was paying for the expense.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

dissapointed

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very disapointed at the condition of the room. A non-smoking room was so smoke saturated we opened the window for hours with no releif. The toilet was loose and wobbly. Facets at sink leaked all over the vanity. Breakfast area was too dirty to eat from. The rooms were generly not clean. The worst condition at a LaQuinta that we had encountered.Only good points were the bed and desk clerk tried to assist in suggestion on a place to eat.