Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guelph Ontario

Nice surroundings, nice bed and dinner was good

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Good bed, clean room, staff
Cons: Bathrooms a little antiquated and small.
Liked the location, hidden, quiet, nice staff, helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort hotel, well maintained & clean

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Very cosy resort hotel. Not a lot of people even if it's small, you get some privacy.
Location: Boat tours, museum
Very nice resort hotel, well maintained & clean. We were checked in 4 different rooms and glad to see different room layouts. The breakfast was great too! We would come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location but tired

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, close to overnight camps (for picking up kids)
Cons: see above
Location: Port Carling nearby has some decent food options and a great village store with a small bakery and lots of great ready-to-go foods for picnics.
We have stayed here on two previous occasions. It is a small resort, in a great location and very family friendly. All staff we encountered, from the restaurant to front desk, cleaners, and bar were all friendly and lovely. We were disappointed by the cottage we stayed in (west half of a semi) and particularly the bathroom which had several tears in the wallpaper, some mould around the tub, and a large gap (over an inch) running along the length of the tub (you could see the subfloor and dirt in it). I pointed this out upon departure. The porch area of the cottage also was in need of some TLC - paint chipping and dirty windows. We had lower standards as it was a "cottage" and somewhat rustic. However, we had been "upgraded" to the cottage from a studio so expected more (and because of our previous stays in the rooms which were certainly nicer than the cottage). The bed was super comfortable though! The tennis court - despite the many cracks on the court - was still decent enough surprisingly. There are far too many speed boats on that area of Lake Joseph to have a peaceful canoe but there is a nice variety of equipment for use (great for families). Restaurant food was fine - tries a bit too hard but decent enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Older resort in a beautiful setting.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The grounds and setting are beautiful on the shore of Lake Joseph.
Although I normally would not be concerned about putting in a review in this case I thought it important. Three friends and were in Bala to participate in a triathlon. We needed a place to stay overnight for a girls night and then were off early in the morning. Because we are in the heart of the Muskokas we were charged $394.37 for one room for one night. This seemed a bit steep but I assumed it would be impeccable for that price. It was an average hotel stay at best, although a beautiful setting on the bottom of Lake Joseph. One concern was that the hotel portion of the property was under renovations. Near the fitness entrance was leftover wood with nails sticking upwards and on adjacent patios off our room was a significant amount of wood left lying around during a renovation. When a hotel is under renovations but still open everything should be out of sight - particularity on weekends. I did mention this to the desk staff so hopefully it was noted properly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not to Expectation

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location.
The room was pretty small. The bathroom has no room to place personal stuff. There is no closet in the room either. It is better to stay at a decent B & B place. There is a plaque on the wall just next to the door which stated in memory of someone. This really made us feel uncomfortable. The hotel receptionist said there are a few of these in the hotel to honor passed away loyal customers. We found it very strange. The only good thing is its location, which is close to the two Cub Link courses we planned to play.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and view!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. Staff was super accommodating whenever we approached them with questions/requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Winter weekend away

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: It's very cozy and just what I was looking for
The hotel is a cozy very quaint place, perfect for a winter weekend away, the staff were very pleasant & helpful and the snowshoes etc all provided for you to use were new! The room we had was small but very nice and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. The food was lovely on both nights. I'd love to return in the summer to go walking on the trails & swim in the lake. Thanks Sherwood inn for a lovely weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gabbie from Toronto

Paradise Setting Right Next to Lake Joseph

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a 'sweet spot'. We had a lovely visit; we were taken back by the fabulous country side that surrounds the Inn, and the splendor of walking on the lake. All the staff were most accommodating, friendly and approachable. We had the steak for dinner and it was tender, and the buffet breakfast was perfect. Loved sitting by the fire pit outdoors and enjoying a brew. We want to go back again soon, but also want to visit in the summer. Gabbie
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

perfect spot for golfing

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent resort