Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by forawhile from TW

Worthy to stay

Posted Jan 30, 2014
It's clean and quiet since not traveling season, public facilities is just okay, but it's worthy cause the cheap price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sulphonamide from Aberdeen

Not a great place to be trapped

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Well, I didn't dislike the room, but I think "like" might be too strong a word. It was inexpensive though, the sort of prices one paid years ago.
Cons: The location? A snack machine, the breakfasts, plough the carpark?
Location: Nothing. OK, in good weather having to drive is a minor detail and I'm sure it is convenient for Algonquin under different circumstances.
Having been trapped at the motel for 20 hrs in a snowstorm, in a hire car with nearly-bald summer tyres, my review may be a little irrelevant for most people. As has been noted by others, the car park is not ploughed (could have done without being wakened up by a horde of people on snow mobiles who used it as a gathering point) and it was a surprise to get the car out without digging. The motel is OK and no real complaints about the room (one bit of wall looked as though it had been punched in) but is very isolated from anywhere to eat and doesn't even have a snack machine. Having reached the motel at 1 pm and not dared drive anywhere, and not wanted to walk for miles along the road in dreadful visibility, I had nothing to eat and went to bed hungry. Not sure I have stayed anywhere before that had nothing at all within walking distance. The breakfast is dire, but that is nothing unusual - even some bagels to toast would have made it passable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Washroom fan not working. Didn't plow parking lot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Diana from Toronto

Big spacious room

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel location is great since it is right off the highway. The room is spacious and clean. Apparently they keep the breakfast room opened all the time so we had access to some food as well as hot water to make hot chocolate and tea even though it was late at night when we got to the hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Toronto

Still unfinished

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is still being renovated. Our room appeared to be done, but lots of little things are wrong. Light switches for bed are wired wrong. The switch beside the bed actually control the light for the other bed. Heater works, but not cooling, therefore our room was hot all night. Small fridge door was hard to open, it was as if there was a vacuum holding the door shut. It took two hands and a hard pull to open it. Windows are covered in stucco drops from the renovation. Inside of shower curtain was filthy. 10 minute wait at counter with no staff present at 10 am to check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ming

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good stop over hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2013
not walking distance from Huntsville centre but useful as a stopover for the night if you are travelling to Algonquin. Clean and newly refurbished but that's about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Glen and Cynthia Bradley

Pass on this place.

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel should sell for no more than $60-70 a night (max). Terrible renovation, paint and drywall dust all over the place, rooms unfinished and even a "Notice to Comply" was posted buy local building officials on the main entrance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from alliston

Just needed a place to stay to break up our trip

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall the experience was great! All of our requests were done in satisfactory time. They are working on the bldg., so parts of the inside of bldg. were a little untidy, but nothing to worry about.